We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is Very Good - Location?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Hindley Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Adelaide)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
melbourne
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Hotel is Very Good - Location?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel is very good. A rerasonable room rate, comfortable bed, good sized bathroom, work desk, small fridge, breakfast (which a little bit pricey), pool and various other features. There is also the option to forgo fresh towels and room cleaning in exchange for a voucher which entitles you to a drink or snack at the bar. However the location won't suit some. The proximity to the night clubs means there is quite a bit of late night noise (voices and music). Walking down the street from the hotel to a nearby carpark on Sunday morning, I had to run the gauntlet of drunken young people and crowds who blocked the footpath and had no inclination to let you past. Added to this was the huge amount of rubbish strewn across the street and footpath. If you are a late riser you probably won't encounter the rubbish and the people, as they disperse mid-morning and the rubbish is cleaned away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear station

Thank you for your recent review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    273
    143
    40
    19
See reviews for
64
220
59
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is perfect if you want to be right in the middle of the action day and night. Bustling during the day and very lively in the evenings. The pool/spa was lovely, room comfortable and had a great big shower. The value for money impressed me most, especially considering it's prime location. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Tamara C

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of some of our facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I booked this hotel for 3 nights to take in Jersey Boys and see a little of a previously-unvisited city and can thoroughly recommend it for convenience, comfort and friendliness. I chose it because it was the only Adelaide hotel offering a breakfast package (that I could find) although I was a bit concerned that some reviews seemed to suggest the location on Hindley Street was noisy. However, we didn't find it to be a problem at all. The rooms are set back from the street and although there wasn't enough noise at night to be a problem at all. The pool and spa area is pleasant - not particularly exciting but adequate. However we walked absolutely everywhere from this hotel and all the staff were extremely helpful answering our questions. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear helkat2254

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay by commenting on the staff and our facilities.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards



Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I have just stayed at the Grand Chancellor on Hindley. I have previously been really impressed and encouraged friends/ family to stay also. The hotel was full of drunk party people this stay (not suprising as located on hindley street) but staff were clearly tired and fed up. interrogated upon arriving back to the hotel at night- not very welcoming but understand somewhat as lots of young drunks were trying to sneak inside the lobby. most disapointing were the extra charges on our credit card on top of the bond held! was not aware they could just keep billing your card without consent (and a valid reason for that matter) Very shaddy and Left a very bad taste. As locals will make sure our family and friends try else where next time!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Aussie-Traveller598

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

I have taken note of your comments and observations and appreciate your feedback regarding the hotel. We take the security of our guests very seriously and are always looking at ways of improving our standard practices. Regarding your credit card, I apologise for any misunderstanding and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this personally with you. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel on (08) 8231 5552 so that I may further discuss your concerns.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards

Jarrad Crettenden
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed here for just over a week for business. The hotel is in a great location, however Hindley Street is horrible. Over the weekend it was as though New Years eve was happening. There is a Club X right next door too. Being a female I did not feel all that safe coming to and from the hotel. The actual hotel was nice, apart from having very limited TV channels. Clean rooms and bathroom. Room service was average, but the staff were very friendly. I defintely wont stay at this particular location, not the hotel's fault, its just the street was feral. I would probably book into the Grand Chancellor on Currie Strett next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear StephanieH1978

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

I was disappointed to read that you did not feel safe coming and going from the hotel, we have many single female travellers that stay with us on a regular basis.

Again, thank you for you feedback.

Kind regards



Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
486 reviews 486 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel has a smart name and it's quite nice, with a good central location. Rooms are big for one, but not for two. The bathroom is fine and there are not too many rooms on each floor. Breakfast is a nice, but not extensive, buffet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Ali_Hawkins

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, it is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE England
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I had noted on booking this hotel that a number of Tripadvisor reviewers were unhappy about the location of this hotel. We personally found that the location was great. The hotel is close to Rundle Mall, the excellent Tourist Information Centre on the Mall, the station, the main bus routes, the free loop buses and the tram. Within walking distance are the Zoo, the South Australia Museum, the Central Market and other attractions and a number of restaurants. The bonus was that on Friday and Saturday nights Hindley Street lights up as the bars and night clubs open up. In the hotel you cannot hear the mainly young crowd that party on those nights and we were not disturbed by any of this, in fact it was interesting.

The hotel itself provided excellent and professional reception staff, who were well informed.

The room we were allocated was spacious, comfortable and light. The room was clean and the air conditioning was good.

The restaurant and bar were pleasant.

The swimming pool was not very big but adequate for a city centre hotel.

I would certainly return to this hotel if in Adelaide again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear travellerNEEngland

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. I was delighted to read that your stay was enjoyable and that you were able to enjoy some of the attractions Adelaide has to offer.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should the opportunity arise in the future.

Kind regards


Simond de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Address: 65 Hindley Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Adelaide)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 180 well appointed rooms, including 40 suites. Each suite has a spacious lounge and kitchenette, ideal for longer stays. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.