We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chifley on South Terrace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Chifley on South Terrace to your Saves list
Chifley on South Terrace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   226 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Adelaide
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tired Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

A throwback to the 70's - this hotel needs a complete faclift.......no bar.......no restaurant and ridiculous prices. Even the staff were apologetic about the facilities. Dirty rooms, needs a good clean and a coat of paint - the decor is right out of the 70's and 80's.Will not stay here again!

Room Tip: If you want a good room and a great hotel - stay somewhere else. Rated 4 stars but more like 2!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear GPhotelstay
I am sorry you have not enjoyed your stay with us.
Our Restaurant and Bar operations are clearly displayed on the hotel and other listed websites, although we do understand your comments regarding the bar and restaurant for dinner. We are currently persuing several options to facilitiate the re-opening of these areas in the near future and anticipate an announcement in this regard soon. Our sister property next door, Grand Chifley Adelaide, also has a restaurant and bar and Chifley on South Terrace guests are welcome to use these and charge the account back to their rooms.
Our guest satisfaction surveys (we encourage all guests to rate us either through the online option on our website or via the guest surveys in the room) currently show over 83% satisfaction in room cleanliness and 79% for room comfort. These scores are generally seen as a good result throughout the industry however we are also being proactive in our efforts to improve.
We apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay and would welcome you contacting me at the hotel to further discuss the points you have raised.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    207
    144
    47
    22
See reviews for
74
178
53
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Continental breakfast only, the bar was closed all weekend - no explanation as to why.
Its quite a dark, old, tired place screaming for renovation.
Shower over bath, someones hair on towel (not ours) eeew! Toilet rust coloured at bottom - eeeew!
Foxtel instructions with remote - foxtel was a blur & unwatchable! Ch7 - unwatchable too.
Rooms were quite big, great block out curtains kept room dark in morning.
Air conditioner kept us awake first night with clunking, clicking noises. Went without air con rest of our stay - just too noisy!
Fasta Pasta next door - easy quick dinners/lunch.

Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear wheretonext500
I am sorry you do not appear to have enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately, our bar and restaurant are not open for dinner at the moment, as is clearly displayed on our own and other listed websites for the hotel. Guests are welcome to use the restaurant and bar facilities of our sister property next door and charge the account back to their room.
Airconditioning is currently being upgraded throughout the property with all rooms having individual reverse cycle units fitted. This program will be completed by the end of March.
We are also in the process of upgrading our television reception due to the Digital changeover happening for the Adelaide area on April 2nd 2013. We have already noticed an improvement in the free to air channels.
We apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay and have reminded all departments to be vigilant in their areas to ensure hotel standards are met.
I would welcome you contacting me at the hotel to further discuss your stay and thank you for bringing your experience to our attention.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed only one night to see a Fringe show, was the perfect location. Free parking for 2 cars only few minutes to tram. Really excellent value for money booked on Wotif last minute.
Had good air con rooms were clean, had a mini bar tea coffee making.
The only down fall was after 11PM lift was out of action so had to use stairs :-)

Room Tip: Also had a pool!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Colette287
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and thanks for taking the time to review us for others.
How great is the Adelaide Fringe! It is absolutely unique in my experience and offers a wonderful opportunity to stay away from home for a night as you have, so thanks also for choosing our hotel to do so.
Speaking of air-conditioners, we are approximately 90% through the install which when completed will ensure all of our rooms have individual reverse cycle airconditioning. It appears you have been one of the lucky first at our property where the old "central air conditioning system" has been switched off to a particular room/floor and you have been able to control the temperature to your own liking.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit and also recommend checking out our own hotel website for all the latest amazing deals.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I decided last minute to book a night away for our 22nd wedding anniversary. I decided on The Chifley because it had onsite parking, pool and good value prices. I read the reviews a little apprehensively and was concerned about the lift and reported noise. We ended up in an executive room which was nice. My side of the mattress was okay my husbands was way to soft with a heavy indentation. In saying that we have slept on worse at 5 star hotels and resorts. We were in room 413 and heard no lift noise. Although when you travel in it, it is certainly a clunker. The hotel is showing its age and a bit of tlc would make it top class in my opinion. As it is we enjoyed our stay. We have 5 children and do not get timeouts very often. The pool was great as we are currently in a hot spell redecoration of the pool area, matching umbrellas and aesthetic decoration would make this pool fantastic rather than great and refreshing. the staff were extremely pleasant, not a grump amongst them. The current deal of $10 breakfasts was nice and good start to our day. We will be back with the kids they will love the pool.

