We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Hindley Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Adelaide)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great location but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Enjoyed this hotel. Room was great , Breakfast good. Close to everything. Would have rated this very good. But the bar was very rarely open. It was advertised as being open 'til late. But on the nights we were there the latest it was open 'til was 9pm and one night it closed at 8pm

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear Marie010

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

With regards to your comments relating to our Bar throughout the Christmas/New Year period we open depending on demand. I apologise if this caused any inconvenience.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the near future.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    240
    124
    36
    16
See reviews for
61
189
50
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I was hesitant to book this book hotel as there were some good reviews and bad. I booked a King executive suite on the top floor (floor 12). This was important as apparently floors 11 and 12 have been refurbished recently. Room was large and very nice. Pay TV on LCD which was also good. My room did not face Hindley street so it was extremely quiet. Recommended. A++

Room Tip: Book top floor and away from Hindley Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear Kingtim23

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay by commending the staff and hotel services. It is our continual mission to anticipate and exceed the expectations of our guests.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the near future.

Kind regards


Simon deJong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

The Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley is positioned in a central location to just about everything in Adelaide. Night clubs either across the road or just left down Hindley Street. Rundle Mall is only 2 blocks away and just beyond (about 10 min) walk are lots of restaurants on the east end in Rundle Street. The hotel itself is just perfect. The pool/spa and gym are great. The staff are very professional and friendly. The rooms are very clean and modern. Will recommend and will return again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are not affected by night club noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear AJH611

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay by commending the staff and hotel services. It is our continual mission to anticipate and exceed the expectations of our guests.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the near future.

Kind regards


Simon deJong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Our family stay here whenever we need somewhere to stay in Adelaide. We can park our car under the hotel, swim in an outdoor pool(much better than in summer), use the gym and sauna and have a great buffet breakfast. Because it located in the heart of Adelaide most attractions are nearby and easy access to our car is great.
You get what you pay for with the rooms.

Room Tip: The higher the better. If you are on a lower floor ask to have a room facing away fromHindley St
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel and plan to return. Nice reception area. The room was spotless, modern and tastefully decorated with a lovely view. Very professional and friendly staff.

Location very good- in the middle of Adelaide CBD, close to great resturants and wine bars.
Taxi close by and walking distance to train or bus.

Breakfast not included in the room charge. Offers the usual hot/cold selection. Staff very polite and quick to clear away dirty dishes.

If you want a good, clean hotel that doesn't kill the budget then I highly recommend that you consider this one.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I found the location pretty good, just a very short stroll from anywhere you need to be in the CBD. Some of the surrounding establishments were dodgy, but I certainly didn't feel unsafe.

Our room was really good - a suite set up with effectively a separate room for the little one. Beds were comfy, TV was good, all in all pretty nice really.

I did find that I was queing for ages at reception to check in. It irks me when hotels copy the supermarkets and build loads of desks/checkouts but only staff 1 or 2 of them. Having said that you'd get a totally different queue time on other days or at other times, so maybe I was just unlucky.

I reckon 3 and a half stars for this place, with the ability to get a fourth star....but the car park brings it down to 3 stars. Location was good, but dingy as, and there were things "stored" in there, like old matresses.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Visually, this is a lovely hotel and we got our stay for a reasonable price through hotels.com. The room was very comfortable and the staff were friendly. The location couldn't be more central.

Unfortunately, I would be reluctant to stay here again due to the noise. I'm not usually one to complain about noise, I might say. I'm fairly easygoing about noise and am a heavy sleeper.

That being said, not only was there a lot of noise coming up from party-goers on Hindley Street, but some college-age students had booked rooms along our corridor and spent from about 2 am to 5 am in the morning stomping up the corridor, calling out, banging on doors, et cetera.

I had a 10 hour drive from Adelaide to Melbourne the next morning and actually had to call reception twice. To their credit, reception did their best to get them to be quiet.

I left my room at 5 am to find three boys wandering the corridor in their underwear.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Address: 65 Hindley Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Adelaide)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 180 well appointed rooms, including 40 suites. Each suite has a spacious lounge and kitchenette, ideal for longer stays. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.