We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, well located apartment hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Flinders St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Comfortable, well located apartment hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have now stayed in this hotel four times over the past few years. The hotel is very conveniently located in a historic building which has been carefully and tastefully restored. The ambience of the historic building has been well maintained.
The rooms / apartments are spacious and comfortable with excellent bathrooms and well equipped kitchens and the suites have a generous separate living room. Furnishings, linen and fittings are also of a high standard and everything is very well maintained. The courtyard bar is pleasant (particularly during summer) and the restaurant quite acceptable. The swimming pool and sauna are very swish although they seem little used.
The downsides are that car parking is a good walk away, expensive wi-fi, a breakfast basket which was notable for the very cheap packaged jams and cereals (South Australia has so many boutique producers and it would be great to use some of their products!) and having to pay for a newspaper (which on previous visits has been provided to your room free of charge). I know the quest for economies is uppermost in the minds of management, but there is a fine line between appropriate economies and petty, penny pinching measures which simply aggravate guests.
Also very aggravating is the surcharge for using a credit card when paying the account. Who doesn't use a credit card in 2013? Management would be far better off adding a couple of dollars to the room rate and avoid this very small minded, uncommercial and downmarket practice, which once again simply annoys their guests - particularly those from overseas where such charges are unheard of.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear dcs9603,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with some feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am very thrilled that you continue to enjoy your visits to us and throughlly appreciate your custom. Thank you for the feedback regarding the breakfast and the newspaper, I have been reviewing our options with the breakfast.

I really appreciate all your comments and have taken everything on board. I hope you will pop by and say Hello to me on your next visit, which we hope will be soon.

Warm Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    330
    60
    25
    9
See reviews for
137
417
34
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I've been travelling regularly to Adelaide for the last 8 years, and always make the Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury my preferred stay. The rooms are unique, and quite spacious, and there's a lot of SA history in this old building. I took my wife on my most recent trip (a vacation/holiday) and she was equally impressed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi Brian F,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback.

I am so thrilled that you enjoye staying with us, we really do appreciate your custom.

The Adina team and I are really looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Adelaide which we hope will be soon.

Warm Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The car parking provided by the hotel is a 5 minute walk away and in a public parking garage that is secluded, and frankly quite dangerous for a lone woman or older couple to use at night or during quiet periods. Furthermore, there are a lot of homeless people hanging around the area who like to drunk and scream and fight at night.

Finally, the room we stayed in wasn't very good either. The lounge in the living room was only big enough for one person to lie on and there's no TV in the bedroom.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear sludgymars11,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback on your recent stay.

I am sorry that you found the busy CBD car park located 150 metres from the Hotel to be secluded and that it took you 5 minutes to walk there.

As for "people hanging around and fighting", I have never had an issue like this.

Kind Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I was booked in her for 2 nights by Flinders Uni which has a campus directly opposite. The room was good--well appointed and comfortable with good amenities and a view into the courtyard of this fine old building. My only meals there were breakfasts: these were very pleasant and palatable.
overall service was good and location excellent. I'd stay again if I had the chance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear ACTterrier,

Thank you so much for your wonderful words.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the location to be ideal for your business trip.

The Adina team and I really look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Adelaide.

Kind Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as part of a winter Warner's package with upgrade to a 1 br apt and some free chocolates. We had to ask for the chocolates, but got there in the end! The apartment was very cramped. The bed almost took up the whole bedroom. There was an unpleasant odor coming from the kitchen sink when pervaded the whole place. On the upside, a great location in the Adelaide cbd close to the central market, rundle mall and Gouger st restaurants, the building itself is beautiful and it had the advantage of windows you can open which you don't often get in CBD hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear bessiek,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed the historic features and that the location met your needs for your break. I was sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with you apartment and would be really keen to learn more about your experience.

Please feel free to contact me at the Hotel or by e-mail: bsaxton@adinahotels.com.au

Kind Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hello, we stayed at this hotel on Anzac day night and whilst our stay was only short the experience was fantastic. We arrived at about 0920 in the morning and asked if we could store our bags expecting our room would not be availableuntil PM as per normal. We were suprised to hear that we could have our room then and we went and had a look and stowed our gear. We had upgraded to a 1 bedroom and it was very spacious with kitchen, lounge, bad and bathroom all of very good size. You could see from the thickness of the doorway between loung and bedroom that we were in an historic building. Also as part of the package was a free bottle of wine. We asked if we could swap the red that was provided for a white and this was no problem at all. Overall we were very inpressed with the service and the fantastic value formoney with this hotel. we will definitely be back for next Anzac day. Cheers

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with some feedback on your recent stay with us. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay and was thrilled to hear you were happy with the service as it is our goal to exceed out guests expectations each and every time.

The Adina team and I are really looking forward to welcoming you back next Anzac day if not before.

Kind Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel rooms and service are first class. We enjoyed our 5 nights there. The bar fridge is well stocked and other breakfast items milk and coffee were supplied to cater for our needs after travel. It is a beautiful building and garden setting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Dennis D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with some wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay. I am so thrilled you had a wonderful stay and really look forward to welcoming you back to Adelaide on your next visit.

Warm Regards
Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury

Address: 2 Flinders St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Family Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embrace the stunning elegance of Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury, superbly located in the heart of Adelaide in the historic, heritage-listed former Treasury. Your stay in this friendly city can only be enhanced by the historic charm of Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury, situated at the true heart of the city's CBD, overlooking Victoria Square and adjacent to the Town Hall. Originally the offices for the State Treasury, Medina has completely restored and rejuvenated its heritage features making it one of the country's most appealing boutique hotels. Andrew Harper’s Hideaway Report, the most respected publication in luxury travel, announced in its March 2011 issue the recommendation of Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury. All of Andrew Harper’s recommended properties possess exceptional character, a commitment to classic hospitality and a profound sense of place. Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury is delighted to be among the best of the best properties worldwide to receive his recommendation. Whether your plans call for back-to-back business meetings or picnics in the park - you are within an easy stroll of all the action at Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury. The Botanic Gardens, major Art Galleries, the Adelaide Casino, the shopping, restaurants and cafes of Rundle Mall, and the superb fresh produce from Adelaide Central Market: are all a five minute walk away. Choose from 80 one and two bedroom apartments, all with in-house movies and Foxtel. Enjoy the sophisticated decor and the mood-enhancing ambiance of your hotel apartment, with fully-equipped kitchen and laundry, climate control and fast broadband. Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury can be your "home office" in the "City of Churches". Our dedicated staff will move mountains to make your stay a enjoyable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Toga Hotels, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury Hotel Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.