We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Majestic Roof Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 54 hotels in Adelaide
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

The Majestic is OK, nothing to fault but at the same time, nothing particularly stunning about it either. The location is good, Adelaide is a very easy city to find your way round and after a 7 hour drive through Victoria and South Australia we got to it very easily without any hassle and without the help of sat nav, (certainly something that you couldn't do in must UK cities!). The room that we had was very spacious and well designed with a balcony area for us remaining smokers. Unlike the room though the hotel itself somehow feels cramped, the reception area feels quite closed in as do the corridors, it almost feels like the building was designed to fit in with the small amount of building land available: I guess that is often the case but it just felt noticeable here. The staff we came across were again 'OK' but not as warm and welcoming as the other places that we had stayed on our journey in Aus. The Roof Garden itself is really nothing to rave about and the Gym is probably the smallest I have ever seen, but I suppose at least they had one. If you are looking for a hotel in Adelaide that has good sized rooms and a good location within walking distance of lots of shops and restaurants then the Majestic would be ideal, but if staying somewhere that feels really special is crucial for you as part of a good holiday experience then perhaps give somewhere else a try.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    238
    49
    15
    5
See reviews for
23
316
49
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

First thing we did here was checkout the much promised "roof garden". The bar was shut and the garden was more window box than botanic. The view was of the car park which unless you have a fetish for brutalist architecture is less than majestic. The rooms are clean and smart but we found the check in unfriendly and unhelpful. Everything came as an extra $. The worst stay of two weeks in Australia. There must be better in Adelaide. I'm surprised to see it so high on tripadvisor - the first time that this site has let me down.

  • Liked — smart room
  • Disliked — overpriced oversold
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

After reading all the reviews about Adelaide hotels, and because this was listed as the top hotel in Adelaide, we thought we'd try our luck. Our first impression of the hotel was that it was of good quality and friendly staff.

We stayed here for 3 nights over the weekend. After reading one review about room 117 (aparantly above a bar) we were hoping we wouldn't be anywhere near that room, however we ended up with room 105. This was on the first floor so had no balcony but was at the oposite end of the corridoor to room 117. We had a look at what could be the source of the noise, and basically there is a restaurant next door so they can see down into it, but it was not noisy whenever we walked past, so it was possibly a one-off. Being on the first floor, we were nearer to the road and the first night (Friday) I did get woken up by drunken people shouting (4am) and by the cars and you also over look a car park. However saying that, on the oposite side of the hotel you're only view was a car park, so at least on our side of the hotel we had the street to look at too. I would say the noise from the street wasn't really a big problem and I had the best nights' sleep the other two nights. Just bring ear plugs and maybe suggest a room on the same side but a higher floor. Oh and also, although the bed was sooo comfortable and huge, I found the pillow so hard it actually started to give me jaw ache! My partner thought they were comfortable, so only if you are as fussy as me, I would suggest bringing your own (as sad as it is!)

The location was great, turn left and you headed towards Rundall Mall....but the best cafes and restaurants were at the other end of Rundall Street (turn right from hotel).

The room was lovely, just like the photo's and the bathroom was very swanky and spacious. A great selection of tea and coffee and they were happy to fill it up on demand!

The rooftop garden was lovely, very chic and fantastic views - though a summer feature only!

All in all, a great hotel and friendly staff - why bother going anywhere else!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Urh, sraping at the barrel...thepillows!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

Adelaide suffers from a real lack of good quality hotels. The Majestic Roof Garden, in relative terms, is one of the best. This is probably because it is fairly new. It is generally comfortable, in a reasonable location, staff are friendly and helpful, and most of the fittings are in good condition. However, the bed was overly solid (I was informed in another review that this is what international customers want...), the breakfast is ridiculously overpriced ($30.00 - why do some hotels persist with this?), the towels were tiny, and the climate system was loud and intense (either hot or cold). So, that's why it doesn't get five stars. A colleague was staying at the Stamford (where I used to say), and reminded me of how tired the fittings and general feel of her hotel was, in comparison to the Majestic. So, all things considered, the Majestic Roof Garden is recommended, but only because it is in Adelaide, and there isn't a lot of choice.

  • Liked — It was in Adelaide, and there is little that is good
  • Disliked — No big problems - just average
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

I stayed at the Majestic Roof Garden Hotel for one night in October 2008. I was travelling alone, for business. I know Adelaide quite well and have stayed at a few hotels around town.

The Majestic Roof Garden is a lovely modern hotel. But a little sterile. I was a bit disappointed with my room, no balcony as everyone else has described. The bathroom was very new and clean - however, I did expect better then generic bath products for the price. The bed was very hard and I found it difficult to sleep on - and I like a firm mattress. The aircon was efficient but noisy.

My advice around breakfast would be that if it is included in your room price, great. If not, $24 was a bit steep for what you got.

The location is great for restaurants, bars and shops. It cost about $20 for a cab from the airport at peak hour, which is excellent compared to my home town.

And I was looking forward to a quiet relaxing drink on the much promoted roof garden, but it was closed for a private function!

This is a good 4 star hotel. If you can get a good deal, worthwhile staying here. Have to say I preferred the slightly worn Stamford Plaza to this one - better breakfast, warmer rooms and great staff.

  • Liked — Very new and clean
  • Disliked — Sterile
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

Great hotel and excellent price for the wonderful service. The hotel staff is very knowledgeable and helpful with touring information. Jason Wright the food and beverage manager guided us to a wonderful winery in the Barossa. The hotel even has laundry facilities at no charge for guests. Would definitely stay here again.
Great location also.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

Staff are very helpful and friendly and the rooms are spacious and clean. However the best attraction of this hotel is the location. A short walk to Rundle Mall and loads of restaurants. Close to buses and trams and about five minutes away from Budget Rent-a-Car.
And the king size bed is incredibly comfortable!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Majestic Roof Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Address: 55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Roof Garden Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Roof Garden Hotel is the award winning four-and-a-half (4.5) star flagship property of Majestic Hotels. Opened in Adelaide in 2004 and awarded the Best Value Hotel in 2009, it has been created with the discerning traveller in mind and despite its upmarket appearance, provides great deals on accommodation. Location is key. This Adelaide hotel is only 50 metres from the ever-vibrant Rundle Street with its huge variety of bars, restaurants and eclectic shopping. Walk 5 minutes to Rundle Mall or 10 minutes to the Art Gallery, Adelaide University and Museum. 20 minutes will find you at the Adelaide Convention Centre, National Wine Museum or Adelaide Zoo. All 120 rooms feature modern bathrooms, king size beds, full mini-bar, 24-hour room service and in-room broadband. Plus all the usual conveniences you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel such as 24-hour reception, security card access, business centre, mini-gymnasium, outstanding in-house restaurant and on-site secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Majestic Roof Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roof Garden Adelaide
Hotel Majestic Roof Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.