We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank god for Treasury - an oasis of style in Adelaide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Flinders St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Thank god for Treasury - an oasis of style in Adelaide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We left our shabby hotel in Adelaide early (stamford grand in glenelg) and returned to out old favourite the Treasury and loved it straight away and will never stay anywhere else in Adelaide again. Cheaper than bad 5 star and the only thing they don't have is breakfast in your room but a really cute breakfast in courtyard. Suite rooms with balconies are really spacious, cool and stylish. Right in the city this is the place to stay for an oasis of style close to restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Balcony suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Martin S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with some wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us in our beautiful Treasury Hotel.

We are all so thrilled that you came back to us and that you enjoyed your time with us. Did you know the Beatles famously ran into our Courtyard in 1964 to escape the screaming fans that were chasing them?

Next time you come, please ask a member of our team to show you our beautiful Cabinet room. Did you know the decision to give women the right to vote in South Australia was made in our Cabinet Room in 1895? The first state in Australia to pass the vote and 6 years before the UK passed the vote.

On behalf of the entire team at Adina Adelaide, we thank you for your feedback and are all really looking forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to Adelaide which we hope will be soon.

Warm Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    330
    59
    25
    9
See reviews for
136
416
34
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
queensland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

1st experience:
Arrived on time & our room, which had been booked two months beforehand, had been allocated to others.
2nd experience:
Receptionist refused to call manager and only after threatening to leave, we're we allocated a room along the lines of what we ordered.
3rd experience:
The food in the 'casual' restaurant was so bad we would not eat in the hotel again.
4th experience:
One of three shelves in the only wardrobe needs repairing, but no one is available to repair it.
5th experience:
We complained a number of times about very loud noise coming from a party in a room directly opposite, but only at 10pm did a staff member attend.

This room over five days is costing an average of $220 per day. Plenty of light but, without doubt, the worst hotel and most poorly managed we have ever experienced. One Adina experience is enough in one lifetime.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room. You'd be better off on a bench in the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear crispAustralia,

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to meet with yourselves face to face in your apartment to discuss your feedback. As discussed, I have take all of your comments and feedback on board to ensure that we are continuing to reflect on our offer and improve continuosly.

Warm Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Despite the name change (earlier in the address book?), these apartments continue to be the best value quality accommodation in Adelaide. Thanks again Me/Adina...even with a little confusion around drinks orders and room service capability we were met with genuine smiles and efforts from staff. A breath of fresh air. Unfortunately the iffy weather meant we couldn't properly enjoy the outdoor space this time, but was pleasantly surprised at the food and service inside the bar for an early Monday lunch.

Accommodation can be a bit creaky overhead, but hey, if you want to stay in a 100-year old building bang in the city centre you have to roll with it. Brilliant.

Well done Adina!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Jeremy B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with some wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you did not experience great weather when you were here, all the more reason for you to come back and visit us again soon.

The team and I are all looking forward to welcoming you back to Adina when your travels bring you back to Adelaide.

Warm Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. We only stayed for 2 nights while we attended a wedding in Adelaide and liked it. It is in a central location. No onsite parking, but you can get discounted parking less than a 5 minute walk away. Staff were friendly. Great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear SMar74,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with some wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are all so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful Treasury Hotel and we really look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Adelaide which we hope will be soon.

Warm Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and was expecting something a bit special for $200 a night (more probably than we would usually pay.)

I was very disappointed with our one bed apartment. It was on the ground floor and was very dark and depressing. Probably due to the fact that there were tall buildings on all sides which meant that the sun could hardly penetrate at all! I asked if we could change rooms but the hotel was fully booked.

Having said the above, the service from the staff was very good and they were very quick to respond to any requests we made.

My list of pros and cons for our stay are as follows:

Pros - bed was very comfortable with a good choice of pillows

Room was very quiet.

AC worked well in the apartment.

The toiletries provided in the bathroom were of good quality - would have liked some shower gel though.

Kitchen was well fitted out - there was no teapot though.

Good location and easy to walk/catch public transport to the sights

Cons - Bedroom was tiny and a TV had been shoehorned into the corner which meant there was hardly any room to get round the bed.

Rest of the apartment was not exactly spacious either.

Bed was described as a "large"double. No idea what the definition of this is but it was very small!

TV remote in sitting room was not compatible with the TV and did not work properly

Ipod docking station was not provided and we had to ask for one. (We hadn't brought any chargers with us.)

We did our bit for the environment during our stay and asked that the room not be fully cleaned. With hindsight, that was a mistake, as by the end of our stay, the drains in the bathroom stank. Mentioned this to reception and they didn't seem very interested - mind you we were checking out so there wasn't a lot they could do by then.

Room Tip: Try to avoid ground floor (we were in room 15) if you like a nice bright room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Nicstids,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us in our beautiful Treasury Hotel. I have taken all of your points on board and followed up in all instances to ensure we are constantly improving and maintaining our very high standards.

Warm Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Finally a quiet hotel, had perfect nights of sleep right in a central location. Walking distance to shops, a great pool and spa and excellent service.

I dont think there was room service breakfast available, this would have been a nice addition.

Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Karen C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with some lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you found our beautiful Treasury Hotel to be relaxing and tranquil.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Adelaide when your travels bring you back to our beautiful city.

Warm Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel a couple of times. Hotel is clean and close to everything. Staff is very friendly. Rooms are spacious. Exceptional value for money. The hotel has a heated pool, sauna and spa. Nice hotel for business or pleasure

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear GJibodh2013,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with some wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are so thrilled that you choose to stay at Adina and we all really look forward to welcoming you back very soon we hope.

Warm Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury

Address: 2 Flinders St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Family Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embrace the stunning elegance of Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury, superbly located in the heart of Adelaide in the historic, heritage-listed former Treasury. Your stay in this friendly city can only be enhanced by the historic charm of Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury, situated at the true heart of the city's CBD, overlooking Victoria Square and adjacent to the Town Hall. Originally the offices for the State Treasury, Medina has completely restored and rejuvenated its heritage features making it one of the country's most appealing boutique hotels. Andrew Harper’s Hideaway Report, the most respected publication in luxury travel, announced in its March 2011 issue the recommendation of Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury. All of Andrew Harper’s recommended properties possess exceptional character, a commitment to classic hospitality and a profound sense of place. Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury is delighted to be among the best of the best properties worldwide to receive his recommendation. Whether your plans call for back-to-back business meetings or picnics in the park - you are within an easy stroll of all the action at Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury. The Botanic Gardens, major Art Galleries, the Adelaide Casino, the shopping, restaurants and cafes of Rundle Mall, and the superb fresh produce from Adelaide Central Market: are all a five minute walk away. Choose from 80 one and two bedroom apartments, all with in-house movies and Foxtel. Enjoy the sophisticated decor and the mood-enhancing ambiance of your hotel apartment, with fully-equipped kitchen and laundry, climate control and fast broadband. Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury can be your "home office" in the "City of Churches". Our dedicated staff will move mountains to make your stay a enjoyable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Toga Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury Hotel Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.