We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish it was an Ibis” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Grosvenor Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    515
    552
    291
    187
See reviews for
206
648
264
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The room was fairly basic but adequate. It was on the inside of the hotel (not facing Nth terrace) so it was very quiet. It was also great value for money.I would recommend this if you get a good rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in this "hotel" if you could call if that. There was no lift to our floor and then it was a ten minute walk wandering through dirty smelly corridors to find our cell. The room be were put into was disgraceful, small, dirty, dated and generally disgusting. It was so small, I was unable to get out of bed if the bathroom door was open and as for the bathroom, I've seen bigger in planes. I am completly astonished that this hotel was given 4-stars. It's an insult to all the other hotels that put in so much effort. My advice to people would be to stay any where but here. I'd sleep in my car before I would stay here again. We got up at 5 am and left as soon as it was bright. The scary thing is,this hotel is rated 40 out of 72, it doesn't say a lot for Adelaide that there are 32 hotels worse than this one

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Mercure Grosvernor Adelaide

+
Location
Price
Parking
-
Outdated

Price: 110 AUD

Outdated hotel, but does the trick for one night. Plus, the location is excellent. Our room was on the top floor, with small window height. Not a lot of light coming in there. Fine we just were out all the time. The hotel has a parking. Service was minimal. Internet was inlcuded in our fare, but it normally is not (the clerk was confused).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed for one night. The room was newly decorated and clean. The bed was comfortable although the pillows were limp. There were a few things that could do with improvement... the toilet lid would not stay up so you needed to be a bit creative with reversing! There were very few toiletries, just the bare minimum. There is no place in the shower to put a shampoo if you take it with you. I overheard some elderly people also comment on this at breakfast! The buffet breakfast was quite good and had a lot of choice. Our window faced east overlooking some roofs and air conditioning units. You could still hear the noise from outside, double glazing would be a good option. We couldn't use the room safe as there was no key in the lock as the sign said. There was also no chain lock on the door as there is in many other hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My first impressions of this hotel were not great. The staff member who initially checked me in was abrupt when discussing the credit card deposit and when I first entered my room, I thought "damn this is tiny". Please note though, I arrived with a migraine, after a terrible flight from Melbourne and realised everything I thought was negative was probably about how I was feeling and not the hotel!
After a shower (nice temperature and pressure) with their shower gel (not bad for a hotel!) I ordered some room service (pork filet mignon) and it was lovely, the staff who took my order were great to deal with, fast but attentive. When my dinner was delivered, I was asked if I would mind a call in 30 mins to see how my meal was. No one has ever asked that before, 5 star or 3!Then after i'd settled in I looked around my room. Yes, it is small. But my room (443) was seriously the cleanest hotel room I've ever stayed in. No dust on any surface, no mould or mildew in the bathroom, no weird stains anywhere. Smelled fresh and clean without that chemical clean smell.
Bed was comfy and I woke up in the morning feeling fantastic.
Staff at breakfast again, just lovely. Staff in the bar smiling and helpful . Breakfast was ok. I didn't eat much but what I had was fine. Then finally the man who checked me out and ordered me a taxi was again, just lovely. Nothing was too much trouble - of course I could have a taxi. No don't wait outside, they will come in. Yes of course you can leave your bags here while you go shopping. No there is no charge to leave your bags behind (unlike many other hotels of the same rating)
I did not use parking so have no comment about cost or convenience.
Room temperature was perfect. I did not find the air con noisy. TV was fine - but it's time for digital people! I was not disturbed by noise or other guests.
If you don't like your credit card being charged, ask to leave a cash deposit. This was $50 and returned on checkout - a practice i've never understood since they haven't checked my room yet. But much more convenient for me than waiting days for my card fees to be released.
I would stay in this hotel again if for no other reason than the staff were perfect and the location is great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 125 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located opposite Adelaide Casino in the heart of the cultural boulevard of North Terrace. Offering a wide variety of room types that fits the needs and budgets of all travellers. All rooms have fluffy feather duvets and pillows, modern and stylish furniture, slim lined LCD televisions in most rooms and broadband internet throughout. Hotel facilities also include the Federal Restaurant and Bar, 24-hour reception and room service, parking and internet kiosk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grosvenor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.