We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide to your Saves list
Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 - 67 Hindmarsh Square, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really nice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Only stayed here for a couple of nights. Found the staff to be very friendly and polite. Our room was quite large and well equipped. The bed was sooooo comfortable and best of all it was quiet at night. Made for the perfect nights sleep. Breakfast Buffett in the restaurant was great. Will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Tehi2013,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    139
    46
    13
    10
See reviews for
48
63
26
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I've been staying in Adelaide each week for work since March. Initially work put me into another hotel but it didn't work out for several reasons. I couldn't be more happier moving to the Mantra at Hindmarsh Square where it honestly feels like home (with the addition of food being cooked for you and room being cleaned!). The customer service is exceptional as they really do try to make your stay as comfortable as you like even if you are a frequent traveller to the once off. The food is exceptional and the only downside is you can't take the chef home or have the recipes! The location is in the heart of the city and I really can't complain or point out anything bad! Very happy this is my home away from home!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear VeeJ01,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with great stays and making you feel at home. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My recent stay (a Sunday - Thursday) certainly didn't dazzle. Asked for a 2br apartment & there is a single bed in second room! Yes the location was perfect for our needs. To be called an apartment I expected a full size fridge & not a tiny bar fridge that was FILLED with mini-bar items which I removed to put our items in! The 'kitchen' was very inadequate. What tipped me over the edge was on check out I asked for a porter or some help with luggage & was presented with a trolley & had to struggle wheeling it myself down to reception... unacceptable for 5 stars, wouldn't you say? The receptionist even had to leave the front desk to go & get out valet-parked car herself! They have a lack of staff I'd say.... employ some!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear jbtripper,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. We are acutally not a 5 Star Hotel but a 4.5 Star AAA rate hotel as stated on our website.

The apartment you booked is correct which a 2 bedroom parkview with a king single in the second room again as noted on our website. Our fridges do contain mini bar items which can be removed on request. We also have trolleys available for guest use although we can assist when requested.

Our Front Desk Team are responsible for the Valet Parking of vehicles although the desk is never left unmanned.

I also invite you to contact me directly if you wish to discuss in more detail and then I can investigate these issues accordingly. I look forward to hearing from you. Phone 08 8412 3386 or email tim.rees-jones@mantragroup.com.au.

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

In Adelaide for two weeks on business.

- My check in was seamless and I was made to feel very welcomed from the moment I stepped into the front door
- The SQ Restaurant & Lounge Bar located on the ground floor has exceptional food matched with a comprehensive wine list. The wait staff are very polite and fully versed in the menu/drink options. The daily specials add great variety to the seasonal menu. The option of outdoor dining overlooking the greener of Hindmarsh Square is a great place to have a morning coffee or a late afternoon drink
- One bedroom apartment is fully self-contained, spacious and comfortable. Kitchen facilities are a nice inclusion. A sleek large modern bathroom rounds off the well appointed room.
- Housekeeping staff have presented the room on a daily basis with meticulous care and fine attention to detail
- A very pleasant sleep each night with no street noise
- Location of the hotel is one block south of the Rundle Mall shopping strip. A great central location for business and leisure activities
- This is my second time at the hotel, and again my expectations on the professional and level of service has again been exceeded.
- This is my first and only choice for accommodation in Adelaide.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Hindmarsh Square have views towards the Adelaide Hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Peter C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor Harbor, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great room, great price and lovely view. The room was really nice and tidy, staff were super friendly and helpful. Such a good location in Adelaide. Would def recommend and visit again!
We stayed in a 2 bedroom appartment over looking the park with a balcony - Such a nice and relaxing room.

Room Tip: Balcony room was lovely - Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Kieran F,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a fantastic stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Being Adelaide Raised I knew this would be a good area to stay in, your about 200 meters from the shopping areas and Rundle Street for a good choice of restaurants.Adelaide is a square mile so its really not a long walk anywhere.

The room itself looks clean and modern, a little small in the lounge area for the 2br apartment we hired. Good views of the Hindmarsh Square. Shower was a bit like a garden hose on stingy hard mode and no way to adjust, and air con seem to have a mind of its own

Overall though we would stay again, good location the valet service was 25 a day but unlimited use and far easier then trying to park (parking inspectors in adelaide me actually fund the state)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear mikejh225,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed 11 nights on business trip, reception staff were very limited as it can get busy at times and had to wait in the queue for as long as 10 minutes. The room was okay. I found the restaurant menu a bit limited but the food quality very good, the restaurant staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was amazing. Car parking is by valet service which can be a problem when the reception is busy. The treadmil in the gym has been out of service almost everytime I visited the gym.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Vijaya L,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. I assure you that your comments with regard to deficiencies in our hotel facility are being given serious consideration. Past experience has demonstrated that some of our greatest improvements have been made as a result of guests’ feedback. Once angain thank you and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Hindmarsh Square again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide

Address: 55 - 67 Hindmarsh Square, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With refurbishments totalling $2 million, Mantra Hindmarsh Square offers premier apartment style accommodation in Adelaide's bustling CBD. Boasting a city centre location, Mantra Hindmarsh Square is only a short stroll from the Rundle Mall shopping and Rundle Street dining precinct and minutes away from the Adelaide Convention Centre, Sky City Casino, Festival and Entertainment Centres. Combining convenience with style, the hotel offers a range of studios, one and two bedroom air-conditioned suites with fully-equipped kitchenettes, bathroom and laundry facilities. Some suites also offer private balconies with views across Adelaide city or out across the majestic Adelaide Hills. There are a wide range of guest facilities, including 24 hour room service and a 24 hour reception desk for your convenience. Sq Restaurant, lounge bar & street side cafe offers creative cuisine featuring the best of local South Australian produce and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for overnight, short-term or long-term stays, Mantra Hindmarsh Square is centrally located, offering stylish accommodation to suit both business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Mantra Hindmarsh Square Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.