We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence 2014
singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We were a party of 3 ladies, and we shared a studio spa suite (room 226) at the beginning of our trip and again at the end of the trip. we were given a corner suite, and it was plenty of space for 3 of us to move around, even when a rollaway bed was installed inthe bedroom. the bathroom was big, which I liked a lot. it meant that I could move around with the other gals sharing the mirror without us bumping into each other that much. and we ladies use the bathroom a lot. the staff were wonderful during the first stay. Marco, the hotel ambassador, and peter the friendly Indonesian at the concierge were very helpful with tips and suggestions on where to visit and how to get around. it was the friendly staff that convinced us to stay at sebel at the end of our trip. unfortunately the second stay wasn't as impressive as the first, as the batch of staff was different people and they were less friendly and helpful. and the room given (room 221) was slightly smaller. we had breakfast on the first stay, and dinner on the second day. Food was excellent. I'm quite critical of food quality, and I have to say the variety was fairly reasonable for a breakfast buffet, while the cuisine at dinner was delicious. I was quite happy we decided to eat in. the only drawback was finding the hotel along the main street. we passed the hotel without realising we did as the main entrance was off North Terrace, and the name was not prominent along the main road. location wise, it is very convenient, a stone's throw to the tram station, a few stops to central market and chinaatown, a short walk to rundle mall. all in all, it was a very pleasant place to stay, and we felt not an ounce of stress, thanks to the warm welcome given by the staff during our first stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    392
    114
    22
    21
See reviews for
137
617
82
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Have stayed here 3 times now and it is a good business hotel. Big rooms, or suites actually. Located right in the centre so close to everything. Bit pricey for the internet connection but good room service menu (could do with more choice for us vegetarians). Beware you dont get the Qantas frequent fliyer points if you have a corporate rate and considering I am paying $185 a night I think that is a bit mean.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
516 reviews 516 reviews
173 hotel reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
457 helpful votes 457 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

I was touring Adelaide on my own after some business commitments. This smallish boutique hotel was nice enough with traditionally furnished rooms, good housekeeping, and the amenities you expect ina business class hotel (tea/coffee maker; minibar.) My standard room was spacious enough. The only real downside: ugly charge for internet access in the room -- no thanks.

Dinner here was excellent, which made me want to try the cooked breakfast in the morning (also excellent.) Still, it was easy enough to walk to other cafes, especially those that could do a coffee and muffin in the morning and provide complimentary internet access.

The hotel itself is well located to Adelaide attractions, shops, cafes, etc. I did not have a car, but seeing the sights from this hotel was easy enough to do. Friendly, helpful service throughout, including travel advice.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

I just got back from a trip that took me and my family through Adelaide. We only stayed for a night at the Sebel but really enjoyed ourselves. We dined at the trendy hotel restaurant and were wowed by the cuisine. Check in was smooth, concierge helpful and the room spacious. We slept well and went for their recommended breakfast destination (other than their own), the Citrus Cafe over on Hutt Street. Fabulous. The only negative was the $20 charge for parking. We were from out of town, arrived in the dark, and really had little choice but to go with it. But overall, the Sebel was very good. We'd easily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

The location is excellent - but there are a number of other hotels equally convenient any of which is likely to prove preferable. Poorly maintained generally - everything a bit "tired". Housekeeping service farcical to say the least - requests for rectification (just one example - a hand towel each - not too demanding surely?) met with apologies and promises but no activity. Plumbing problems in the bathroom (water coming up through the floor; blocked handbasin; unpleasant odours) fared slightly better but remained unresolved. Obviously the breakfast menu has changed since other reviewers stayed there - limited choice and of pretty average quality. The "Hotel Ambassador" (?senior concierge) tried hard to be helpful but was let down by poor backup and indifferent staff. The internet access is ridiculously expensive - rather piggyback on the wifi of the Accor Hotel (next door) and pay by credit card. We checked out a day early. [For 5* dining try either Cos in Leigh Street or Jolley's Boathouse on the river bank - for cheaper eats it's not necessary to go further than Rundle Street where there's a good variety of eateries, Greek, Italian, modern Aus, etc: all within a short walk].

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

Stayed here in April 2009. The hotel is well positioned and almost anywhere of interest is in walking distance - the river, the Adelaide Oval, North Adelaide and the great restaurants around the market and the university.

I recommend La Trattoria. 348 King William St Adelaide, if you like Italian food, by the way - well worth a 20 min walk from North Terrace towards the South Terrace. The Amalfi in Frome St. is very good too!

The tram stop to Glenelg is outside the hotel, and worth a ride.

The hotel is clean, friendly and the breakfasts are superb. The bar is convivial and overall the hotel was an ideal place from which to see a city I'd not been to before.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

For location and comfort, I would certainly recommend the Sebel Playford.

It was our first trip to Adelaide and the hotel provided a welcome base for a 2 night stay. The city is easily walkable from the hotel and good shopping and restaurant areas are within easy reach, as are the river and North Adelaide.

The hotel itself is conventional enough, but comfort compensates and the service couldn't have been friendlier. Arriving jetlagged from England, we were able to check in early and told we'd been upgraded to a suite - what welcome news!

The rate I'd booked included a sumptuous breakfast each morning - definitely recommended. We ate each evening in Italian restaurants in the city, the Amalfi and La Trattoria - both excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection

Address: 120 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford Adelaide is a 5-star hotel set in the heart of Adelaide’s vibrant North Terrace, opposite the Convention Centre and City CasinoElegant 5-star hotel with superior accommodation, conference & recreational facilities, located in the heart of Adelaide. Winner of 2012 Best Deluxe Accommodation at the AHA SA Awards and 2011 Best Luxury Accommodation at the SA Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.