We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of town on a quiet night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Hindley Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Adelaide)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Adelaide
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“In the heart of town on a quiet night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great place to stay for business or holiday in Adelaide especially early in the week unless you love the song of the street all night later in the week.

Had a great room, professional staff at the front desk and no troubles at all. Not my first stay and not my last

Room Tip: Early in the week? Try for a front east corner room, great views over the city and and lovely sunri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Craig G

Thank you taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

It is always a pleasure to read when one of our guests have enjoyed their stay. Thank you for your complimentary feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    240
    124
    36
    16
See reviews for
61
189
50
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is centraly located just up from Runle Mall. When i arrived (late at night) i was greeted by very friendly and efficient staff. I was on the 11th floor and room was a good size and very clean.
Stayed three nights and it was very enjoyable. Recommended if you are visiting Adelaide.

Good value room service.

Room Tip: Lifts are slow so lower level if you are coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Bobbali99

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

I have taken note of your feedback regarding our staff and will ensure that your complimentary comments are passed on.

Again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards
Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I was very disappointed with our room. The pictures of the room off the web site are misleading. It wasn't clean, the kettle was very old and dirty, the ironing board cover was disgusting I didn't want to iron my shirt on it. The visitors information book was so old it fell to bits when I picked up to read it. We were kept awake all night by the music and yelling from people partying in the street below. How this hotel got its star rating amazes me. :(

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Dgsj

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

We appreciate the feedback we receive from our guests. I have taken note of your comments regarding your room and would like to advise the hotel recently underwent a refurbishment of our top 5 floors and are looking to complete a further two floors by mid 2014.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay with us further should you wish. I can be contacted on 08 8231 5552.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards


Jarrad Crettenden
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very good hotel in a central position, ideal for exploring Adelaide and the surrounding area. Within walking distance of most attractions and good public transport for further afield. Only slight problem is finding it when traveling by car due to the one way system in Adelaide, you can only approach it from one direction.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Ozztraveler

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

We appreciate the feedback that we received from our guests and value their opinions. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked online and received a very good rate for 4 nights. We arrived just prior to lunch time and the young lady on the front desk said we could check in as our room was ready when really all that we wanted to do was leave our bags.
Our room was clean and the bathroom was very adequate. We had a view out of our window which was north facing and very sunny and bright.
The bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of pillows.
Extra plates and cutlery were readily provided as we catered for our own breakfasts.
The hotel is but a 3-4 minute walk to Rundle Mall.
We would book here again.
Jan & Kev

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear JannienadKev

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that we can look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

It’s not really about one thing that I hated about the Grand Chancellor on Hindley, but rather a series of issues which didn’t get resolved and added to what I felt was unreasonable for a four star hotel. Lets start with the good – and that is location. Right on Hindley street you really are at the heart of Adelaide City. The drawback of this is that it gets very noisy on Friday and Saturday nights, so I would recommend staying on a floor above level four. Bus from the airport was only $3.00 for an adult at time of writing, take J1 or J2 took 39mins.

Now for the issues. Started when we arrived and we had to wait almost 20mins to check in. And this was the case when we asked for a map, an umbrella, have our room key re-scanned. Not once could we walk up to reception and be served. Rather whether there was one person on reception or three, there was always a wait which lasted over 15mins. What really annoyed me is that whilst being served, the staff would ALWAYS answer the phone first and just keep you waited. It was if they were being monitored in regards to their speed on the phones, but when it comes to actual physical guests standing in front of them, who cares! Twice when we asked for directions (and waited 15mins) they couldn’t help us, after this we just worked it out, or asked randoms in the street.

Now we stayed in two rooms for 7 nights. With my parents on level 4 and myself, partner and 4 month old baby on level 8. The cot the hotel supplied was adequate. Again a lot of these issues I mention now aren’t enough for me to warrant suggesting never come here, but for a hotel of this quality and stature, it was very disappointing. Five times we had to get our room keys rescanned, which is a bit of a hassle coming down from the 8th floor (with a baby) only to go all the way back up again.

On three occasions when they did the rooms they did not replace the toiletries. Twice in one room and once in another. When we asked for a set to be sent up they were never forthcoming. The bed sheets are not replaced each evening, it was only when we put some of the sheets in the bathtub, where they actually replaced, rather than just made.

Two evenings some people were playing knock and run on my parents door. Though the Grand Chancellor can’t ever prevent this from happening, they could have done more in terms of stopping this. After I called reception to let them know, it kept happening for 1.5hrs. I was genuinely concerned for my parents safety when it didn’t stop! The fact it happened the next day for a small period was really annoying. I felt that security could have done more – or if not, move my parents to another floor.

Maybe this is an Adelaide thing? But every morning people tried to take my newspaper during breakfast? Not the Hotel’s fault, but just weird. Breakfast had an excellent selection. With the fruit being extremely good. I just didn’t like how they only had poached eggs on two days and not the others. Unfortunately the coffee machine is “rubbish” and didn’t seem to work. Can’t say many guests were too happy with it. I was put out, when I asked if the wholemeal bread was going to be replaced, only to find be told the Hotel has run out. But then when another guest asked another breakfast waiter – it was replaced in an instant. Not a big deal, just annoying really.

On two occasions I rang my parents in their room from an outside line (my mobile). Both times they did not ask for the guests name? We aren’t megastars, but I know if I was, or imagine if a star was staying. The noisy reporter could just ask for every room, disturbing every guest before they possibly got right guest? Or what if you just don’t want to be disturbed, especially by someone who is dialling the wrong room.

Upon checkout we were accused of not returning the umbrellas (4) 2 umbrellas borrowed twice. The irony being is that we happened to borrow No.14 umbrella a second time, so surely we had to return it to borrow it again! The Grand Chancellor did want to charge us for 4 umbrellas until I pointed this out.This was sorted out, but just a hassle which took 10 mins when it shouldn’t have. One room was accused of drinking from the mini bar, which was not charged but again – glad it was rectified but why have the mini mistakes. What they didn’t charge me for was the parking which I brought to their attention and paid for.

Overall cost of the Grand Chancellor on Hindley was more than reasonable. But I would not recommend staying here unless senior management really swept broom through the ‘philosophy’ of customer service. Hotel was overall clean and amenities were good, but not great.

Room Tip: Great location also means lots of noise. As such make sure you get a room which is on level 4 or abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Parges

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative. I have taken note of your comments regarding the issues you had with your stay and rest assured these concerns will be addressed with my team. I apologise for any inconvenience this caused.

Again, thank you for your feedback and should you wish, I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns further. I can be contacted on 08 8231 5552.

Kind regards


Jarrad Crettenden
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renmark, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The grand chancellor is a majestic old girl, with comfortable clean rooms, with all you need for a nice stay, ours was a basic Queen room, and had 2 queen beds, tele with foxtel and adequate bathroom with bath. Room was clean and tidy, although a little dated.
Front desk staff were very courteous, and knowledgable, and happy to help in any way.
We ordered tea sent to our room, and the meals were delivered in a very prompt friendly manner, less than 20mins and only $4 for this service. Location is excellent with only a short easy walk to Rundle Mall, trams and buses, and parking underneath.

Room Tip: Check for upgrades!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Peter C

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

I am happy to advise the hotel now hosts two levels of accommodation having completed a refurbishment of our top 5 floors in 2012. I hope that next time you visit Adelaide you are able to take advantage of our new accommodation.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Address: 65 Hindley Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Adelaide)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 180 well appointed rooms, including 40 suites. Each suite has a spacious lounge and kitchenette, ideal for longer stays. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.