We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot beat the position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adelaide Paringa

Save Saved
You added Adelaide Paringa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adelaide Paringa
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   15 Hindley Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 54 hotels in Adelaide
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cannot beat the position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Talk about central! we stayed here for a night recently as a family with breakfast included. The double glazing was a godsend as this is truly inner city. Its walk to anything from this place. Rooms are basic but comfy , staff we found very polite. We arrived early to drop bags & were told we would be called when rooms were ready , no call came though. Apart from that , cannot fault the place , brekky was quite good also.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersAndParinga, Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear TonyW,

Thank you very much for your review. We would first like to extend an apology regarding the oversight in communication to inform you of your room being ready. We always try our absolute best to ensure all early arrival guests check in as seamlessly as possible.

We are thrilled that you found our property to be central and comfortable, our aim is to offer clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in the heart of our bustling CBD.

Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    58
    44
    25
    22
See reviews for
21
57
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mudgee, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is OK for everything except if you pay by cash. It took four STD phone calls and a call to my bank before anything was done, all because I paid by cash and Paringa also took their payment from the debit card swipe. Four days later no refund and NO APOLOGY. Rudeness to the extreme. Towels were not crash hot. Sink bowl was chipped but our room was serviced well. NOT RECOMMENDED because of after use problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersAndParinga, Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear 5oldtimer35,

Thank you for your patronage and subsequently your feedback regarding your stay. We are always grateful that our guests take the time to share their thoughts regarding their experience, and we were particularly enthused by your ratings for each individual aspect offered by Tripadvisor. Since posting your review, we trust that our personal correspondence has clarified your concerns regarding the payment methods & policies offered by our hotel, and once again, we would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused. We would like to confirm that our policies are consistent with the vast majority of hotels worldwide, and although credit card pre-authorisation release procedures are ultimately determined by each bank’s individual terms, we strive to minimise the impact this has on all our guests. We are also pleased to advise that plans for a refurbishment are underway, and we are confident this will alleviate any concerns regarding your noted shortfalls in the quality of our fittings & linen. We would certainly like to welcome you back in the future, and encourage you to consider the Paringa as your preferred choice on your next visit to Adelaide.

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Considering the low price that I paid for the room,it's well worth the $$. If you are going for luxury, then forget about this hotel as it's only very basic. But it's more than adequate for me as I am only there to sleep and wants a central location and clean room.

Room was clean and adequate sized. I was able to open up a big sized luggage and even place a fully opened up baby stroller in the room and still have some walking space around the room. In fact, there was even space to put in a baby cot as well. Room was also quiet. We didn't hear any sound from outside at all during out entire five nights stay. Maybe it helps that We were on the fifth level (highest level) and the last room which is the furthest from the lift. (The hotel aaccommodated to my request for a quiet room as I had a four month old baby with me)

Staff were helpful and attentive to our needs. I requested only upon check in for a tub to bathe my baby in, and there were nice enough to run over to another hotel to borrow the tub for our use. They were even attentive enough to get us small blankets for the baby even though We had not thought of requesting for it. The baby cot that they provided was a little bit high such that I was unable to reach down and put baby down (I admit I am quite short and also have short hands). When I expressed that they removed the baby cot since I am not using it due to this reason, they attempted to get another suitable sized cot and when there wasn't any, they waived off the charges for the cot even though I was expecting to pay for it.

If you drive a car, do ask them to get you a parking lot at their sister hotel, Miller apartment because it's so much cheaper to park there (16aud/night) as compared to the public car park (28aud/night). Furthermore the car park at Miller apartment is even nearer to the hotel than the public car park.

Location of the hotel was central. It's well within walking distance to many places and shopping areas. Restaurants were also abundant at the hotel area. As for convenience of public transport near the hotel, can't really comment on that except that the hotel is very near a car rental shop which was exactly what we wanted as We had wanted to rent a car to travel out of the city.

Tip: if you are arriving at the airport, don't bother taking the public transport to the hotel unless you are a solo traveler because the bus ticket cost 13aud per person But the taxi fare is only about 25aud (luckily the hotel had advised us on this prior to our arrival so We were able to travel comfortably to the hotel in a taxi rather than carry a baby plus a big luggage and stroller up the bus)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersAndParinga, Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Watery89,

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review on your stay at Adelaide Paringa. We remember you and your family well, and really enjoyed having you stay with us.

Thank you for mentioning the helpfulness of our staff, we enjoy the opportunity to assist our guests in any way we can!

