We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Save Saved
You added Stamford Plaza Adelaide to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 55 hotels in Adelaide
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Enjoyed this hotel. It is in an excellent position for exploring the city, and the room we stayed in was nice. We felt we had a good rate with the $1 breakfast and parking. We had room service one night and the chips were very nice. There was a good selection for breakfast as well. On checkout a lady was trying to push in front of me, and this was noticed and she was asked to wait. Small things like that make a good impression. Thanks!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable and you received value for money with the $1 breakfast deal. I agree we are fortunate to be located in such a central position within walking distance of the various iconic CBD features. Thank you for the compliment on our breakfast selection and our room service, it is appreciated. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service so I’m glad that you were satisfied with the excellent service provided by our very friendly staff during your stay. I trust that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide in the future.

Kind regards
Peter Gee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    219
    145
    62
    39
See reviews for
40
277
62
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

On our first trip to Adelaide, via Indian Pacific then Murray Princess Cruise afterwards, we found that the Stamford Plaza was an excellent choice, even though it was included in the package. It was so central to everything and we could not fault the staff in any way. They were all so helpful from the "front of house" staff to the pleasant ladies who cleaned our rooms. We requested our room to be on the same floor as friends we were travelling with, and that was arranged immediately, both before the cruise and afterwards. Our first couple of nights we had views over the River Torrens and beyond, and on the last night, we had views on the other side where we could see in the distance, Glenelg and the ocean. We found the beds very comfortable and could not fault the amenities in our room. We would definitely stay at the Stamford Plaza again. This trip was our first to Adelaide, and yes, we would come back again and stay at the Stamford Plaza. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am delighted to learn that you had a great stay with us and you enjoyed the views. We appreciate your compliments on our rooms and the customer service that you experienced from our friendly staff. May we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide some time soon.
Kind regards
Peter Gee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent three nights at the Adelaide Stamford Plaza with our two daughters (ages 8 and 11). We arrived without a booking and were given a fantastic rate that included full buffet breakfast. Because we were travelling without a vehicle, our free parking was converted into food/beverage credits - another bonus.

We were very comfortable in a large room with 2 dbl beds and the kids loved the rooftop swimming pool, especially swimming at night. The central location close to the restaurants in Rundle Street and Gouger Street meant that we had plenty of places to eat within close walking distance. The buffet breakfast was great - so much variety and excellent food and service.

Instead of a vehicle we were all riding pushbikes and the concierge's desk provided locked storage for all four bikes and our small bike trailer. Staff were very helpful in storing and retrieving them whenever we required.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it does help other visitors make their choice of hotel when visiting Adelaide and it is always pleasing to receive positive feedback. I agree that we do enjoy a great location in the CBD with great views and we are always delighted to accommodate our guests needs. I am pleased that the guest room met your expectations and thank you for your positive comments on our buffet breakfast, it is appreciated. We pride ourselves on excellent food and service and was delighted to note that our staff were very helpful. May we look forward to welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide some time soon.
Kind regards
Peter Gee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I checked in this hotel on 16 Dec 2012 and checked out on 20 Dec 2012. My daughter visited us and slept in our hotel room on 16 Dec 2012. She left us at 6 a.m. and flew back to Melbourne for working on 17 Dec 2012. We requested an extra bed for the night of 16 Dec 2012 at a charge of A$55. As we had pre-paid the hotel room charge, we paid the A$55 in cash when we checked out the hotel on 20 Dec 2012.

We went to Melbourne and stayed there for another 5 days. After going back to Hong Kong, my husband discovered that the hotel had charged A$7.11 to his credit card. We then sent a email to the hotel asking for the nature of the charge. The hotel emailed a statement to us on 15 Jan 2013, showing that the charge was for “Mini bar – Red Bull”. We sent emails to the hotel on Jan 15, Jan 21 and Jan 28, 2013 telling the hotel that we did not consume anything of the mini bar. Despite the amount involved is small, we requested that the hotel refund the A$7.11 erroneously charged to my husband’s credit card, .on the principle of equity. Up till now, the hotel has not made any response to our 3 emails.

When hotel guests check out of the hotel, the hotel should have the proper procedure in ascertaining there was no lost of towels, no breakage of glass cups and no consumption of the mini bar stuff etc in the hotel room concerned. Any additional hotel charge should be agreed with the hotel guests before issuing a bill (if necessary) for the settlement by the hotel guests. It is unjustifiable for the hotel to charge its guests after their checking out of the hotel. It would create a lot of unnecessary disputes.

My husband and I have had the experience of staying at hotels for more than 100 times. However, this is our first experience of being erroneously charged to our credit card after the hotel stay. We are quite disappointed with this so called 5 star hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Mrs So
I was most concerned to learn of your dissatisfaction following you stay in December. Our records indicate that the incorrect charges were refunded to your credit card on the 21st Jan. and then we contacted you shortly thereafter to advise you of this, and to extend our apologies for this error. I believe that you should have received this correspondence prior to your online posting and we certainly apologise for any disappointment or inconvenience caused.
Kind regards
Peter Gee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Having a wedding anniversary to celebrate but no real time to travel led us to stay local and just head out for the night. The Stamford is a place we had stayed previously, once at Glenelg and multiple times at the Plaza on North Terrace.

Although we had no issues with staff on previous occasions, I must admit on this occasion the staff performance was exceptional. It was mainly the staff in the Cascades Lounge and TG's breakfast area that stood out. They were dressed immaculately, very polite and professional, the word classy seems appropriate.

I'm normally one to get annoyed by disinterested or arrogant staff, it is a pleasure to write a compliment where it is due.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest
We are very thankful for your positive feedback on the hotel and your honest comments will help us continue to strive to provide service excellence and a memorable experience. We are always delighted to hear that our staff are upholding our exceptional service standards.. Thank you again for your positive comments, they are appreciated and I trust that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide in the future.
Kind regards
Peter Gee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Had a great stay, got a good deal at wotif. Hotel and room as expected for Stamford. Had to pay extra for parking and had difficulties parking . Great position for the last stage of the tour down under, and cycling friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable and you received value for money. We are fortunate to be located in such a central position which met your expectations. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service and was pleased that you were satisfied with the excellent service provided by our very friendly staff during your stay. I trust that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide in the future.

Kind regards
Peter Gee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I agree with all the negative comments on this hotel. The rooms and especially the bathrooms are very tired but the bed was comfy but the need for an old fashioned notice on the wall escapes me! I got a good deal on the net but as always you get a poor view out the window. Staff were friendly enough but a bit robotic and the hotel always always seemed to be busy. The was a function on in the bar area and it all just seemed to be a bit down market, the venue lacked class. I didn't try the in house restaurants preferring to explore other venue's and the hotel is well located on North Terrace. If you are looking for luxury it is not here but it is convenient for many things to do so you pay your money (and you need a good deal on the net!) and you take your choice but this wouldn't be my first choice.

Room Tip: A cheap room on the net means a poor view, remember this when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Please accept my apologies for the dissatisfaction that you experienced during your stay. We agree that our location is ideally located within walking distance of the various iconic CBD features and you will be pleased to note that we are currently undertaking a refurbishment of our guest rooms. This is well underway with over half of our rooms now completed and the results are tremendous. I trust that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the newly refurbished Stamford Plaza Adelaide in the future.
Kind regards
Peter Gee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stamford Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Adelaide Hotel
Stamford Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Stamford Plaza Hotel
Address: 150 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#12 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stamford Plaza Adelaide 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Stamford Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.