We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican, speedy service & yummy food in the Eastern suburbs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maiz and Mezcal

Maiz and Mezcal
405 Magill Road, Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #516 of 1,379 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican, speedy service & yummy food in the Eastern suburbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Big, noisy, bustling restaurant with a young, trendy, happy vibe. Yummy Mexican street food, pleasant service, big menu with lots of bargains (great place to try loads of different things - menu has individual tacos etc for just a few bucks each so you can pick lots, not just an entree/main). As 3 couples we went for 3 entrees to share then 3 of the platters. Highlights were the haloumi entree, guacamole (sooo fresh) and the steak volcanes (like an open taco). This place is good value - or a bargain with the Entertainment Book 25% off voucher. We paid $25 a head including tip for a feast plus a drink each.

Food and atmosphere are not quite as good as my favourite Mexican - Lucky Lupitas - but this is an (almost) as good pick for the other side of town. Will definitely return. Note service is super speedy - we were in and out in just over an hour - so not somewhere to linger all night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    9
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Visited this restaurant last week after rave reviews and several attempts to book a table but this place is always booked out finally success we had a table booked. Eager to experience the Mexican food on offer, myself and my guests were extremely disappointed with what was placed in front of us, luke warm unmelted cheese variations of tortilla toasted or soft, no guacamole sour cream or jalapeño. Service was good but food was something I could put together at home as a snack - would not revisit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great casual dining, quick service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Tasty mexican food served in a casual atmosphere by friendly staff. Good choice if you have to be in and out quickly - our order for 9 people was served promptly. Be aware that the non alcoholic drinks are limited to canned soft drink and 3 types of mexican 'juice'. If you are really hungry suggest you order entree and main as the serves are small. The restaurant is undergoing expansion but this has absolutely no impact on the current establishment. Make a reservation!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food in a really busy restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The food is really great. The service too is really great, presented well and cooked in front of you.
Without a booking we had to wait 90 minutes to get a table for four. That alone tell one how good the food is! The vibe is young and happy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went here with a group of 5 friends for dinner. Even midweek it was packed so make a reservation. I don't recall exactly what we ordered, we had the platters for 2 and a lot of tacos and it was all really good. I don't know that you can go wrong with the food. The ladies had cocktails that were great, the beer was cold and our server was great. I really can't fault them on their food or service. Lastly, they have a lifesized donkey on the footpath out front- we were sitting on it posing for photos and an employee came out, not to tell us off, but with a giant embroidered sombrero to pose in. Great customer care.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maiz and Mezcal also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Maiz and Mezcal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maiz and Mezcal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.