We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worlds Most Uncomfortable Bed in Room 110” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Majestic Roof Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worlds Most Uncomfortable Bed in Room 110”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here on our last night in Adelaide and had the worst sleep ever. The bed was so uncomfortable it had big indentation in the middle and felt like it was sinking on each side.

Good location but could be a bit noisy on a Friday or Saturday night. The staff were friendly and the room clean and roomy, the shower was huge but leaked all over the floor and the hot and cold were around the wrong way, could hear neighbours next door slightly so walls werent overly sound proof.

Better value can be found elsewhere

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Blackkez,

I am disappointed to read that your experience with us was below your expectations and in particular, the poor night’s rest you received. I will certainly be looking into the issues you unfortunately encountered to ensure we can improve this aspect of the guest experience.

I would certainly welcome any further feedback if you have the time to contact me to discuss the matters in more detail. I hope you will provide us with an opportunity to improve your experience on your next visit to Adelaide.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    279
    54
    17
    5
See reviews for
28
372
51
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Many thanks to the team , really well priced with fantastic service. Rooms were clean and comfortable .Bathroom was spacious with good fittings and tioletries..IWe really enjoyed the breakfast as well.Will stay again if back in Adelaide.

Room Tip: Executive room was great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Paul q,

I am pleased to read your positive review of our recent stay with us. I am particularly delighted to read that you found the facilities to be to your liking and that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast.
I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Adelaide.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Had a brief overnight stay with a late checkin and an early departure and reception was well staffed, friendly and efficient and sped me on my way. Room was excellent with a firm king size, high thread count sheets, etc. plenty of space in room. Spacious bathroom with generous long and deep tub and a big glass shower cubicle you could hold a small party in. Great timbers and fabrics and an all-round quality feel to the stay. I'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear bigyahu,

Thank you for your positive review of our Hotel. I am happy to see that our staff made a positive impression on you during your brief visit. It is also pleasing to see that you found our rooms to be high quality and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in a few hotels in my life but have never been treated this well (in Australia).. The staff are always so happy to help you out!! You can tell customer service is their priority. Stayed in king executive.. Would suggest pay a little more for a little more space is really worth it! Breakfast was included in a package bought from last minute dot com. Breakfast was great.. Great selection!!! If you are trying to decide on this hotel or another choose this!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear geeky_ninja,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted to read your positive comments on our staff and will certainly share this feedback with them. We do invest in our team’s service training and it is great to see that this had a positive impact on your stay with us.

I hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed recently on a business trip. The room itself was very nice, quite modern and stylish, with electric blanket on the bed and all what is to be expected of a hotel room (tea/coffee, personal toiletries, iron and ironing board). The bed was comfortable and room service was quick and delicious.

The only thing I really disliked was the shower. Water sprayed everywhere and the pressure wasn't great. Other than that, it was a lovely place to stay and will be back on my next trip to Adelaide.

Room Tip: Go for a room on a higher floor (above street light level).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear vanjola,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you found our facilities to be modern and stylish and it is pleasing to see that you will be back next time you are in Adelaide. I have passed your feedback regarding the shower onto our Maintenance team to ensure this is reviewed immediately.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed a night in an executive delux room. Kudos to the hotel for allowing me to check-in early due to an early flight in. Hotel location is very good and near to Rundle Mall. Room is okay but nothing much to shout about. Beds were comfortable and come with heating (very welcomed during the cold season). Furniture and carpets look a bit outdated and need sprucing up. Rooms have free Wifi which was great. Things to improve on: Taps of the sink in the toilet are placed too far for in for a small child to reach. Sink was too shallow. Couldn't fill the water kettle as a result. Toilet floor surface too cold to touch during the cold season. Drinking water chargeable. Booked my room way in advance and made a few special requests, one of which (a wedding anniversary surprise for my spouse) was forgotten. That was a major negative point for me. Overall, good stuff but expected better for a former award winner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Ynwa17,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay with us. I am glad to read that our staff were able to accommodate an early check in for you and that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary internet. We are spoilt with our location being in the heart of the East End of Adelaide.

I do thank you for the feedback you have provided on our rooms and I will certainly take this on board to ensure we can improve our experience for our guests. I am sorry to read that your overall experience did not meet your expectations and I do apologise for your special requests not being met as this is certainly disappointing to see.

I hope that you will allow us an opportunity to welcome you back again next time you’re in Adelaide.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very close to Rundell Mall, clean and tidy rooms, good shower pressure, staff were friendly. Breakfast was nice. Would stay again,nice garden area on the roof. Reception ladies nice and friendly. We got a good nights sleep

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Cameron K,

Thank you for your positive comments on your stay with us. I am delighted to read that overall you had an enjoyable experience with us and I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Roof Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Address: 55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Family Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Roof Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Roof Garden Hotel is the award winning four-and-a-half (4.5) star flagship property of Majestic Hotels. Opened in Adelaide in 2004 and awarded the Best Value Hotel in 2009, it has been created with the discerning traveller in mind and despite its upmarket appearance, provides great deals on accommodation. Location is key. This Adelaide hotel is only 50 metres from the ever-vibrant Rundle Street with its huge variety of bars, restaurants and eclectic shopping. Walk 5 minutes to Rundle Mall or 10 minutes to the Art Gallery, Adelaide University and Museum. 20 minutes will find you at the Adelaide Convention Centre, National Wine Museum or Adelaide Zoo. All 120 rooms feature modern bathrooms, king size beds, full mini-bar, 24-hour room service and in-room broadband. Plus all the usual conveniences you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel such as 24-hour reception, security card access, business centre, mini-gymnasium, outstanding in-house restaurant and on-site secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Majestic Roof Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roof Garden Adelaide
Hotel Majestic Roof Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.