We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Very unimpressed with this hotel. Was really looking forward to experiencing true luxury, but unfortunately it was a disappointment. The room wasn't sufficiently cleaned when I arrived and although the issues were fixed, there was no apology. The room service food was greasy and the breakfast buffet was virtually empty 30 min before breakfast was due to finish. A few of the staff were lovely, but it seemed like they work with no support from management. I was send a survey after my stay were I listed my concern, but is yet to receive a reply.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    341
    99
    18
    17
See reviews for
115
511
76
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Maybe it was because the Australian cricket team was staying there or maybe it was because the hotel was fully booked, from a staff and service point it felt like I was staying in a hotel of 2 star level. As simple as changing a light bulb took 3 calls and than it was all too hard and after lodging the problem in the morning being told at night that due to a communication error at the front desk they didn't tell the maintenance staff and the front desk couldn't do anything that night and their reason because the maintenance staff had all gone home. That was one example of terrible service I experienced all weekend. Premium hotel really 2 star treatment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel on a regular basis for the past eleven years.
Staff have a low turn over indicating a good work environment which translates to friendly efficient service. Rooms recently refurbished. One of the best breakfasts in the southern hemisphere, (but get down early). Very well located for the city,and on the tram line.

Room Tip: North terrace front apartment with balcony, for a view, and a leisurely drink before dinner. Suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I stay at the sebel playford each time i come to Adelaide. The staff welcome me by name and greet me as a close friend without being overpowering. they go out of their way to ensure i enjoy myself while in the hotel. i appreciate the occasional upgrades and the food quality is fine dining at its best. the decor is really nice especially in the communal area downstairs. it is a nice safe haven for those travelling alone and the price is very reasonable. congratulations to the management and staff. for those wishing to stay in an historic building with all modern comforts i highly recommend this hotel.lexie b

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Premium room cost without premium room facilities. Numerous complaints went unanswered and unresolved. Staff just did not seem interested in hearing about room deficiencies or equipment malfunctions and did not pass on messages so that complaints had to be remade.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here on our wedding night and it was amazing. Our room was a suite with seperate bedroom, a balcony overlooking the city and a spa bath. Hotel was clean and modern, staff were fantastic. Best buffet breakfast in town. Hoping to return for an anniversary one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

What is there left to say after all the fabulous reviews...and the Playford is very proud of their TripAdvisor ratings, displaying the sign at the front desk. Am I little cynical of staff trying to over do it? Maybe, but the lengths the Concierge went to to arrange a daytrip for us was impressive. I particularly wanted to visit a specific vineyard and had no luck contacting them in NZ so thought would have better luck on arrival. The concierge was only able to confirm what I had already discovered but is efforts and communication were tireless and he had alternatives and options for me to cover all bases.
The breakfast is stunning, and even more so when the Australian Cricket Team are in residence...the setup is beautiful and they should really have a time limit on how long you can stay...maybe that's why I couldn't do the Lyndoch Bakery justice.
Few short minutes around the corner to Rundell Street Mall....tram up the road a bit...great location. Fabulous gym and pool complex and a complimentray coffee in the bar/restaurant....nice touch.
Pillow menu! Not sure if there is a cost attached, wasn't clear...but everything from lavendar to magnetic..what fun!
Cities are cities and I suggest getting out of town and exploring...hire a car if you're not doing the wineries!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection

Address: 120 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford Adelaide is a 5-star hotel set in the heart of Adelaide’s vibrant North Terrace, opposite the Convention Centre and City CasinoElegant 5-star hotel with superior accommodation, conference & recreational facilities, located in the heart of Adelaide. Winner of 2012 Best Deluxe Accommodation at the AHA SA Awards and 2011 Best Luxury Accommodation at the SA Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.