We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some not so good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest on King William

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quest on King William to your Saves list
Quest on King William
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   82 King William St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Some good, some not so good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here twice. First time on the front, first floor - very noisy, not a good night's sleep. Second time paid $12 extra for room at back. View of a light well, and some machinery noise (air con plant?) but overall slept well. Rooms pretty tired. Staff very pleasant and helpful. No gym no breakfast but very efficient arrangements with outside providers and charge back to room. Breakfast at Prenzos is excellent. Gym in basement ($15) also very good. So, for a CBD hotel which is pretty cheap, I would recommend.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest on K, Guest Relations Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Quest on King William appreciate your time in writing a review. It is through this process that we can continue to provide all guests with pleasant experiences such as yours.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    74
    39
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
49
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rosemeadow
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I normally stay at the Hilton or Intercontental (formally Hyatt) when in Adelaide. This place is alot cheaper - but i would say a better experience. Very central in the heart of the CBD. Service was fantastic. The apartment I had was large with a kitchenette (stove, fridge and microwave). Also had a new LCD TV but I know a colleague of mine on a different floor has an older TV. For your added convenience the hotel has pantry service (someone to do your grocery shopping), Valet dry cleaning, DVD hire facility, newspapers, etc. There is a Restaurant on the top floor. Unfortunately they didnt charge back to the room, but the hotel does have a number of restaurants close by that do. Just ask the friendly staff in reception. one minor thing would be to update the Internet experience in the rooms. The dialup service is outdated. I would definately stay here again - a great experience.

Room Tip: The room I had was great - comfortable - no noise and the TV was new. I have seem some other reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest on K, Guest Relations Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Quest On King William would like to thank you for sharing your experiences.

Each member of our team are dedicated to making the stay of every guest as enjoyable as possible, and it is always a pleasure to hear that we suceed in doing so.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

stayed for about a week in early April and it was a great location in the central city. A little noisy as its at a busy intersection so if you are sensitive to noise, you may wish to ask for a higher floor.
Free wifi in the reception was handy. Staff were very friendly and helpful answering all questions.

Room Tip: ask for a room on an upper floor if you find street noise disturbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest on K, Guest Relations Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
We are very happy to have received your feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

All the staff at Quest on King William strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible, and it is great to hear we acheive this.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards,
Peter Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

four persons plus a baby shared 2 bed apartment on first floor. Double glazing made apartment reasonably quiet. strange arrangement of steps up and down into lounge area. l requested the couch be vacuumed as grubby but rest of apartment was clean, well maintained. I agree with other review that the television is small and reception was poor. The staff were courteous and helpful. The laundry facilities were free which was great and unusual these days. The entry foyer could do with a refurb, to brighten it up. There is a Chinese restaurant on top floor which has lovely decor but we did not have time to eat there. Great location in cbd.

Room Tip: ask the hotel whether double glazing is on all floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest on K, Guest Relations Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
We are more than happy that you enjoyed the accommodation and facilites at Quest On King William.

We appreciate your detailed feedback and can advise that all windows are double glazed throughout the building.

We'd like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Regards,

Peter Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Location is great and central, but the property is very dated, it feels like a motel.
I got a spa room on the 4th floor, which is quite large, but that it where the benefits end. I asked for a quiet room, and it is still noisy from the street and also from creeks coming from god knows where. The TV is an old 40cm thing that has a high pitched squeal when you turn it on. The shower also sings all by itself when you turn that on. The bed was far from comfortable, and add to that the street noise it isn't the greatest place to stay. Now for the number one pet hate, I am here for business, and the broadband is almost completely useless. They don't have WIFI (which is ok), but the wired internet is as slow as the old dial up service. And is still $24 a day. That is completely unacceptable. C'mon Quest, I have stayed at far better properties than this. I paid $249 a night for this rubbish?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest on K, Guest Relations Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
We’d like to thank you for providing us with your feedback, and are always open to hearing our guests’ opinions and experiences.

As we are located within the heart of Adelaide CBD, unfortunately outside noise issues are sometimes out of our control. However our staff will always endeavour to meet requests for quiet rooms when placing bookings. Whilst for operational reasons this cannot always be guaranteed, we are still more than happy to find solutions to any specific issues that may arise during your stay. As an example, the maintenance-related noises experienced from the shower were rectified immediately after your review was read.

In relation to the internet issue, I can assure you that we pride ourselves on meeting the needs of corporate clients, and take any concerns had very seriously. In this specific case, we were experiencing one-off difficulties from our service provider and would have been determined to find an alternative solution if notified about the problem at the time. This internet service has since returned to normal and we apologise for the inconvenience caused, and understand that your expectations were not met.

Furthermore, all of our accommodation is undergoing refurbishment including replacement of the televisions. While these changes have already been completed in many of our apartments, it is a still a work in progress, but once again guests are more than welcome to request a change in specifics should something not be adequate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed here for two days recently.

The room was large, well set out and very comfortable.

Staff were courteous, pleasent and were able to help with directions around the city.

The hotel has its own gym which was brilliant - $10 for a visit with lots of modern equipment and staff on hand to help if needed.

The hotel is close to Rundle Mall which has lots of cafe's, restaurants and bars.

Overall this is an excellent hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Quest on William is in the heart of the Adelaide CBD. This hotel offers clean rooms, with kitchenettes and shared laundry facilities. However, the noise from the street is terrible. I requested a quiet room and was told that rooms on the upper floors are quiet. This turned out to be untrue, and being a very light sleeper I had no sleep the first night and very little the following night. There was also some construction noise up until around 7pm from the floor above us (a tradesperson in the lift informed us that they were working on a restaurant fit-out). In addition, the housekeeping staff were very unprofessional. On the second day of our stay, housekeeping knocked on the door and asked for assistance with the lift. Having misplaced her access key she wanted to use our key to access the lift. There was also no flexibility in relation to when rooms were made up. After being out all the morning, my husband I returned to our room for a short rest before heading out again. Housekeeing knocked on the door wanting to make up our room, so I requested that they return an hour later, but was told that this would not be possible. The following day, and despite a check-out time of 10am, housekeeping knocked on our door at around 9am and asked us when we would be leaving. When we told her that we would be checking out at 10am she voiced her displeasure to a colleague saying that they would have to go to another floor as nobody on our floor was checking out early. Never before have I encountered such unprofessional behaviour. It is also worth noting that there is no on-site parking for guests. Guests are given an access card to a car-park that is a couple of blocks away (at a cost of $12 per day).

Room Tip: Studio rooms all face the street and are therefore noisy. If staying in a 1 or 2-bedroom apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest on King William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on King William

Address: 82 King William St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on King William 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Quest on King William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On King William Hotel Adelaide
Quest On King William Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest on King William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.