We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Adelaide to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Adelaide
Noosaville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights, with a short break inbetween whilst we visited Kangaroo Island. We found the reception staff to be efficient, but not friendly. The staff on the Concierge desk were very friendly and attempted to help with our questions. Although our travel agent confirmed she had requested a park view room, the reception argued this was not the case and we were located on the sixth floor with a view of a rear parking area. The bathroom was dated, with a cracked tile in the bath and laminate chipped and lifting from the fixtures. The shower curtain was an unpleasant experience. On our second morning, hot water to the shower ran out after the first shower. The furnishings in the bedroom area are dated with cup stains on the bedside table. The TV was old box style. On two occassions we had to call to have dirty room service crockery removed from the hall way near our room, after they sat there all day - not ours. The pool water was too cold for swimming, although it claimed to be heated. We elected the late check out, and our room key was disabled, necessitating a return to reception. To top it all off, we were asked to pay additional for espresso coffee whilst paying a premium for the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    279
    173
    70
    45
See reviews for
49
339
72
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sigatoka, Fiji
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

in adelaide for a quick stop over... Hotel was ok, just a little dated, however, room are comfortable with everything you need.

The staff at the hotel where great. Particulary in the breakast restaurant. Happy faces and sensational coffee.

Will be back..

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamSPA, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, May 31, 2010
Thank for your comments, which are important to us and will assist to improve our services and facilities.

I was pleased to read that the staff provided you with good service and that you will be returning to the Hotel in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Adelaide.

Kind regards,

Graham Black
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outback SA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed here as other places were booked out and this hotel was close to 2 places we needed to get to without the car.The lift in the hotel took for ever each time we needed to use it! only one lift working I guess perhaps.The room was ok,but very old and needs an update fast,the bathroom was old and dirty.Lucky if you saw a staff member to deal with even.Check in was fast with no smile/welcome.Would NOT go here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Room service at this hotel is exorbitant, the prices are unrealistic for any hotel let alone this so called 4 star property plus they charge a $6 delivery fee on top of your order. They offer oysters at $30 but not a dozen, you get 10. Simple Asian dishes are charged at around $20. Most meals at $30 plus. Either get rid of the service charge or keep it and reduce the prices of your menu. Hyatts, Intercontinentals, Hiltons, Marriotts which are far above your standard don't charge these prices. Also please remove that tacky cork advertising board in the room. No one wants to rest in bed with advertising material pinned to the wall. What a ridiculous idea in a hotel that is proclaiming to be the standard you claim to be. Also please update your bathroom amenities, "Earlsly and Windsor" are not quality products, maybe last century. Television old type and a challenge to switch on. Mini bar not cold, surely houskeeping should check temperature. Not happy with this hotel in the slightest. But thats Stamford for you, operating on an extremely tight budget and the customer pays for their shortcomings.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamSPA, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, May 31, 2010
I’m sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations and very much appreciate your constructive comments relating to the pricing of our Room Service items and quality of the bathroom amenities. Your comments can only assist us to improve on our services and facilities.

With regards to the televisions, I am glad to note that we will be installing LCD units into our guest rooms in the very near future.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind regards,

Graham Black
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Given a room with two single beds and an old T.V. we had requested a dble bed but this room on the 7th floor which was supposed to be inner city view. The view was a brick wall. The furniture was worn and stained, the towels were thin and what would be expected in a 3 star hotel. We ere told that we could upgrade to a junior suite for only $60 per night but apart having more space and a double bed which we had booked was not much better. We decided to stay the night where we were assured we would get a double bed the next day. The next day we were given another room and to our dismay it was exactly the same room type but now on the fourth floor. We discussed our dissapointment and were eventually give another room on the 7 th floor which did have a double bed. Still we were looking into a brick wall for our inner city view this time we were woken at 1.30 a.m with guests partying in a room on the same and finally at 6 a.m action was taken. The next night was the same and the smell of marijuana was strong. I was pleased to see they parked my car but was amazed i was charged $56 for 2 nights and not told about the charge. Major attention should be made to this hotel as a 4 star rating would be very generous On room the wall was a pin notice board with events (see photo) this is what you would expect in a backpackers.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamSPA, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, May 31, 2010
I very much appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your comments relating to your stay. I am very sorry to read that there were many areas where we failed to provide you with services that would be expected from this Hotel.

We are currently in the process of improving the general appearance of the Hotel, with a modernisation of the guest lifts well underway and other projects for our guest rooms in the planning.

We value your comments, which will assist us to improve on our facilities.

Thank you again for your comments and I would welcome your personal contact to discuss your stay in more detail.

Kind regards,

Graham Black
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

For us it's simple
We only have 2 essential requirements when we book a hotel, a window that opens and one bed, so if it's a king that does not mean two beds pushed together.

We booked the Stanford because they advertised, via WOTIF, opening windows and a queen bed.
We got there at around 3pm, were told our room wasnt ready, then got to the room to find........ two double beds, no opening windows and looking straight at the wall of another building on one of their lowest levels. Nice
Probably okay if you are a couple of guys in town for a football game, hit the town and come back and pass out. For a couple not quite so suitable.

We went downstairs and were told all the WOTIF rooms are standard, in other words the rooms the hotel would not normally sell to their own regular customers. If we wanted a room with opening windows we needed to upgrade and pay.
We did and got a room on a higher floor, queen bed, with a window that opened.

If only we had got that to start with.

Otherwise room was okay, standard stuff, bathroom a bit dated. Oh and the "park view" is really just a view over the top of the parliament building which has a very ugly roof.

Overall if we had just got what we paid for it probably would have been a whole different experience. We have now decided we will never book through WOTIF again because this is not the first time we have been treated with substandard rooms and service. Don't do it, pay the extra $$ and then you can keep the hotel accountable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Stamford has reasons to claim being a four-star hotel and therefore shows no major shortcomings. However, I found enough minor ones during four nights in two different rooms:

- It is located at the north end of Adelaide’s business district, which dies out completely after business hours (except on Saturdays when Hindley Street behind the hotel turns into a noisy outdoor party for kids). If you do not want to have dinner at the hotel you have to take the free tram to Gouger Street (stop in front of Hilton) where you can find open restaurants.
- There are troubles if you want to sleep late because the chambermaids are quite noisy when they start cleaning adjacent rooms around 8 am.
- I complained to the reception about a) a light bulb that had gone out in the bathroom and b) the safe deposit box which the previous occupant had left locked. No actions were taken.
- I got a room with short notice (stranded in Adelaide by the Icelandic volcano) and the availability of rooms was uncertain throughout my stay. I can understand that, but the price of the room kept shifting between AUD 145 and AUD 275 depending on the perceived demand. Perhaps I am too sensitive, but it gave me a sense of greed.
- The simple plastic shower-curtain should not be found above 3+ stars; the tiles in the shower corner of my second room showed clear signs of long and dutiful service.
- The view form my fifth and sixth-floor rooms to the rear was a backyard and brick wall. Not quite an exciting four-star view.
- The mattresses in the beds were, as in most hotels, too hard and gave me a sore back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Address: 150 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#8 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#10 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#12 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stamford Plaza Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.