Our rates are very competitive and we pride ourselves on offering clean, comfortable and central accommodation.

We look forward to seeing you and the family when you are next in Adelaide.

Warm Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Booking on line gave us a far rosier picture than the real thing.
Room and bed was adiquate, cleanliness questionable, but even a 'reasonable' tariff does not excuse the dirty windows, cracked hand basin, broken glass shower wall and worst of all towels and face cloth that looked for all the world as if someone had cleaned their shoes with them. They may have arrived"fresh" each day but they were dark grey with a lighter grey outer edge ( in a previous life they were white) The final straw was a facecloth that was grey, torn and all but thread bare. We chose to purchase our own. We have travelled extensively and even the poorest of countries we have visited have had more pride than to offer such a sub standard room & dreadful bath linen. Placement for trams and shops great but not enough to get us back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersAndParinga, Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback.
Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and I regret you found our level of cleanliness less than satisfactory. Rest assured your review was and will be used to reconsider improvements needed. In fact, we just received a delivery of new fluffy white towels today! We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

Safe travels and we hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, and
ensure you leave us with a more positive impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grouw, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The room on the 5th floor was okay, with a tv and lots of storing space, a double bed and a table with 2 chairs. No view from the window, but that didn't bother us, as we were only there to sleep and shower. The shower was hot and we got very nice fluffy towels and all amenities (soap, shampoo, bath gel, bodylotion).The room is a bit dated and nothing fancy, but it suited all our needs.
Location on Hindley Street is great, with restaurants and shops all within close range.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't care much for luxury, but just wants an affordable and clean place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersAndParinga, Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Marganne,

Thank you for your review Marganne, we appreciate your honesty.

Our inner-city position does mean some rooms can miss out on a view, however we hope this shortcoming was compensated for by our location!

I am pleased to announce renovations are in the pipeline so watch this space!

Again, thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are looking forward to seeing you here again soon.

Warm Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This property calls itself a "Motel". It is very basic, but it is situated right at the start of Rundle Mall and the centre of the city.
The tram stop for the free city sightsee tram is a two minute walk. As are all trams.
It was a 5 minute walk to catch the J1 bus back to the airport.
There are all manner of eateries within a one minute walk.......from McDonalds, Subway, Wok, Thai, Crepes, Hotel fare, Coffee shops... .....
We did not know Adelaide and had booked on line ....
The staff were always happy to help with anything.......there is a lobby room with magazines and computers (4 dollars per hour).They are happy to keep bags after you check out....and before you check in .
On line we had chosen to have a ten dollar breakfast each morning---------this consisted of a packaged box with cereal, long life milk, small popper juice, and small compote of fruit.
I must admit I thought we would have something more substantial !!!!!
Next time we would go out and have a hot breakfast!
We would go back.

Room Tip: There was a large air con vent outside the window.......the noise was really bad. We asked for anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersAndParinga, Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear MaryAngela50,

Thank you for your review of Adelaide Paringa.

We are so fortunate to be located in the centre of the city. Our positioning allows our guests the freedom to easily navigate around the highlights of the CBD and allows convenient access to transport to suburban destinations.

There are some sensational restaurants within a stones throw of Paringa, which can make it tough to decide where to eat!
The continental breakfast packs are great for the traveller on the go, but next time you’re here you must try the bacon and eggs at Café Boulevard next door!

Thanks for all your feedback, we look forward to the next time you’re here.

Warm Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed one night, this hotel is poorly decorated and overpriced and in need of renovation. We booked online and so where unaware of what poor value for the money it would be. We where charged for an item which we had discussed with the hotel and they had agreed to not charge us. We will not be back, ever.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Please note this guest did not stay at the hotel, is part of a campaign by a previous "reviewer" to damage this hotel's reputation. Trip Advisor have refused to remove these reviews, and as well as the earlier review, even after the hotel has given Trip Advisor clear evidence that they did not stay and that they were unhappy about a cancellation charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adelaide Paringa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Paringa

Address: 15 Hindley Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 hotels in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelaide Paringa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 1/2 star nationally accredited motel and are members of the Golden Chain Group of properties. All rooms offer en-suite bathroom, radio, phone, broadband internet access, mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. We are located in the heart of the city, central to the cities premier dining strips, shopping, pubs and entertainment venues. We also offer flexible check-in times and can store luggage for late departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Adelaide Paringa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Paringa Hotel Adelaide
Paringa Hotel Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelaide Paringa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.