We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Majestic Roof Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 54 hotels in Adelaide
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Nice, new and clean hotel right near rundle street in Adelaide, full if restaurants, cafés and shopping. Very good bathroom, king size comfy bed, free wifi. Recommended! Breakfast a bit pricy ($40) I'd recommend trying out one of the nearby cafés around instead.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    239
    49
    15
    5
See reviews for
23
318
49
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
missoula
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location for those afoot in Adelaide. Rundle street shopping 2 blocks away, the zoo and botanical gardens in walking distance, a wonderful promenade trail for running or walking along the river just past the zoo. The suite was larger than most in Australia and was priced decently. If you are interested in the rooftop "garden" you will be disappointed but just head out onto Rundle street and enjoy the shopping and restaurants. We went on a 3 days excursion to Kangaroo Island which required overnight stays in Adelaide on each end and MRGI stored our excess luggage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed in the Majestic for business. Everyone was helpful and polite. The rooms are well appointed and the beds are very comfortable. The food in the restaurant is excellent although slow on the night I was there but it was busy and I didn't mind the wait. The hotel is right near the centre of the city with plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby. A great stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

stayed one night on the 2nd November with my partner and parents. The rooms are spacious, modern,well appointed. Bathroom excellent...products nothing over the top but pleasant. The staff set this hotel apart. All really friendly and helpful. Great base for a stay in Adelaide if you want to be central. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel was situated perfectly for our stay. Its central location gave us easy access to the shops and public transport system. On arrival we found a complimentary bottle of local wine and snacks. The bedroom was spotless and a great size.The bathroom was beautiful and very plush. The reception staff were efficient and very helpful and free wifi in our room was useful. If I had to make one criticism it would be that the restaurant area was small and felt more like a cafeteria and therefore we ate out every evening. Breakfast was good and a wide range of foods were offered. The roof garden had great views. Overall I would say this hotel was great and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I got a lovely rate of $150.00 per night at this hotel for a recent convention and I was very happy with the room (which I admit did face the carpark). But as I was only sleeping there...you could ask for a front street facing room. Location is terrific on the East End so lots of shopping in trendy nearby Rundle Street (NOT the commercial Mall) and lots of cheap eatery, along Rundle, and East Terrace. And it is still within walking distance of Rundle Mall and the main drag. The rooms were large, very clean, tv worked well, and the shower was the best I've had in a long time. We had breakfast in the lounge again a group rate of $15.00 per day and it was adequate although the service was slow and food needed replenishing a bit more frequently so that we could have a good choice. I loved the hotel and will happily stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a little more light and balcony ask for a room with balcony facing the front street (Fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Orchy, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have been here before but never stayed. Room was clean and inviting was very comfortable and the view was great.highly recommend to anyone will gladly return. Also late check out is great. Only downside is extensive valet parking.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Majestic Roof Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Address: 55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Roof Garden Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Roof Garden Hotel is the award winning four-and-a-half (4.5) star flagship property of Majestic Hotels. Opened in Adelaide in 2004 and awarded the Best Value Hotel in 2009, it has been created with the discerning traveller in mind and despite its upmarket appearance, provides great deals on accommodation. Location is key. This Adelaide hotel is only 50 metres from the ever-vibrant Rundle Street with its huge variety of bars, restaurants and eclectic shopping. Walk 5 minutes to Rundle Mall or 10 minutes to the Art Gallery, Adelaide University and Museum. 20 minutes will find you at the Adelaide Convention Centre, National Wine Museum or Adelaide Zoo. All 120 rooms feature modern bathrooms, king size beds, full mini-bar, 24-hour room service and in-room broadband. Plus all the usual conveniences you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel such as 24-hour reception, security card access, business centre, mini-gymnasium, outstanding in-house restaurant and on-site secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Majestic Roof Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roof Garden Adelaide
Hotel Majestic Roof Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.