We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to convention centre.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Horizons Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Horizons Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Oaks Horizons Apartment Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   104 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Melbourne
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Close to convention centre.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Opposite convention centre, train station and casino. 5 mins walk to cbd and tram stop out the front. Nice size apartments which are clean and quiet. Seperate bedroom and kitchen with small balcony. Undercover parking. I think its good value.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    132
    35
    19
    14
See reviews for
50
74
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Stayed recently for a conference, well appointed, very comfortable and very well located. Staff were excellent, when i had to bring my nights stay forward at very little notice - they tried there hardest that i didn't have to move rooms of which i didn't have to. Good staff, nice views and yes - very good value - Highly recommend it for either short or long term stays as the kitchen was very well appointed. If i am back in Adelaide will staying here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

On the the plus side the Horizon was well located for the conference I was attending at the Adelaide Conference Centre. The rooms were well cleaned. On the negative side the room needed painting, large gouges and scuffs on many of the walls that made the room look shabby and uncared for. For whatever reason the fridge was in a cupboard however the door to this cupboard did not open and close properly but dragged along the ground. Curtain hooks were missing from some sections of the curtaining, a very small thing and certainly would have been easy to fix but indicative of the lack of interest in maintenance of the property, as was the missing blind in the living room. The tv was an el cheapo from the last century. The staff were indifferent, given that I was the only person checking in at the time perhaps they could have explained the sensitive nature of the room/lift cards and warned me not to put the card near my mobile phone as it wipes the card, it may have taken them a few seconds and prevented the need to reprogram the card. Was charged $150 upfront "just in case" most places are able to hold a credit card number and only charge for any actual expenses. I forgot to get a receipt, and was certainly never offered one despite having to pay upfront. When I rang to have one sent, I was told the computer was down so ring back tomorrow, perhaps the conversation should have been - certainly I will take your name and send the receipt as soon as our computer is working. I would not stay here again.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Although the apartment was roomy and had the advantage of a central position it was let down by grubby prison grey walls and poor cleaning and maintenance. On arrival we had to ask for bulbs to be replaced in the wall lights in the bathroom and hinges on a kitchen unit door to be repaired. The remote control on the television was held together with plastic insulating tape as indeed we were assured were many of the others in the building.
There were only six hangers in the wardrobe and very very limited drawer space in the bedroom (one little drawer in each of the two bedside cabinets). This could so easily have been overcome if a tall boy had been provided instead of the low TV table. Since there was also no window and no pictures on the walls the bedroom was particularly featureless and claustrophobic.
A washer/dryer was provided but there was no clothes airer to hang items that could not be dried in the machine and we were told that guests were expected to provide their own! Difficult when one has travelled half way round the world.
Internet access was priced at 55 cents a minute up to a maximum of 27dollars 50 cents per day so we decided to forego that pleasure and used free hotspots in the street instead!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

This would be by far the worst accommodation experience i have ever had. The rooms are nice but certainly not clean. Walls are marked and need are in desperate need of a good paint.
We were travelling with children and as soon as the tv was turned on it was a porno channel. The pool area wasn't clean and the spa had dirty coloured scum all bubbling in it - health hazzard for sure!
This alone is enough to make you not stay but the customer service was poor. A very long wait to check in and the service was certainly not friendly. We had to park further down the road as carpark was full but this was explained very rudely and there is no help with luggage etc. The was a luggage trolley but it is not allowed to be taken out of the building. The lady at the reception could not have been bothered with us - too busy giggling with the young Irish businessman!

Room Tip: To get the best room you should try another Motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We were given an upgrade which was unexpected but very welcome. Room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. Staff were courteous and helpful. No on-site restaurant but there are others nearby and the ajacent cafe serves a very good breakfast.
My only disappointment was that the spa didn't work and there were no maintenance personnel available on the weekend and a minor criticism was that, as so often is found in hotels, they were stingy with the milk & coffee in the room, however, the location is great and the rates good value. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Little things add up to diminish your positive experience of this hotel. You need your room key to operate the lifts and this is an exercise in skill and patience and is near impossible unless you have both hands free. There is one lift that services the car park but it is the same one that the cleaners use, so you see the lift going past your floor while you are standing there waiting. So much so, that a few times I just walked down the car park ramps and around the side of the building as I got sick of waiting. The layout of the rooms is great and I loved the self contained features but all of the knives were blunt which made prep work for cooking a drag. My quilt on my bed didn't have a proper cover so they were using a clean sheet. Don't get me started on the gym. A primary reason I chose this hotel was for the self-contained component and the 'gym'. The exercise bikes were so old and crap you could have picked them up in a garage sale. The treadmills were awful and again, really old and one of the elliptical machines just didn't work. It was like they sourced the cheapest, most dodgy equipment around and put it in a room to say 'yep, we have a gym'. I went there once and luckily the weather was nice enough I could go for runs by the river for the rest of the time. The location is great, right in the CBD and the view of the river was really lovely. There is no restaurant downstairs, just an aroma cafe but being in the CBD this isn't a biggie. Other than these small things, the hotel is great and I used the washer/dryer without any fuss. Room service are great. Small things just take the shine of what should be but isn't a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Horizons Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Horizons Apartment Hotel

Address: 104 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Horizons Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or pleasure, a trip to Adelaide is enhanced when you stay at Oaks Horizons. The hotel features spacious, modern apartments, and is conveniently located on North Terrace, opposite the Convention Centre and Skycity Casino. 1 and 2 bedroom apartments offer Adelaide accommodation which includes full kitchen and laundry facilities, and guests have access to a host of leisure amenities, as well as broadband Internet access and room service. Other facilities include an indoor heated lap pool, sauna, plunge pool, gym, steam room and a licensed cafe. Business and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Oaks Horizons Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Horizons Apartment Adelaide
Hotel Oaks Horizons Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Horizons Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.