We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Majestic Roof Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

I stayed at the Majestic Roof Garden Hotel for one night in October 2008. I was travelling alone, for business. I know Adelaide quite well and have stayed at a few hotels around town.

The Majestic Roof Garden is a lovely modern hotel. But a little sterile. I was a bit disappointed with my room, no balcony as everyone else has described. The bathroom was very new and clean - however, I did expect better then generic bath products for the price. The bed was very hard and I found it difficult to sleep on - and I like a firm mattress. The aircon was efficient but noisy.

My advice around breakfast would be that if it is included in your room price, great. If not, $24 was a bit steep for what you got.

The location is great for restaurants, bars and shops. It cost about $20 for a cab from the airport at peak hour, which is excellent compared to my home town.

And I was looking forward to a quiet relaxing drink on the much promoted roof garden, but it was closed for a private function!

This is a good 4 star hotel. If you can get a good deal, worthwhile staying here. Have to say I preferred the slightly worn Stamford Plaza to this one - better breakfast, warmer rooms and great staff.

  • Liked — Very new and clean
  • Disliked — Sterile
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    279
    54
    17
    5
See reviews for
28
373
51
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendocino, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

Great hotel and excellent price for the wonderful service. The hotel staff is very knowledgeable and helpful with touring information. Jason Wright the food and beverage manager guided us to a wonderful winery in the Barossa. The hotel even has laundry facilities at no charge for guests. Would definitely stay here again.
Great location also.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

Staff are very helpful and friendly and the rooms are spacious and clean. However the best attraction of this hotel is the location. A short walk to Rundle Mall and loads of restaurants. Close to buses and trams and about five minutes away from Budget Rent-a-Car.
And the king size bed is incredibly comfortable!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

We were looking to book a holiday adventure in Adelaide and happened upon the Majestic. We read several reviews, but really booked the hotel blindly. We could not have picked a better hotel! From location to room to guest services everything was top notch.
The location was ideal, just steps away from Rundle Street, convenient to the restaurant and shopping districts, but still far enough away to be quiet and relaxing to return to at the end of a busy day.
The room was fantastic. It was big, spacious and luxurious. The bed was soft and comfortable; the furniture was comfortable and well-placed, so as not to appear crowded. There was not a window as such, but sliding doors to the enclosed balcony, which had large windows. We were there in the winter, so we did not enjoy the use of the balcony, and our view was out over a service street, but it was still a nice area.
The bathroom was large and spacious, with a tub and a separate shower. The shower was nice and large, with the soap dish well away from the water. The tub was large and deep, though we ran out of time before testing it out. It had a nice “window” which you could open to the bedroom area, which would have been perfect for a long relaxing soak.
The front desk staff was friendly, cheerful, welcoming and helpful, especially in arranging for taxis.
As we were there in the winter, we did not make full use of the rooftop garden area, but we did have a look at it. The views are breathtaking and the picnic table there would be an ideal place for an afternoon tea, or a drink before dinner. The area was not quite as large as I had imagined, but still it was a lovely spot.
Overall Positives: location, location, location; size of room and layout, including bathroom.
Overall Negatives: poor electrical outlet placement for use of tea kettle -- there is not one in the bathroom or near the minibar area, in fact the tea kettle in general was not easy to use, with the tea & coffee, kettle, wet area and power all in different places. Sink design -- there was no way to use the bathroom sink without getting the vanity wet; it’s a pretty sleek design, but not very practical for its use. No furniture on the balcony -- that was quite surprising and disappointing; it may have been that it was wintertime, but still, it would have been nice to have a couple of chairs and a small table on the balcony. No posted hours for the hotel restaurant/bar. When we went to check out, we had planned to have breakfast at the hotel restaurant and were disappointed to find that it had just closed -- at 9:30 in the morning.

Would we go back? In a heartbeat.
Would we recommend the Majestic Roof Garden to friends? Absolutely without a doubt.

  • Liked — overall combination of location, room and facilities.
  • Disliked — poor arrangement/location of electrical outlets in the room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

Stayed for 1 night in Dec 2007 - late posting. We overnighted here after flying from Kangaroo Island - we hadnt been to the city before and were surprised how small the centre is - the Majestic is well situated and provided clean comfortable rooms at a very good price - we didnt eat there so couldnt comment re that , but were shocked that the roof garden of the name doesnt really work as a feature - you cannot eat or even have a drink up there and this seemed like a missed opportunity. I can only guess that the other Adelaide hotel choices arent up to much as this ranks no 1 - we really werent too excited by it but it suited us fine for a bargain stopover before flying out.

  • Liked — Good value for money and location
  • Disliked — No wow factor at all
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

Lovely hotel to use as a base when exploring Adelaide. I couldn't fault it

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

me and my wife had stayed at this hotel on easter season.

we had booked for 3nights and really enjoyed.

especially, staff at concierge. because we're from Sydney to live in Adelaide for 6 months so we didn't know anything about the city. concierge helped a lot and try to help everything we needed.

furthermore, after we've checked out we had some problems with next accomodation, so we had to get a room asap, then when i called them up at 3am in the morning, they were willing to give us the room with discounted price as I got it from Wotif.com
(actually they didn't have to give us the discount but they understood our bad situation so they just gave us discount straight away.).

food and room was great as well.

I would like to recommend this hotel to Adelaide first timers!!

thanks to you all at Majestic roof top staffs.

  • Liked — great service
  • Disliked — weather
  • Stayed March 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Roof Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Address: 55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Family Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Roof Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Roof Garden Hotel is the award winning four-and-a-half (4.5) star flagship property of Majestic Hotels. Opened in Adelaide in 2004 and awarded the Best Value Hotel in 2009, it has been created with the discerning traveller in mind and despite its upmarket appearance, provides great deals on accommodation. Location is key. This Adelaide hotel is only 50 metres from the ever-vibrant Rundle Street with its huge variety of bars, restaurants and eclectic shopping. Walk 5 minutes to Rundle Mall or 10 minutes to the Art Gallery, Adelaide University and Museum. 20 minutes will find you at the Adelaide Convention Centre, National Wine Museum or Adelaide Zoo. All 120 rooms feature modern bathrooms, king size beds, full mini-bar, 24-hour room service and in-room broadband. Plus all the usual conveniences you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel such as 24-hour reception, security card access, business centre, mini-gymnasium, outstanding in-house restaurant and on-site secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Majestic Roof Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roof Garden Adelaide
Hotel Majestic Roof Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.