We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was pleasant, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Adelaide to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Our $1 breakfast is back!
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Balnarring, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It was pleasant, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Second time to Adelaide,stayed at Sebel Playford last time and couldn't fault it, thought I would try Stamford this time to compare. The staff at front desk were friendly and professional, room service was attentive although I felt the meals were quite expensive for what they were, breakfast however was reasonable. Bed was comfortable, room quite spacious, view was lovely. The location was great.
The hotel had a smell throughout, it was like the smell you find at country town motels, the rooms were noisy, I could hear other rooms doors closing in the corridor.
Thought it strange and tacky that the tea/coffee making facility was in the wardrobe and you had to get it out to make anything, there was plenty of room to have a designated table in the room to have it set up on, didn't use it as I thought it was a bit unhygienic. Once again where ever I stay it seems to be the norm that housekeeping don't check under beds, there was a ping pong ball under mine, is it so hard to check under beds when cleaning a room, or vacuum under it ?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Cathandkids

A sincere thank you for your review !! I totally agree it is not too hard for a housekeeper to look under a bed....I have addressed this with the team and it does form part of our daily tasks.......please accept my apologies.

We have some great food offerings inthe hotel with Swish offering a Bistro menu with a good range in pricing, Rickshaws which is a taste of Asia (Mani's our Chefs butter chicken is the best in town.....he won't give me the recipe) and then we have Terrace Gardens which has our buffet breakfast and on Friday and Saturdays a Seafood Buffet.
Cathandkids we can offer alternative items that are not on the menu.....we would love the opportunity.

I have taken your other comments which we appreciate because we put our guests at the heart of everything we do and are constantly looking at ways we can improve.

Thank You.

Warm Regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    318
    184
    73
    46
See reviews for
60
384
75
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is part of a large chain, this property was third rate, renovations air conditioning like a wind tunnel, a simple request for coffee and toast required 5 phone calls and 4 deliveries could not recommend Faulty Towers would have been better run

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Christopher M

A warm welcome to tripadvisor for your first review and I thank you for your feedback.

In the first instance can I offer my sincere apologies for the incident with room service which is simply unacceptable.....I am now aware of what happened and have dealt with the communication breakdown internally to ensure it does not happen again. Getting the order right first time`is fundementally important.

As you mentioned in your review we are upgrading a number of our rooms which have been receiving great feedback from guests. Included in this program are the air conditioning units which are being upgraded to become more user friendly.

Christopher M if you can please contact me on carlforrest@spa.stamford.com.au so that we may have the opportunity on your next visit to Adelaide to make amends.


Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed here a few times the rooms are refurbished and average size for a hotel of its original age. Still has areas that need to be modernisation. Checking in is quick and easy. Gave the buffet breakfast a miss and had room service alacarte, instead price a little steep but generously proportioned.

Rooftop pool area is quite nice and gym ok.

Walking distance to best adelaide attraction being in north terrace and around the corner to rubble mall and shops in town.

Room Tip: Rooms are ok, request room facing north terrace - they are quiet whether on lower levels or higher l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear gonz-83

Reviews from senior contributors are highly valued and we thank you sincerely for the great comments you have made.
We have just installed our new room service breakfast menu with a clear direction to move away from the traditional bacon and eggs.....my personal favourite is the breakfast burrito!

The refurbished ”Premier” rooms are looking amazing and as mentioned in your comments a great location to explore Adelaide from Rundle mall to the Adelaide oval.

You must try Rickshaw restaurant on your next visit which does some of the best south east Asian cuisine in town.

Gonz-83 we look forward to welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide.

warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in winter, yet the room was nicely heated.
Housekeepers didn't change our towels on one day and we had to deal with damp ones. We dined in 2 restaurants. Swish is a casual setting we dined there 3 times, the shared tapas platter was great but the other meals were very average. The pork dish you couldn't even cut with a knife it was so tough, crackling rubbery and hard. The cocktail lounge was great on a Saturday night for a couple of drinks, the soloist guitarist was amazing, great voice and fantastic songs. We went to the Rickshaw Indian/Vietnamese restaurant, now this had amazing service and food, recommend the share rickshaw platter enough for 3-4 people. There was a gaming room also but there is a homeless problem in this street and there was alot of homeless people walking in looking for money and using the facilities, which was not limited just to this hotel, we saw this at a lot of places around town.
Gym on the 20th floor with heated pool was convenient with fresh towels. All the front desk and concierge staff were very friendly. Good location if there on business, convention centre just down the road as well as local bus stop and tram stop. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Being in Adelaide there is not much of a view, it wouldn't matter what room you were in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Tracey K

Thank you for your review on the hotel and I am glad you enjoyed the variety of our food and beverage offerings....I will get that pork dish fixed....crackling should “crackle” and melt in your mouth.....thank you for letting me know!!
Mark and the ‘Rickshaw team’ were very please to read your review and they run a very professional team with some great food represented from South East Asia.

Regarding the Gaming area there are plans in motion to remove this area into something more reflective of the Stamford Brand so please keep an eye on our website as it will be sure to impress.

One thing I did like to see from your comments is the team delivering on the service elements throughout the hotel.....our goal to is to be exceptional in every sense in pursuit of creating a hotel that guests love.

Traceyk a sincere thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The husband stayed here for 3 nights last week on business and couldn't have been more happy. Great service right from the moment his car pulled up outside the front door until the moment he checked out and drove off again. The management and staff could not have been more obliging and he was delighted to be given a refurbished room. He recommends this hotel for ease of access to the city life and the airport. He will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear ERA Darwin

What a headline and thank you for a great 5 star review. Your feedback has been shared the Stamford team and in particular the concierge team.
The sense of arrival sets the tone for the stay and we have a great Concierge team who pride themselves on their customer service. They are more than happy to direct you to one of our great food beverage outlets....the Seafood Buffet on Friday and Saturday nights is always a winner. No task is too big for our guests as we strive to be "Exceptional in every sense".


Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Anyone travelling to Adelaide and wanting somewhere to stay in the city, with all facilities then this place is for you. Staff are friendly, efficient and go out of their way to help you. Just park the car and walk to appointments, shopping, dining, theatre, parks, tourist attractions and sporting venues.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Terre W
What a great headline!! We believe we have the best location with great access to the Trams (which are free in the CBD), Convention centre and the main business precincts. You ticked all these off with your review.......thank you!!!!
Terre W....we truly love finding ways to assist our guests with their stay whether it is for business or pleasure. We thank you for recognising this with your five star review.

You must try Cascade our Lobby lounge for a drink on your next visit...Amy makes a great cocktail and with the personalised table service you can really unwind after a hard day at the office.

I and the team look forward to welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest.
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great location in Adelaide with walking distance to all major attractions in Adelaide City. So much changes from the first stay a couple of years ago. The staff were so polite and friendly now. Will certainly come back again. Thank you!

Room Tip: Higher floor with nice park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear TJ2323

Welcome to Tripadvisor for your first review and the 5 star rating is greatly appreciated!!!

We have made signicifant improvements to our offering and in particular our soft service skills to ensure we exceed guests requirements. The team were very pleased this was recognised in your review.

On your next trip I recommend trying our restaurant Swish which has the "Magnificent Burger" selection representing flavours from around the world. You even get a complimentary Coopers beer with it.....very Adelaide!!!

TJ2323 please keep up the reviews and we look forward to looking after you again in the future.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Address: 150 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#7 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#10 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#10 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Family Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stamford Plaza Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Stamford Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.