We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

As an Accor Advantage member, up until now, Adelaide only offered the Mercure so the Sebel is a welcome addition to our choice of hotels. The room was excellent. Comfortable king size bed, flatscreen TV, good lighting, reasonable sized desk and a couch. The wardrobe had plenty of quality hangers and an in room safe. The bathroom was well supplied with good towels, shampoo etc. Even the soap was a reasonable size instead of those tiny little squares in other hotels. The make up/shaving mirror and night light for the bathroom were welcome additions. The room was quiet ; quiet aircon and we heard little from the street or from the hallway. In fact the quietest hotel room we have encountered for a long time. Two small things we could suggest. As the shower is over the bath, a second grab rail positioned to get in and out would be good for all we retirees staying in hotels with showers over the bath. There is one already which was a help for me recuperating from an ankle injury but a second one would have been perfect. Also we enjoyed the rain head shower but question how this was consistent with the hotel's "Green Policy".
The bar and restaurant were most enjoyable, the "Express Breakfast" a clever alternative to the usual sit down extravaganza. AND the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. We enjoyed our two night stay very much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    344
    99
    18
    17
See reviews for
115
513
76
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

The staff anticipated our needs & acted quickly. We will stay here again the next time we're in Adelaide. We also appreciated the wine list and the quality of room service. The location of the hotel worked well for my husband to attend a conference & for me to access shopping in the CBD.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed two nights at the Sebel in a 'deluxe' room. I really don't understand how it is rated the best in Adelaide (unless that's saying something about other hotels in Adelaide).

There was nothing wrong with the hotel per se. My 5th floor room looked across into another building (I really wonder then what the lower cost 'standard' rooms are looking at!); it was reasonably clean, nothing too big or fancy. The thing is though that it is pretty much an average 4 star hotel room but with a King size bed, in a hotel that is billed as 5 star. Perhaps if you're staying in the fancy 'loft suite' you'll be getting that luxury feeling, but I certainly didn't see what was so special. Service was hit and miss, with check in fast and smooth, but a few hiccups with room service and checking out.

Location wise, it was well placed across from the Casino, and a short walk to Rundle Mall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Sebel Playford  Hotel is a nice hotel located across from the convention center. The Staff and service in general was very good. The room was only average and very dated for a 5 star hotel. We had drinks in the bar and it was very nice. I would recommend the hotel as the overall experience was good and reasonable for the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

So paid $100 for the night here on a lastminute.com.au deal. Had a nice time here, room comfortable And had everything you'd expect. Not an amazing, cutting edge hotel and wonder what the others are like if this is the number one. Perfect for those older generations or if you fancy a taste of yesteryear.

Restaurant very nice and recommend a booking here if staying.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night and found the reception and concierge staff to be exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was nice enough; furnishings are a bit tired but generally well kept and clean. View was terrible, overlooked a back alley but it was just for one night so we didn’t mention it.
The location is very good and there is parking nearby that you can get at a cheaper rate from the hotel.
Perfectly adequate for our needs but wouldn’t recommend an extended stay or special occasion stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Did not stay here, but attended a conference. Wish I had stayed. The facilities were first class, with comfortable function room and serusly excellent meals during the day. The lunch was amazing, something I have never experienced at these types of events.
But best of all was the staff. The manager (Peter?) was so helpful and smiling and no issue was overlooked. I even have taken his saying "not a problem" back to my own staff. There was also a lovely girl and a young man who helped us out immensely. Well done there!
Will definitely book this hotel next time for accommodation as everything was just great.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection

Address: 120 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford Adelaide is a 5-star hotel set in the heart of Adelaide’s vibrant North Terrace, opposite the Convention Centre and City CasinoElegant 5-star hotel with superior accommodation, conference & recreational facilities, located in the heart of Adelaide. Winner of 2012 Best Deluxe Accommodation at the AHA SA Awards and 2011 Best Luxury Accommodation at the SA Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Playford Adelaide - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.