We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Adelaide to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We had a great weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband asked me what I wanted for my birthday, and I said slippers! He said no way, we should do something, so he didn't have to ask again, I was on the internet within a short time and booked a wonderful Escape Package at the Stamford Plaza in Adelaide. We found the staff to be extremely helpful, and friendly. We ate all our meals at the hotel (2 lunches, dinner & breakfast), and they were all top class. My husband and I would certainly recommend the Hotel, and look forward to the opportunity to stay again, hopefully before my next birthday!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Rosemary A

I really enjoyed reading your story and your request for slippers. Glad you enjoyed what your husband instead arranged for you instead for a nice brithday suprise.

Hopefully we will see you again for the next one and thank you for the fabulous review.

warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    285
    174
    70
    45
See reviews for
51
340
72
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We bought the Absolute Escape package with a river/park view room. Room was very comfortable and clean and tidy. Lovely view to parliament house gardens. The staff were very friendly, including the bar staff. Had a few cocktails at Cascades and they were excellent!

Buffet breakfast was great! Lots to choose from, all tasted good and the staff were busy but helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear pelicanoo


Great 5 star review thank you!!!!!!! The absolute escape package is fantastic value and the perfect package for a night away for a couple to relax and indulge a little.

We look forward to having you back at the hotel soon.

warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Hotel room was spotless. We got the room for a steal on a wotif mystery deal, so it was good value for money.

The views from our room were gorgeous. The bed was also comfortable, the only issue was that the location is not that great if you're on foot - it was hard to find a decent cafe or restaurant close by.

Staff were friendly and would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Dommus77

Great review and we are pleased you got one of our special deals and the servcie to match. There are a couple of gem cafes and restaurants very close to the hotel. Our concierge team will be more than happy to assist.
From January we are re-inventing our Swish restaurant to and Argeninean grill and I can assure you it will be the best restaurant on North terrace.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Went to TG's restaurant with a friend for the breakfast buffet at the Stamford Plaza through a Groupon voucher yesterday morning.

We waited for a very long time to be seated - the girl seating people seemed to just disappear for long periods of time after she had seated the customers.

We quickly noticed that there were various items from the buffet which had not been replenished (such as mushrooms which took more than 15 minutes of waiting and asking to be brought out) and pastries (which we were told they had simply "run out" of).

I saw a basket of small croissants, and grabbed one expecting it to be toasted or at least mildly warm - it was stone cold. I made the mistake of putting it through the conveyor toaster (as there were no staff around whom I could ask to warm it up), which was fine until it became lodged on somebody else's slice of toast, flipped over, and stuck up against the element, promptly catching fire. Realising my mistake, I promptly switched the toaster off and tried to find a member of staff to assist. After a few minutes another gentleman (seeing the situation) managed to find a waitress, who walked up, exclaimed that she wasn't trained to deal with fires, panicked, and immediately started fiddling with buttons, turning the toaster back on. I switched it off again for her, and suggested that she just find something to dislodge the croissant from the element, as this was what was causing the problem. After a while, she managed to find a knife, dislodged the croissant and the problem was immediately fixed. A bad mistake on my part, but was not dealt with appropriately from a staff point of view.

We noticed other people around us pulling staff aside to order eggs - not surprising considering the scrambled eggs in the buffet were extremely watery and barely palatable - so I asked for Eggs Benedict (medium to well done, as runny eggs make me sick), and when it eventually arrived the eggs were underdone, the muffins almost cold, and the "hollandaise" had solidified on top of the eggs. They were inedible, so I left them.

The bacon and hash browns were dripping with so much oil and fat that bread had been piled around the bottom of the buffet dishes to soak it up.

Fruit was roughly cut, often with skin/rind still attached which had to be cut off before it could be eaten.

Plates were only cleared towards the very end of our breakfast, as they were starting to pile up on the table (often with half eaten food which we didn't want to finish, such as the Eggs Benedict), and when they were cleared the waitress was apologetic but clearly rushed like all the other staff around.

Definitely seemed like staff both in and out of the kitchen were not on top of things, and this showed in the very questionable quality of food and service. Would definitely not have paid full price for a breakfast like this, I did not even feel that my $30 voucher (breakfast for two) was well spent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Airdre

I am very apologetic about your poor breakfast experience. We were simply underprepared for the number of guests that chose to dine with us on that dine which was well above our normal levels.

I have taken a number of steps to ensure this does not happen again with breakfast and to ensure that we look after and service our guests properly.

Airde a sincere thank you for you review.


Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a room on the 7th floor to the rear of the property. There was only a view of a brick wall. Perhaps we were given a room at the back as we had requested a quiet room.

The room was spacious and clean. It was one of the refurbished rooms. The bathroom was lovely and had all the normal amenities which one expects in a high end hotel. We booked on a mystery hotel deal and were told that we could not select the bed configuration. We were given a twin room but the twin beds were doubles. There was a selection of different pillows to choose from and the beds were comfortable. The tea and coffee making facilities were basic with only glasses, mugs and two teaspoons so no way to even make a snack in the room. Bath robes and slippers were provided. There was no artwork on the walls but there was what appeared to be a pinup board. Not sure what that was for :-)

Wifi and in house movies were at a charge but there was a modern flat screen TV.

The rooftop heated pool and spa looked clean and there was a wonderful view from there. There was also a gym and sauna on the roof.

Service was very good and we enjoyed the live music in the bar in the evening. We did not dine in the hotel this visit. The hotel is very convenient in its location close to the festival centre, the casino, the railway station and a tram stop. One stop away to shopping in Rundle mall or a couple of stops to Adelaide central markets and all the restaurants on Gouger St. Tram rides within the CBD are free.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over North Terrace but high up to avoid traffic noise. Ask for a refurbi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Rose G

I loved reading your detailed review and thank you for the 4 stars!!!

The location of the hotel as you described is perfect for those on business or visiting Adelaide for the first time. The live music in Cascades our lobby lounge is something we have every Friday and Saturday night which is great way to start your evening....or wind down!!

Rose G thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide.

Regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Very nostalgic, seems like I'm back in a hotel in the 90s - they really need to update the rooms. I'm sure it was great 20 years ago, and worth the price, but way overprice for what it is (like so many hotels in Australia). The saving grace was the great uninstructed views of the park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear nuhkol

We appreciate your feedback and I must say that Adelaide 10 months of the year presents great value in rates when compared with Sydney, Melbourne and particulary Perth. We have completed over 200 rooms as part of our Rooms refurbishment with updated and modern Air Conditioning units for all rooms.
We are also extending in January to update the Lobby and Swish restaurants which will be stunning when completed.

Nuhkol we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Adelaide. Contact me and I will ensure you go into one of our refurbished Premium rooms.

warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a room on the 19th floor looking north, so had a spectacular view. The room was a little dated, but still very clean and comfortable. Service was very friendly, would definitely stay there again.
My partner wanted to use the sauna after a very long day driving, went up to the 20th floor and found it cold. He turned it on, went back 20 minutes later and it was still only 40 degrees. Despite management saying it should only take 15 to 20 minutes to heat up, after 45 minutes, it hadn't even reached 60, at which point the spa area was about to close, so very disappointing.

Room Tip: High floor facing north! Quiet with a fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear phyllisbird

The views from the 19th floor are some of the best in Adelaide as they oversee the Oval and Government House.
I do apologise about the Sauna and it should not have taken that long to heat up to the optimum tempaerture. We are about to commence a refurbishment of our pool area with a brand new Hote Spa which iswill look amazing when it is completed in a few weeks time.

Thank you for your comments!!

Warm regards
Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Address: 150 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#8 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#10 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stamford Plaza Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.