We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, tired hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Grosvenor Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location, tired hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Location was superb in terms of proximity to restaurants and transport, but the hotel itself and to a fair extent the service, was tired. The room did not live up to the photos on the website e.g
- the safe could not be locked
- the bathroom mirror was cracked
- one light was out
- the passageways were dark and dingy
- the room was not cleaned that well and it was difficult to get the staff to leave 2 facecloths in the room, one for each person
On arrival the reception was abrupt and bordering on surly and offhand, both from the receptionist and the duty manager and it never really picked up from there.
The crowning glory was the stairs up to the restaurant. My wife has trouble negotiating stairs, and as there was no elevator to the restaurant, we never had a meal there.
As I said, the location is brilliant, but comnpared to every other Accor establishment I have stayed in, this is far and away the worst. Surprising really when I look back at all of the other good experiences I have had with Accor branded hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear PoppaAuckland

Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor.

Whilst we enjoy a great location I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

I have reviewed your feedback and will address it with our teams concerned. Whilst an area of the restaurant is located up some stairs we offer both the restaurant and the bar menu on the ground floor, I am sorry if this was not made clear to you.

I hope that you remember your trip to SA fondly and that you may give us an opportunity to better assist you in the future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    515
    552
    291
    187
See reviews for
206
648
264
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

all of the staff were great with the kids, they all knew it was the pagaent and that the kids would be excited - nothing was too much trouble and the car parking was fab,
thanks! we would definately staff at this hotel again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Toria79

Thank you for your lovely post on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here and I will let our team know of your feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawler, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

All was fine except the noise coming from the street outside our window. Garbage trucks, street sweepers etc kept waking us up at all hours of the night. Service of counter staff is always excellent. The location is good. The parking is way overpriced concidering the cramped spaces and you have to park yourself. Should be free to members.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear MhakDK

Thank you for your Trip Advisor post.

I pleased that overall your experience was good. I am sorry that you experienced some street noise but unfortunately our great location means that there is more activitly as a result. I have noted your feedback about car-parking and will review whether we can offer free parking to Accor Le Club members.

Warm Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This room was the worst I had in a western country, only Ukraine can beat that. There was a compressor or something simular outside which started often duroing the night. I complained straigth after I occupied the room but been told that is the room I booked. I thought as a member of the Accor Club you expierience a higher priority. I ll review the membership after one year. If I have a expierience loke this again I certainly will not renew the membership.

Kind regards


Walter

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Good Morning Walter

Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that your experience was poor but do not agree this is the worst hotel outside the Ukraine. In fact in Adelaide on Trip Advisor we rate better than half of the hotels in this city alone.

I apologize that we were unable to assist you once you had provided your feedback regarding the compressor and indeed as a Le Club member we should have done better. I would encourage you to still renew your membership as it provides great rewards and an option to book over 200 hotels in Australia alone.

Warm Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I've stayed here a few times.
The location and price suit me well. The front desk staff were excellent, particularly Grant.
One thing that I see you could improve easily would be to add lighting above the sink for shaving for males and make up for women as it was quite poor I thought.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear 2Shane

Thanks for your post on Trip Advisor. I will pass your feedback onto our team and in particular to Grant who you note is a great asset to the hotel.

We are currently renovating our bathrooms and are improving the lighting as a result of feedback such as yours - thank you!

Warm Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed 3 nights in separate rooms. I had to change the 2nd night because the room (the only birght, mdern, cheerful room of the 3) sprung a leak as a result of poor repair work.

My main concern was hygiene. In room 1 and room 3, there was mould in the showers. Room 1 was also extremely dreary - beige curtains, beige wlls, beige furnishings, a window that only opened about 20 cm, on to a light well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear RADemon

Thank you for your Trip Advisor post.

I am sorry that you were concerned with hygiene. I will address your feedback with our housekeeping team directly.

We are currently renovating our guest rooms to add some more 'life' into them and to completely overhaul the bathrooms. I expect this to be finished in early 2013.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to better assist you in the future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The location is very good, however the room is without a window and very small. The hotel is rather old and tired and need renovation and I don't found it value for money compared with other places I stayed in recently.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Accohotels.com traveller

Thank you for your post.

We do enjoy a great location however I am sorry that your experience wasn't more positive.

The hotel is currently undergoing an extensive refurbishment which improve many elements of our guest rooms including our bathrooms.

I hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 125 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located opposite Adelaide Casino in the heart of the cultural boulevard of North Terrace. Offering a wide variety of room types that fits the needs and budgets of all travellers. All rooms have fluffy feather duvets and pillows, modern and stylish furniture, slim lined LCD televisions in most rooms and broadband internet throughout. Hotel facilities also include the Federal Restaurant and Bar, 24-hour reception and room service, parking and internet kiosk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grosvenor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.