We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant - with the odd irritant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Adelaide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Adelaide to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Adelaide
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Waymouth St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Allegra Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant - with the odd irritant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A good location and comfortable, spacious room. Reception staff very friendly and professional. Decor throughout a bit heavy on 'bling' but otherwise quite tasteful. Unfortunately the hotel's efforts to be innovative seem sometimes to misfire: after perhaps as many as 6 stays here I'm still unable to figure out how the 'hi tech' lighting controls in the room actually function; and a bathroom tap that projects water upwards makes filling a glass or kettle an interesting challenge!
Overall, worth considering for a central Adelaide hotel if you think the price is right (and you enjoy a challenge when it comes to lighting).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    368
    120
    44
    40
See reviews for
56
409
68
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hadn't stayed there before, booked on Wot-if so reasonable rate for two nights, no view but to be expected for cheaper rate. Strange feature of the Deluxe King Room is the glass wall through to the marble bathroom! OK so it's all marble, but thank goodness I was travelling solo, who wants visibilty through to a bathroom/toilet??
Ordered Room Service at 10pm after I checked in at 9:30pm, for myself and guest. Food inedible, a shame, I put a note on the tray but no response. Awkward to complain when I had a guest there.
Room and bathroom sparklingly clean, great shower and bath, plenty of towels and supplies.
Other aspects of room very good, easy wifi internet. Pleasant front desk person helped with airline check-in and took details of poor room service. I'd probably stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

There are much better hotels in Adelaide at this price point (see my other reviews). Service was fine. The room was large, with a huge bathroom. Room was very clean. We stayed on a high floor, so could not hear any traffic noise at all. However, the walls were quite thin (e.g. we could hear the gentleman next door answering his phone). The bed was comfortable. The hotel itself is a little dated. Location is very central - a 10 minute walk to Chinatown.

Buffet breakfast was disappointing. A small selection of average food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked and were given a room with twin beds on a high floor and whilst the room is quite small, the bathroom more than makes up for it in space. However the large cracks in the basin were very shoddy and the basin needs replacing.

There are no hooks for your towels or bags at the pool and there is little space between the edge of the pool and the walls. So my towel and gear got wet.

We only ate in the hotel once and that was in the Lounge. The food was really delicious and reasonably priced. Overall I found the hotel well suited to our needs, the location was excellent and the staff pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Having read the many reviews many cold and some warm, was not sure what I would encounter on a recent roadshow. I did not eat or drink inhouse but did sleep in the very comfortable bed, enjoyed the bath and left refreshed and happy with the great front desk service.
The location is amongst some great watering holes and quality eateries, so there was no need to roll the dice by eating inhouse.
I can recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Staff and Management unfriendly, indifferent, disinterested. stuffed up booking, stuffed up early check in. Room was stuffed, faulty fridge, faulty kettle, faulty A/Conditioner fan, hard bed. Room noisy, above hotel A/C plant, noisy water drain pipe in wall behind bed head . For food and drink go across street, don't buy drinks at hotel's bar... you will regret it.

Room Tip: choose a different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It was my anniversary and decided to treat my beautiful partner to some 5 star treatment and pamper her with a week-end at a 5 star hotel.
Never heard of the rendezvous hotel before and decided to give it a go, what a huge mistake that was!
We waited for our room to be ready and was directed to sit in the lobby bar for over an hour, they did give us a free beverage. The staff that was behind the bar was terrible and needs to learn what the difference with the wines are. Got our order wrong.
We booked into the glasshouse restaurant for a special treat as we dont dine at fancy restaurants that often. The restaurant looked nice with a big wine display at the entrance.
Simple - the food was disgusting and the service was terrible! for what they were asking us to pay was a joke.
We get better meals across the counter at our local pub, and thats no joke.
It has made us really look at hotels that say they are 5 star, when you experience what we had for what prices we paid is simply NOT 5 star!
The manager in the restaurant was rude and arrogant. We heard her talking rudely to her staff and we and other diners could hear her, at least have the decency to do it behind closed doors!
The hotel needs to train the managers better, as paying customers we shouldnt have to experience that.
Thanks for ruining our special treat! Next treat we will probably stay at a backpackers!

Room Tip: Higher floor that doesnt have hair in the beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Adelaide

Address: 55 Waymouth St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Allegra Hotel)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Adelaide will impress you with its clever blend of smart contemporary design with opulent European style. Our focus is on making travel easier and for you so you can work hard and relax afterwards while enjoying our excellent service. Located in the heart of the 'city of churches', the gateway to the famed Barossa Valley wine district, this cosmopolitan hotel provides a range of elegant guest rooms and exquisite suites all within easy walking distance of the Adelaide Convention Centre, the Gouger Street Restaurant precinct, North Terrace and Rundle Mall shopping. Facilities include a gymnasium, swimming pool, meeting rooms, The Glasshouse Restaurant and Lounge Bar 55. Rendezvous Hotel Adelaide's 202 luxurious rooms and suites all feature the very latest in-room facilities and services and are ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Allegra Adelaide
Hotel Rendezvous Allegra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.