We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place Apart from the Young People” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Old Lion Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Majestic Old Lion Apartments to your Saves list
Majestic Old Lion Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   9 Jerningham Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice Place Apart from the Young People”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Have stayed her a few times and the apartments and surroundings are good. The clientele however has seen an increase in people in their early twenties who have no consideration for other people. Noise, yahooing in the grounds, smashing bottles on the paths etc. I don't know what management can do (apart from banning youth!!!). The place has now fallen off my selection list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg_Vaughton, Manager at Majestic Old Lion Apartments, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear MikenMay

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our property. Recently in Adelaide it was the National University Games, with our property having a large group staying with us similar to most accommodation providers around the city and thus the large proportion of younger guests seen around the property. I appreciate your comments and apologise for inconvenienced caused during your recent stay and I do hope to see you return and enjoy the property as you have done in previous stays.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Vaughton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    108
    29
    5
    4
See reviews for
81
42
4
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coolum Beach, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Agree with previous reports.
We joined family members who stayed in an adjacent room. The buildings are neat, attractive and located near a number of places to eat and a bus route to the CBD a few minutes away. The Adelaide Zoo is under 5 minutes by car. The Old Lion hotel is 100m away (beers on tap included a few interesting local products) but the apartment setting was quiet and peaceful.
As noted by others the rooms and service were very satisfactory. Cost $776 for four nights when paid by credit card. All staff were friendly and obliging. The king size bed in our room was notably comfortable. Doors are heavy but as a result noise transmission is minimal.
Parking under the building was secure.

Room Tip: We asked for a ground floor room and this aided access. A few steps are still involved getting there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg_Vaughton, Manager at Majestic Old Lion Apartments, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear KenCoolum

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our property. Our cosmopolitan location is ideal for families close to attractions and amongst a vast array of cafes, restaurants and shopping. Once again I appreciate your comments and hope to have you stay with us again.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Vaughton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Pretty good stay. The folks are the front desk were very helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious and the units all have washers/dryers which was big for me. The downside was the weekend that I was there, no one ever came to service my room. Also, the internet is very expensive and you have to pay extra for data. So basically using the internet is really expensive and pretty much a rip off. I paid for the one day of internet at $27.50 and then only got to use it for about 340 minutes before my data ran out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg_Vaughton, Manager at Majestic Old Lion Apartments, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Ronnie S

I appreciate your comments. We do not offer full room servicing on weekends but our team at reception can assist with any additional requirements needed during your stay. Based on your comment regarding the internet and previous reviews we now offer free internet access throughout the property and are currently working through installing Wi-Fi – this will also be offered free with unlimited usage available for all guests. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Vaughton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Comfortable apartments, clean and spacious, very comfortable beds. Quiet but in a lively area with excellent restaurants within five minutes walk, also a small supermarket. About a 20 - 30 minute walk to the centre of town.The staff at reception very friendly and helpful. We were surprised that internet access was limited and expensive (although there are some free local wifi spots the access very slow).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg_Vaughton, Manager at Majestic Old Lion Apartments, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear happyholidaysoxford

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. Based on your comment in addition to previous reviews we now offer free internet access throughout the property and our currently working through a Wi-Fi installation that should be completed next month. Once this is installed we will be providing free unlimited Wi-Fi for all guests. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to your liking. I look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Vaughton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscote, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Majestic Old Lion Apartments and pleasantly surprised by the standard of the property. From the reception, the lovely manicured gardens and the size and comfort of the rooms everything was perfect. Being from the country a bit worried being close to a hotel on a Friday night but it was quiet! Thanks I would highly recomend this accomodation to anyone as it represents better value than many a hotel we have stayed in across Australia.

Room Tip: •"Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg_Vaughton, Manager at Majestic Old Lion Apartments, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Joseph T

Thank you for the kind review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Vaughton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great, clean, comfortable apartments. Free laundry and dryer facilities, easy access to internet. Nice staff. Would definitely go back there on my next Adelaide visit.
The only negative side was that we booked for 3 persons and only had 2 chairs, 2 glasses, 2 cups, 2 forks... Had to go to reception to ask for more cutlery! But still I would highly recommend the place.

Room Tip: We had a 1 bedroom apartment for 3 persons. The third person slept on a sofa bed in the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg_Vaughton, Manager at Majestic Old Lion Apartments, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear stephanie p

Thank you for your comments about our apartments. Based on your feedback we have increased the crockery and cutlery in each room to better meet guest needs. Additionally our team at reception can promptly provide any further items that may be needed. I look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Vaughton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

5 family members, all adults stayed for 2 nights in a 3 bedroom apartment. We found it to be extremely quite, extremely well maintained and staff were delightful. 50 mtrs away from several really lovely coffee shops/cafes. Close to city with lock up secure parking. We really had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg_Vaughton, Manager at Majestic Old Lion Apartments, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Wendy L,

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Vaughton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Old Lion Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Old Lion Apartments

Address: 9 Jerningham Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Old Lion Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautifully landscaped Majestic Old Lion Apartments are located in cosmopolitan North Adelaide amongst a vast array of cafes, restaurants and shopping. Refurbished in 2005 and again in 2011 this four (4) star accommodation offers a choice of studio, one, two and 3 bedroom apartments making it the ideal choice for group and family accommodation. Location is a key feature of these North Adelaide apartments situated just 2km from Adelaide’s city centre and walking distance to the Adelaide Zoo, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide University and other attractions. Each of the 66 self-contained apartments are modern, spacious and functional and include free and secure on-site parking, private kitchen and laundry facilities, reverse cycle A/C, opening windows, Foxtel, in-room broadband, 37" LCD TVs, electronic safe, direct dial phones, electric blankets and more. Select apartments also cater for the movement impaired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Majestic Old Lion Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Old Lion Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.