We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Had a really great stay at the Sebel. We had a nice surprise of an upgrade to the Loft Suite (highly recommend this room). Great facitlities, amenities and a pillow menu. Had the best sleep I have had in ages.

The buffet breakfast was the best we have had in Adelaide. Great selection and of a high quality. Coffee was good too.

This hotel is in a great location. It is directly across from the Casino, tram stop and a 5 minute walk to Rundle Mall.

We will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    344
    100
    19
    17
See reviews for
115
516
76
288
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Had a great stay at the Sebel for New Years Eve. The suite was comfortable and importantly clean. Check in was very efficient even though there was a crowd booking in for the big night. The facilities offered here are of a night standard even the room service menu looked yummy. The dining room and ballroom were both booked for this night and enjoyed by all. The morning breakfast was excellent

Room Tip: all rooms seemed to be quiet but it is always nice to upgrade from a standard room. If you want a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just a minute walk to the Tram and 2 minutes to the River Torrens. The staff were warm and friendly and had no trouble remembering our names... even when we bumped into one randomly a few blocks away!

The gym was small and old but the equipment works well.

We had a loft room (2 levels) and felt straight at home. The housecleaning was impeccable and the room service came with a smile. They provide fresh milk every morning for free on request which saves that extra bit of hassle if you want a relaxing morning coffee or cereal before venturing out.

The walls are pretty thin and we stayed over NYE so there were some rowdy neighbours and noisy pipes that kept us awake a bit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I am hard pressed to find fault with this hotel. The staff are efficient and friendly. The rooms are tastefully appointed with a very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom and bathroom products. The fitness centre has adequate facilities including a pool and tiny sauna and the breakfasts are some of the best I have had the pleasure recently of experiencing in Australia. The added bonus is the reasonable price charged for the rooms. I have no hesitation in recommending the Playford as the best place to stay in Adelaide.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband & I stayed here beginning December after reading the excellent reviews & we were not disappointed. The staff were warm & welcoming & made u feel as though you had chosen well right from the start. Our room was on the little courtyard level at the back, right next to the aircon units (I think that is what they were) & this did concern me they may have been noisy but this was not the case at all. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable, the servicing excellent & we slept very well indeed.
The only downside was having to step into the high bath for a shower with no adequate disabled handrails, especially when you had to step out into a wet bathroom as the shower screen did not keep the water in. I have had both hips replaced so felt very unsafe every time i showered & I am bemused why good hotels have this silly shower in the bath step up in this day & age. Having said that the bathroom was a good size & very good in every other aspect.
We ate in the restaurant downstairs & that was also excellent & once again the staff very friendly & attentive.
The hotel is in a brilliant location & is close to all transport.
I would not stay elsewhere when in Adelaide now & my husband who is a regular traveller for business will now start using the Sebel as well.

Room Tip: If having trouble getting into baths ask for a room that has a shower not located in the bathtub if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kew, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Sebel Playford offered a great deal on Australia Day last year. My partner and I enjoyed our stay, but some of the decorations were a bit over the top. The parking is in a garage across the street. The attractions are all an easy walk away--whether you are in Adelaide for the cricket, the famous parade, the museums (a must!), dining or shopping. The staff were helpful for the most part and made the stay a very enjoyable one.

The room was big enough, but I was hoping for that little bit more--perhaps because of its high ratings.

Nice location!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Good value for money, nice location, good breakfast. The interior of the rooms is a bit old fashioned, but all kept really nice and the bathrooms looks like its really been refurbished. If you're looking for somewhere in Adelaide you could do a lot worse!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection

Address: 120 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford Adelaide is a 5-star hotel set in the heart of Adelaide’s vibrant North Terrace, opposite the Convention Centre and City CasinoElegant 5-star hotel with superior accommodation, conference & recreational facilities, located in the heart of Adelaide. Winner of 2012 Best Deluxe Accommodation at the AHA SA Awards and 2011 Best Luxury Accommodation at the SA Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.