We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and close” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Hindley Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Adelaide)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice and close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have stayed here a few times on our trips to adelaide. It good value for money, clean and the servise is good. If you have a big car i would suggest parking in the public car park next to the hotel as the guest car park is tiny.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Adventure911

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    273
    143
    40
    19
See reviews for
64
220
59
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Although the place looks quite tired and the bathroom shower tiles not very clean, overall we were happy with our stay. The beds are soft, but the linen is white crisp and clean. I was excited that the tv had foxtel, however I didn't get the chance to even turn it on. Take your own towel up to the pool, I didn't as I was told there was some there, but as I couldn't find them, I went back up the lift without a towel. Pool closes at 10pm, probably best to go late at night because during the day it is full of little children jumping everywhere, even into the spa. Or maybe early at 6am when it opens and the kids are sleeping. The best thing about this place is that there is a mcDonalds in very close walking distance :) The air conditioning works well. Staff were very nice and helpful. The room was spacious. We stayed there while the Fringe Festival was on (the night of the parade) and we didn't have any problems with noise, I think we were on the quiet side of the hotel thankfully. We plan to stay there on our next visit :)

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, make sure you get a room that is facing away from Hindley st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear truenorth27

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

I appreciate the feedback we receive from our guests by expressing their opinons both positive and negative.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you next visit Adelaide.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have stayed at the Grant Chancellor many times and as late as last weekend my wife and I stayed there again and as in the past enjoyed our stay. This time we scored a luxery room and this was very spacious and terrific. The customer service at the desk and the breakfast room is second to none. Well done people. Jack

Room Tip: all rooms are good but the higher floors are terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear JSVx

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay once again by commenting on our staff and the facilities.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel once again in the near future.

Kind regards



Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great location right in the center of town and within walking distance to great places to eat, parks, as well as the fantastic city market. Be advised, this hotel is on Hindley street, which has lots of strip clubs and seedy bars, but the hotel was very nice and we heard no noise whatsoever in our rooms. The internet is expensive and landline only. Also, if you turn it into wifi and use more than one device in the room, you will be charged for each device!! That one caught me off guard. Nevertheless, large and comfortable rooms and all of the tour companies picked us up right at the hotel front. Concierge was friendly and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel and thought it was a great deal for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Taylor B

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend our venue in future.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

right in the heart of town near the convention centre is normally the precent for the upmarket = expensive luxury hotels way above my allocated work budget. This hotel sneaks into the downtown location for a more modest price yet still had very nice rooms that punch above their weight in terms of amenity for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear davidhughtaylor

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay by commenting on our facilities.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards



Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very large comfortable room with king size bed, luxurious bathroom and so quiet.
Located just a hundred metres or so from Rundall Mall it it a great stepping out place to explore this olde worlde charm that is Rundall Mall.
Reasonable close to the river (?)
The staff are so attentive and willing, the dining room is clean and neat and tidy and plenty of choice of food.
There is free internet in the foyer limited to 30 minutes per person, but it is there.
Should I return to Adelaide one day, this will be my choice of accommodation

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Traveller6002

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. It is always a pleasure to read when one of our guests have enjoyed their stay by commenting on the staff and our facilities.

Again, thank you for your feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here three nights. The room was well appointed, fairly large and comfortable. The overall hotel was nice. The pool was fine. The location was good - close to Rundel Mall and a quick walk to the Central Market. One complaint was lack of free WiFi. I don't think I've been to a hotel in years that didn't have free WiFi. I think it was a reasonable value for the money and it was sufficient, but nothing particularly extraordinary.

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor, from what I can determine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Daveinchch

Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. With regards to your comments we do have free internet available within our Business Centre and also located at our Reception desk and I apologise if this was not made known to you during your stay.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Address: 65 Hindley Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Adelaide)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 180 well appointed rooms, including 40 suites. Each suite has a spacious lounge and kitchenette, ideal for longer stays. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.