We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover in Adelaide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Adelaide to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stopover in Adelaide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Stamford Plaza on North Terrace in Adelaide is a great place to stay when visiting the City of Churches and more. You are greeted at the door by the ever so polite and smiling Alex and taken to the reception staff who are more than happy to assist. The restaurants are great with a vast variety for all tastes. The rooms are clean, spacious and the location makes it very easy to get around the City.

Room Tip: I have stayed there a number of times and all rooms have been good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Diannae2252


Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate the time you have taken to place your comments onto Tripadvisor.

Regards

Carl Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    285
    174
    70
    45
See reviews for
51
340
72
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Combined birthday celebrations for my daughter's 13th and for my dear friend's 50th were recently held at the Stamford Plaza. When booking; the reservation team suggested the Celebration Package which we absolutely loved. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed with smiles from the concierge team. Our rooms were lovely with our robes, slippers and magazines on the bed ready for us to indulge in. The girls loved the High Tea served in the Cascades Lounge and the Sunday morning buffet breakfast was delicious as well. Our one night away really wasn't long enough, although we all felt we had had a mini holiday. And the 'birthday girls' loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sharon S

Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate the time you have taken to place your comments onto Tripadvisor.

Regards

Carl Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Warm friendly greeting but very professional. Disappointed that the cocktail bar was reserved for private functions so we had to have cocktails in our room instead (and pay the surcharge) but other than that we had a great time. It was very clean and neat, jnr spa suite was perfect for our anniversary night of indulgence and included complimentary sparkling wine. Very comfy king sized bed with the nicest pillows ever and a breakfast fit for a king included in the room rate. We will most certainly be staying again as soon as we can. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra and get the spa suite, its so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Kristy C

Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate the time you have taken to place your comments onto Tripadvisor.

Regards

Carl Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel for my first visit to Adelaide for a seminar. Enjoyed my stay immensely as I got an upgrade and free daily breakfast. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful with every choice you would want and a chef to cook your eggs to order. Room was clean, quiet and king sized bed very comfortable. Hotel was centrally located and within walking distance to Festival centre, museum and Rundle Mall. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed on 14th floor with park views. Windows are double glazed so room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Christeen1038

Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate the time you have taken to place your comments onto Tripadvisor.

Regards

Carl Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I normally stay at The Hilton in Adelaide but changed my mind on this business trip due to the works that i thought were still happening at Victoria Square.

I was really glad i chose The Stamford Plaza. The staff are really a great asset to this hotel. The check in staff and concierge team were simply excellent. They really were brilliant. Well Done!

I was on Level 12 and in a refurbed room which was really comfortable. I have stayed at the Stamford Grand at Glenelg and that was faultless too. However, why both hotels want to display those tacky notice/cork boards in their rooms is a mystery to me. The new decor, beddng and bathroom were all very good. I had a good night's sleep and the heating was well controlled and easy to use.

Once again, a brilliant hotel that was well positioned for my business appointments and with staff who all deserve to be praised. I will definately be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Businessclass3

Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate the time you have taken to place your comments onto Tripadvisor.

Regards

Carl Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My Husbad and I decided to do a road trip from Perth - Melbourne with a stop over in Adelaide
This was the highlight of our trip the staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble the room was lovely and clean and the breakfast was scrumptious, our only regred is that we only had one night here,We would like to say thankyou to all of the staff and hope that managment acknowledge all of you for your hard work they are very lucky that they have such dedicated staff, Thanks again Pamela & Anthony

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Pamela C

Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate the time you have taken to place your comments onto Tripadvisor.

Regards

Carl Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed one night on a business trip. The initial room given was wheelchair accessible (which seemed odd considering I don't require that type of room. The same happened to my travel companion in her room). My issue was the shower, so I asked to be moved. It happened promptly and I was moved to a corner room which apparently is larger. The room was dated, with gaps in the baseboards and mould in the bathroom. The fan in the bathroom had about 1 inch of dust. The bed and linens were comfy. The restaurant was good - not spectacular but good.

Overall an average experience for this weary business traveller. I wouldn't come here for a vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Javagirl08

Thank you for your comments. i addressed these issues at the time of your review and I can assure you the hotel has improved the standards.

Regards

Carl Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Address: 150 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#8 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#10 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stamford Plaza Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.