We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“false promises” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Hindley Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Adelaide)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“false promises”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

first night here of a few, reception was fairly helpful. room is ok, however decor outside room is very 80s as is foyer.. negatives= bar closed super early, movies are a ridiculous $17 EACH on the pay tv ( can buy the dvd for that price or rent from video shop down the road for $6)(no dvd player offered though) the supposed "all day" menu has hours available on it.. not true.. rang during hours to be told kitchen is closed and to wait "maybe 30ish minutes" till the chef might arrive... this was over an hour before advertised closing time..Also movies (even with their ridiculous price were blocked after midnight even after paying a (non mentioned at booking, compulsory) cash $100 deposit per night to cover extra room charges..

for the $145(at least) a night price tag, a complete rip off, room quality, service, service's.. will definitely not be staying at another grand chancellor...

Room Tip: choose a different better quality/value hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear jdizzle_27
Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

With regards to your comments on our room service and on demand movies, I would be happy to discuss this further with you personally, please feel free to contact me.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    241
    124
    36
    16
See reviews for
61
190
50
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel since the mid 1990s when it was the Park Royal and the rooms are a nice size and obviously recently renovated. We had an executive room on the 11th floor which was modern and fresh, but the size and outlook was no better than more basic rooms we have had on previous visits.

Being on Hindley Street there is still a fair bit of street noise from the pubs and clubs although I noted much of the yelling I heard was from drunken morons walking along Currie Street a block away at 2AM,bashing bus shelters as they passed by. Also loud music from the beer garden at the back of the Duke of York Hotel on Currie Street. I was surprised that this noise was so loud 11 floors up. Of course it was a Saturday night just before the start of the Tour Down Under.

The problem with the location is Hindley Street is still very down market with a sex shop right next door, similar shops and strip joints further down the street. Hindley Street has Adelaide's sleazier pubs and night clubs - many going on to 4 in the morning and beyond. It is not an area that attracts the best and brightest. My partner went out to buy a few things at 5PM and she came back reporting the presence of a drunk having an animated conversation with the statue of Mo at one stage and then having an expletive filled argument with another drunk across the street challenging the second drunk to a fight. Certainly not the hotel's fault but it is still not a family friendly genteel area.

The breakfast was Ok but fairly bland with a limited choice. The scrambled eggs were watery and the juice dispensers were unlabelled so it was pot luck what you poured yourself. I have had better breakfasts recently at the Intercontinental (formerly the Hyatt), the Stamford Plaza and the Majestic.

Oddly now in Adelaide hotels you have to ask for a complimentary newspaper to be sent to your room when you check in. Usually I expect to be asked if I want one at reception, and if they don't ask, I assume it is not complimentary. We were not offered one at the HGC and only found out from a fellow breakfast diner that you have to specifically ask for one to be sent to your room. I have since found out the Majestic Roof Top Garden Hotel has the same policy.

In summary, central location, recently renovated executive rooms, but issues with the neighbouring businesses and noise

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Scott P

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

Regarding your comment on Hindley Street we do work closely with the Adelaide City Council to ensure Hindley Street is a fun, safe and entertaining area. We are situated within the restaurant and entertainment precinct and as with many cities Friday and Saturdays nights do tend to be busier.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the near future.

Kind regards


Simon deJong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We always stay at this location, through several changes of owners. Located close to the city, food is always good. During our stay the bar was shut and the concierge (fantastic service usually) was missing which was a bit of a blow, but we still had comfortable and clean rooms (adjoining for families) and were very well looked after.

Room Tip: There aren't many views, although looking towards Hindley Street would probably be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Dear TanjungBaraDriver

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay, it is our continual mission to anticipate and exceed the expectations of our guests.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the near future.

Kind regards


Simon deJong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I stayed here whilst attending at conference at Adelaide Uni and booked it through the conference organiser. I was very disappointed at the standard of service and quality. The front-desk staff were very rude and did not care about the customers' safety and comfort: right after I had witnessed a guy assaulted 50m from the hotel, the staff still refused to help me hail a taxi citing "too busy." The bar and restaurant closed at 9pm. Never going back to Adelaide ever again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

You get what you pay for !!... I stayed in this hotel with some friends late 2011. We weren't expecting much as the room charge was very cheap and we were right, its very average. The decor looks like it hasn't been touched since 80's, but room quality was ok as was the service...but the location is horrible, notably at night when the street is heaving with very drunk crowds and very, very ordinary bars and clubs.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear Damian35

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

I would like to let you know that the hotel is currently undergoing a room refurbishment and over half the rooms have been refurbished, It is unfortunate however that you did book an unrefurbished room.

Regarding your comment on Hindley Street we do work closely with the Adelaide City Council to ensure Hindley Street is a fun, safe and entertaining area. We are situated within the restaurant and entertainment precinct and as with many cities Friday and Saturdays nights do tend to be busier.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards



Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Took a chance on three days in Adelaide, chose Grand Chancellor on Hindley.
In the middle of everything, night life, shops, and near both the tram and the train.
slightly old decor but beds and facilities very good. Good breakfast offer.
Very good all round

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed here over the New Year period so fairly quiet hotel with the main bar closed however there are so many bars on Hindley St that this did not concern my group. The hotel rooms were nice and big, the beds comfy and overall were very clean. I did notice some noise on New Years Eve from the bars at 4am however that is to be expected in this street. The pool was clean and refreshing however a little small with so many people wanting to use it. If your wanting to stay where the action is at night then i would definately recommend this hotel as its walking distance to the bars and clubs, 24 hour supermarkets, tram to Glenelg and the Mall.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Address: 65 Hindley Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Adelaide)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 180 well appointed rooms, including 40 suites. Each suite has a spacious lounge and kitchenette, ideal for longer stays. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.