Room Tip: rooms that end higher than 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Daliro
Congratulations on your 22nd Anniversary - a real milestone - and thank you for spending it with us.
I have asked housekeeping to inspect the mattress in the room you occupied and to exchange it as soon as possible. We apologise for any discomfort experienced by either you or your husband in this regard.
The pool is indeed a lovely area of our property. New umbrella's are currently being considered along with a range of other shade options for the pool area and hopefully we will have these installed in the very near future.
The $10 Deluxe Continetal Breakfast is indeed a lovely way to start the day without overloading on sausage, eggs and bacon (as I am always tempted to do when taking breakfast in hotels).
We look forward to welcoming you back with all your children when next you stay and I would suggest ringing prior to booking to make enquiry about a family room (2 x interconnecting rooms for a discounted price) to accommodate you all comfortably.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford Rise, ADELAIDE
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here in our own city as we were off to a show at the Entertainment Centre. A short stroll (5 minutes) to the tram that takes you into the heart of Adelaide, and onto the Entertainemnt Centre made no carparks to contend with.
Parking at The Chifley was free and very easy to access. Checking in and leaving was a speedy process, and all staff were extremely polite and helpful. The pool looked very inviting, but alas, we didn't have time to use it.
Breakfast in the Kurrajong was a continental brekky, with fresh fruit cereal and toast with pancakes and danishes. The coffee machine was great, double expresso for me was a great start to the day! Will stay here again, even though I live only 30 minutes away, it was very handy to all we needed and saved a drive home after a show in town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi fan4collingwood
Thanks for choosing our hotel for your short break at home. I am a huge fan of being a tourist in my own city and always find it so much fun. It sounds like you enjoyed your experience as well and even took a trip on the tram to really make the most of it.
Thank you for your lovely comments which I have shared with our teams whom we also feel do a marvelous job. I'm not sure about the "double" espresso to start the day, however we certainly understand the importance of having a nice coffee AND its included in the cost of your breakfast without having to dig deeper into the pocket. That also leaves a nice taste I reckon(heheh)!
With the hot weather over the last couple of days and March still in front of us, I do hope you will have the opportunity to come back again soon and experience the pool you missed out on this time.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Unfortunately, i could not book my favorite hotel in Adelaide over the Australia Day Weekend, so i made a booking with The Chifley on South Terrace.

The hotel was built in 1968 and was refurbed in 2010. This is not a 5 Star hotel but i must admit I was impressed with the service, hospitality and accommodation.
We were allocated an Executive Room and for what we paid, i was equally impressed. The colour of the walls was drab and in much need of a spruce up!

The room was a good size, with a Queen Sized bed, very clean and really comfortable. The bathroom was a brilliant size with a 2 person shower and came with all necessary toiletries. The bathroom was very clean.

I didn't use the pool but my partner did and he reported that it was very good and of a good size.

I did use the business services facilities (internet and printer) but was unable to fully use the internet services with my airline. The room was drab and very uncomfortable. This is "not' a business hotel.

Overall, i was happy with the hotel and for what we paid, i would recommend the property to anybody that wanted to stay at South Terrace.

Room Tip: Ensure that you get a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear BusinessClass3
Thank you for venturing out of the comfort zone from your favorite hotel in Adelaide and experiencing our property. It can be a step we sometimes regret however I am delighted your "Chifley Experience" was an enjoyable one.
Your comment regarding the business centre has been noted and a makeover and upgrade (including new computer, desk chair, artwork & repainting) will be undertaken in the very near future to improve this facility for our guests comfort.
Likewise, your comment regarding the color of the walls in our guest rooms has been noted with thanks and for consideration in future room upgrades.
I have shared your comments with our staff as we also believe it is often the service and hospitality aspects which set apart our hotels from others and keep our guests coming back.
We would be delighted to welcome you back should you wish to make a new favorite Adelaide hotel (or even if your current one is again unavailable for you).
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom Price, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Chifley was really easy to get to and easy to get around Adelaide becuase of location...room was very nice, clean and spacious...enjoyed my time there and pool was excellent as I could swim laps...would stay again in a flash..

Room Tip: I had rooms on 1st and 2nd floors and end room was great - 214
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hi Vicki A
Thanks for staying at Chifley on South Terrace and sharing your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and our facilities.
it is quite ironic you mention swimming lap's in the pool....and I look outside and indeed there is again someone currently swimming laps - in the rain! It's almost like an Indian summer here this week, however the temperature is again expected to be back into the mid to high 30's next week. Hopefully we will see a few more weeks of higher temperatures before our summer is officially over.
We look forward to welcoming yoiu back when next you stay.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chifley on South Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley on South Terrace

Address: 226 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chifley on South Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Chifley on South Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley On South Terrace Hotel Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chifley on South Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.