We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chifley on South Terrace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chifley on South Terrace to your Saves list
Chifley on South Terrace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   226 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
A TripAdvisor Member
“Not Again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Paid $95 per night and it is not worth a cent more. Rooms very dated - all the money spent on the 2010 refurb. must have been in the foyer!!!
Location is fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay at Chifley on South Terrace and writing a review.
I am unsure as to your comment regarding 2010 refurb, however I am able to advise that the rooms were comprehensively updated with new curtains, carpet, televisions, repainted, new light fittings and lamp shades and new artwork in 2011.
We are considering the bathroom options available at the moment. I am pleased to advise that individual reverce cycle airconditioners will be fitted to all rooms and new carpet in the hotel foyer laid in the next few months.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    341
    237
    81
    41
See reviews for
153
291
86
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I visited Adelaide recently and for the fun of it booked a 'secret' hotel room from lastminute.com. The idea is to book the 'secret' room - in this case, a supposedly 4-star hotel in convenient location - and once you've paid, they'll reveal which hotel it is. Well, I got the Chifley on South Terrace.

Totally disappointing. Definitely not a 4-star hotel. It is old and dated with furnishing that looked like they belong in the 70s. The lights along the corridor were not in full working condition and so it was dark and creepy as you walk to and from the room. The curtain rail of our room was almost falling apart. The balcony is shared among all the rooms on the same level, so I couldn't even leave my curtains open for fear a neighbour might walk by.

If you're visiting Adelaide, don't book anything along the South Terrace, there's nothing but a school and a park there. Go for those near Gouger St (Chinatown, Central Market), near the mall (Rumble Mall) or North Terrace (where the musuems and shopping areas are).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear VBPUFF
Thank you for the review on your recent stay. I am sorry your stay was not to your liking. Unfortunately, the hotel is unable to allude to itself in the "secret" hotel programme as this is one of
the criteria controlled by the third party website. Secret Hotel's and mystery rooms can indeed be a lot of fun, however if people are looking for a specific location we strongly suggest booking a property of choice and not chance. Our South Terrace location, we feel, is the ideal place to stay with many positive features such as its picturesque parklands outlook and the associated jogging tracks and bikeways, convenient free parking, free tram service within the CBD (500m from the hotel) and many fine cafe's, restaurants and pubs nearby. We are a 4<> self rated property and feel that this is a fair reflection of the price, quality, service and facilities we offer when compared generally to other 4* properties.
Your comment regarding the corridor lighting and curtain rail have been passed on to housekeeping and maintenance for their immediate attention as we too expect that these are in good working order.
Please do not hesitate to contact me personally should you wish to further discuss your stay.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very disappointed with this property. Apart from the very low shower that my 11 year old could barely fit under, the check out in the morning was very rude. The gentlemen on the desk was scruffy, untidy and very rude. And when paying $300 a night, I don't expect to be told to go out and hail my own cab!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Nitmiluk1
Thankyou for choosing to stay at Chifley on South Terrace and writing a review. I am sorry your experience was spoilt on checkout and have asked our Front Office Manager to follow this up further as our dress standards are clearly defined.
I am disappointed also at the seeming lack of service in regard to the taxi and the staff member will be reminded of their duties and our expectations.
Generally our staff are highly commended by our guests and I invite you to contact me personally to further discuss your experience.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Good 4star room and property but traffic noise from busy South Terrace is a problem in street side rooms

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear BertRMelbourne
Thank you for choosing to stay at Chifley on South Terrace and providing a review. I am pleased your visit was enjoyable.
Your comment regarding the noise from South Terrace has been noted and we apologise for any inconvenience. We do take requests for either City or Park View rooms and accommodate accordingly wherever possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I got bumped here from another motel that "overbooked". This is apparently 4 star but didnt even come close. Old furnishings, old bathroom, old lift that sounded and felt like it was going to die, only one lift so you had to wait forever for it ( if you were game enough to take it!!). Thin walls. The pool did look inviting but it wasn't warm enough to try. I wouldn't stay here again, and will be complaining to the motel I originally booked at that bumped me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear poolandlocation
Thankyou for the review on your recent visit. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
I understand your comment regarding the lift, however I assure you and all our guests the lift is safe and in working order as certified by our independent lift contractors. Unfotunately, as you have noted it is an older lift and in comparison to the new generation of lifts we are used to now it does have peculiarities of leveling as it arrives at the required floors. The brake noise being experienced is due to the new composite brake pad materials being used as the original pads are no longer manufactured.
We have also undertaken refurbishment of the guest rooms over the last twelve months and further upgrades are currently being negotiated with our Owners and contractors. I am hopefuly of sharing more news on these in the near future.
I welcome you contacting me directly at the hotel to further discuss your stay.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed for a week for a sporting event. My team manager and I shared a room that was quite comfortable, though very warm because of the central heating that we couldn't turn down. Having said that, the room and beds were pleasant.
Our only complaint is that housekeeping was a bit slack. One day, my manager's bed was made with the pillow still under the sheets in the middle of her bed. Funny at the time, but a bit slack really.
We also had white wine in our room one night. The glasses were never washed because we could smell the wine still in the glasses. Gave them benefit of the doubt and moved the glasses onto the table so they would look like they had been used (not near the fridge , where it could be mistaken that they had not been used). Still not washed.
Apart from housekeeping, everything else was good. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Netballer09
Thank you for the review and for choosing to stay at Chifley on South Terrace. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit.
Your comment regarding the making of the bed and other housekeeping issues experienced has been raised with the department Supervisors and I apologise for any inconvenience experienced. Attention to detail is an important part of housekeeping duties and more attention will be paid to ensure repeats of this nature are minimised.
Thank you for bringing this to my attention and we look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chifley on South Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley on South Terrace

Address: 226 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chifley on South Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Chifley on South Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley On South Terrace Hotel Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chifley on South Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.