We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff - bathroom needs serious cleaning” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Embassy Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Embassy Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Oaks Embassy Apartment Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   96 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent staff - bathroom needs serious cleaning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed at Oaks Embassy for one night to attend the netball grand final with my adult daughter. I'd originally booked at another hotel, but changed to booking so we could be close to Parlamento Bistro for an early meeting on Monday morning.
The good news - the room rate is very good - @ 135 for a king bed apartment with full kitchen and laundry facilities. The parking was cheap at $18 per night. Adelaide is often $35 and over per night. We left the car there during our stay and caught the tram and city circuit buses. You may be charged more if you drive out and back in, so check that.
When I called to book the parking space, Rowena gave me very good advice on catching the free tram to Adelaide Entertainment Centre. This saved lots of time, inconvenience and extra parking fee at Hindmarsh. We arrived @ 11 am and the were able to check in early. Great service there. The hotel also loaned us an umbrella. The reception staff were all professional and friendly.
The bad news - The bed is super firm - like other more expensive hotels in Adelaide I should say. I have arthritis, so its really uncomfortable but most hotels are happy to supply a mattress topper with advance notice. We didn't check the bed until really late at night, so didn't bother.

The pool area was being cleaned at 7 am while I was using the pool which was rather uncomfortable as I was swimming alone.

The shower recess is due for a maintenance clean and probably re-grouting. The floor waste cover in the bathroom was stuck up above floor level and I kicked my foot on it. I showered in the pool area, which was cleaner. The response from the front office manager was : "Oaks Hotels & Resorts strive for 100% guest satisfaction. It is disappointing that we failed to provide this through the standard of the apartment. The issues presented are not indicative of the service we strive to provide, and we will take much from this case to further develop our staff and improve the overall guest experience.
..........., whilst we are unable to alter matters of the past, we take these comments seriously and are grateful that you have provided feedback on your experience."

If the location and price suit you then this represents good value for money. I would check the cleanliness of the room at check-in and get any concerns addressed straight away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Embassy. We are pleased you found our apartments good value for money. Our Reception is open 24 hours should you require assistance in your apartment at any time during your stay. We would like to apologise for the issues you experienced with regards to cleanliness in your apartment and have passed your feedback to the Housekeeping and Maintenance Manager for review within the units. We are pleased you found our staff professional and friendly and look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Embassy soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    131
    73
    35
    26
See reviews for
62
80
15
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
melbourne,vic
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom delux apartment on a Saturday night for one night in July 2013. Apartment was very nice and clean. Front staff were nice on check in.
We purchased the room for $180 per night on wotif.com we assumed this included car parking - it didn't so that was another $30 on top in the public carpark next door, as there were no parks left in the secure oaks car park. Tip - check if the price your paying includes car parking!
Location is excellent, walking distance to rundell mall.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Embassy. It is wonderful to read that you found our apartments to be clean and that the location was great for shopping and all you need to explore Adelaide. We are pleased you found our staff excellent. We regret that we were unable to provide you with a car park space. We do have limited spaces in our car park for $18 per night, due to which pre booking is required. We are glad you were able to enjoy the location of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Embassy soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The location of the Oaks Embassy is good within easy access to the CBD. However, the general cleanliness of the apartment was very poor. While the oven and fridge were fine, it seemed as though the apartment bedroom and living area had not been cleaned after the previous guest. There was sticky residue and the bedside table, dining room table and kitchen/dining floor that remained there for the duration of my four day stay. The kitchen cupboards needed a wipe down.

The iron did not work properly and simply leaked water over the items I was attempting to press.

Unfortunately, while I have always appreciated Oaks apartments for there sameness and comfort, my experiences of the last few months means I will unlikely use them again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us kow about your experience with us. We are happy to hear you like the location of Oaks Embassy, however we were very disappointed to hear your comments regarding cleanliness. We can assure you that all apartments are cleaned after a departure and before a new arrival. Please accept our sincerest apologies for this experience and we will ensure this feedback is passed on to our Housekeeping Supervisor.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Have recently stayed 3 nights as part of attending conference at the convention centre.
Nice modern rooms and amenities. Apartments have kitchen / washing facilities & nice lounge with access to foxtel tv.
Service was great - was not able to locate ironing board & front desk were up in a jiffy to assist. Hotel is well located in CBD close to Rundle Mall & Hindley street. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience with us. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay, particularly the location and also our friendly team. We hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed for 3 nights and we will not be staying again. 3 young children and put over hinley st equalled no sleep! Room was spacious but totally filthy there was mould all through shower and I even found a toe nail on the floor! Considering my baby is crawling this was nothing short of revolting! Broken tiles on balcony luckily my kids didn't cut their feet. This oaks is tired and quite drab compared to other oaks we have stayed. We will not be returning, totally overpriced for what we received.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We value all feedback as it allows us the opportunuity to review and improve our services and facilities. We are disappointed to learn of your experience as it is certainly not the standard we aim to achieve. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we will be addressing your concerns with our housekeeping team. We hope we can welcome you back in the future so that we may be able to provide you with our Oaks Embassy experience.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My first time to Adelaide for work... I must say I was disappointed. The check in time is 2pm and the room wasn't ready. So I left my bags at reception (not securely stored and at your own risk - just left at the front counter in plain sight) and went for a walk. Came back at 4pm and the room still wasn't ready. Reason givrn was "The housekeeping is very slow" and no apologies. They gave me another room.

You have to get your own bags and find your room. Once found I settled in but noticed the bed smelt of cigarette smoke, the bathroom had make up residue on the floor, bobby pins were on the floor in the bathroom and lounge area, there was a strong smell of 'old lady' perfume and there were hair strands all around the place on the floor. Not good enough if you ask me.

The bed, two singles together, is comfy if you sleep on one side. However, great storage and plenty of room. Well located. Not sure I'd come back here if you look at the other options for accommodation which are just as competitive on price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know in regards to your recent stay with us. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for your delayed check in and room cleanlines, this is certainly not the standard we aim to achieve and I will ensure your comments are passed onto our housekeeping supervisor.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
488 reviews 488 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Oaks Apartments are well located, being oposite the convention centre and nearby the Adelaide CBD. There are many nearby bars and restaurants, but nevertheless there is little street noise in the rooms..

Being an apartment hotel the roms are very large and well equipped.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the apartment style rooms that offer that little bit more space. We hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Embassy Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Embassy Apartment Hotel

Address: 96 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#27 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Embassy Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the central business district on North Terrace and is just a short stroll from Adelaide’s shopping precinct, the casino and convention centre you will find Oaks Embassy. Oaks Embassy is one of Adelaide’s most contemporary apartment buildings offering spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments complete with laundry facilities and executive apartments featuring private spa baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Embassy Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Embassy Apartment Adelaide
Hotel Oaks Embassy Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Embassy Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.