We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide to your Saves list
Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 - 67 Hindmarsh Square, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Adelaide
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We found the facilities good and very clean, the service fantastic, in room meals superb and menu had a great variety and is reasonably priced. Quiet with a very comfy bed. Secure valet parking competitive at $25/night. We got the room for $150/night and thought that this was on the money, but it was a promotion and wouldn't want to pay more for what we got, however you pay for convenience and other hotels are charging similar, with similar promotions. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Magi H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    139
    46
    13
    10
See reviews for
48
63
26
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked this hotel with 2 of our closest friends and while we didn’t have any real complaints I must say that there is better hotels and accommodation in Adelaide. I have stayed in Adelaide several times and can definitely say that the liberty towers apartments, Crown Plaza, Rendezvous and Oaks Plaza Pier apartments in Glenelg (should you wish to stay beachside) are all better and far brighter options. I say brighter because the room we stayed in was very dark with a very small window and useless sized veranda. The bathroom too was not exactly clean and is a little dated. The apartment otherwise was of a good size, with well stocked mini bar with some cooking facilities. It is very central and close to some of Adelaide’s most well known attractions including the botanical gardens, Rundall mall and Adelaide Arcade. Stay if you must, but only if the the other options not be available.

Room Tip: We booked a 2 bedroom apartment saving us a great deal when we split the room rate. The room too is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear michael d,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported from housekeeping and our Executive Housekeeper will certainly address this with her team. This is not up to our usual standard and I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascot, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel looks brilliant online, and we booked it for its central location, 24 hour room service and bar and restaurant, as we were attending the Fringe Festival and catching up with family and friends. Unfortunately the bar and restaurant are closed by 11pm and room service doesn't include coffee! The 2 bedroom apartment was spacious but the carpet was awful, looked like the room had been flooded. However on the 5th floor that s probably unlikely. Wifi was expensive. Air conditioning in the room was freezing and very difficult to regulate. Staff were lovely, and location was perfect. However for this price we probably will look elsewhere on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear liz77_12,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. The issues you raised have been addressed with the respective departmental managers and further investigation has been implemented accordingly.

I assure you that your comments with regard to deficiencies in our hotel facility are being given serious consideration. Past experience has demonstrated that some of our greatest improvements have been made as a result of guests’ feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Hindmarsh Square again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel is average however the service I received killed it for me. If I wasn't desperate for a room I would not have gone to this hotel, as when I called to make the booking the girl who took my enquiry (which was only a quick call) was rude, unhelpful and when I requested a particular room set up she was unable to "guarantee" or "book" a room for me. I frequently travel and this has never been the case anywhere else.

Room Tip: Don't bother asking for a room as they wont guarantee or give it to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Alexandra P,

It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay. To assist me further in investigating these matters, I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can address these issues accordingly. I look forward to hearing from you. Phone 08 8412 3386 or email tim.rees-jones@mantra.com.au.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a night before a holiday away, in a room with 2 bedrooms. The reception was friendly and helpful, and we were settled in our room in no time at all. The room was very spacious, and the beds were made up to the configuration that we requested. The whole area was very clean, and modern looking!!The lounge area was a good size for a family of 4, and comfortable. The small balcony overlooked the park across the road, and it was nice to be able to open the door for some fresh air. The bar downstairs was welcoming and we enjoyed a very relaxing afternoon drink, before a short walk to Rundle street and the cafe we had booked for dinner. On checking out (at a very early hour of the morning) the reception was equally helpful and friendly, I cannot fault this hotel, it is run excellently! There is no swimming pool, but you are so close to all the activities that beautiful Adelaide city has to offer, that this isn't an issue!

Room Tip: Even though we had an apartment close to the road, the bedrooms are set back and our sleep was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Goldbunny123,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The best feature of this largish hotel is the location - comfortably central for a tourist, with walking distance to restaurant streets and shopping areas. Seemed to be very popular with local tourists coming to party in town. The rooms are spaceous, clean, and in principle well equipped with a kitchenette etc. but somewhat boringly and unimaginatively decorated in a standard "modern" hotel style. High charge for internet an extra minus. Friendly service mostly, special thanks to Lisa who sorted effectively out our booking problem. Our stay (several days) was ok but not much more, so highly unlikely we would choose this hotel again when in Adelaide.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Travelling_My,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. In regards to the room decor, we are currently in the planning stage of in-room refurbishment which will enhance the current look of our rooms. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Hindmarsh Square in the future.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

"Thank you, your staff works meticulously and efficiently. ... "I just wanted to let you know we're very happy with Vanessa, she did a terrific job, so sweet, so helpful, so charming and wonderful. every day my room was so clean, and it feels warm and welcoming, thanks to the extra touches.
Restaurant food is very good
so nice to come back ...
i love this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear maria k,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide

Address: 55 - 67 Hindmarsh Square, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With refurbishments totalling $2 million, Mantra Hindmarsh Square offers premier apartment style accommodation in Adelaide's bustling CBD. Boasting a city centre location, Mantra Hindmarsh Square is only a short stroll from the Rundle Mall shopping and Rundle Street dining precinct and minutes away from the Adelaide Convention Centre, Sky City Casino, Festival and Entertainment Centres. Combining convenience with style, the hotel offers a range of studios, one and two bedroom air-conditioned suites with fully-equipped kitchenettes, bathroom and laundry facilities. Some suites also offer private balconies with views across Adelaide city or out across the majestic Adelaide Hills. There are a wide range of guest facilities, including 24 hour room service and a 24 hour reception desk for your convenience. Sq Restaurant, lounge bar & street side cafe offers creative cuisine featuring the best of local South Australian produce and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for overnight, short-term or long-term stays, Mantra Hindmarsh Square is centrally located, offering stylish accommodation to suit both business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Mantra Hindmarsh Square Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.