We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour Down Under” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Adelaide

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Adelaide to your Saves list
InterContinental Adelaide
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Tour Down Under”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

This was my first trip to Adelaide to watch the Tour Down Under.
The hotel is nice and central to everything cycling when this event is on...probably one of the closest hotels you can get to the final stage of the event. Most of the cycling teams are camped out at the Hilton so you don't get to see many celebrities here, however I did bump into Kevin Sheedy on my way to the Club Lounge one afternoon.

We booked a club room and with our Gold Ambassador membership got an automatic upgrade to a better level room...which in our case turned out to be a junior suite which was nothing short of awesome! Would have to say that it's probably the best hotel room we have ever spent a night in, let alone 3 nights. I was wondering where I would keep my bike during the stay...nothing to worry about...it was fine to take it up to the room! There was plenty of room for it too, with two bathrooms, a lounge (which became daughter's bedroom), bedroom, dressing room/walk-in wardrobe. At one point there was some argument over what we were going to watch on the TV - I put the argument to rest by pointing out we had two large TV's in both lounge and bedroom, problem solved.

The only little points I could pick on was that my bedside lamp had no globe, so I took the lampshade off and the housemaid spotted that straightaway and had it taken care of. I didn't see the housemaids during my stay as I was always out riding somewhere, but my wife said they were wonderful and very knowledgeable and chatty, they obviously love working here. My wife loved the bed, extremely comfortable, and apparently were brand new.

The club lounge was very nice and kept me fueled with plenty of drinks and nibbles during my stay - really handy to come back for a free coke instead of paying $3 a can out on the street (or $6 in the room!!! ouch!). Speaking of expensive, the in-house internet is exhorbitant...so we ignored that and used the data connection via my mobile phone (first time I'd tried doing that...so I'm glad I was forced to try that out as it worked very well).

The pool is great and very well maintained. The chemical balances were expertly maintained. It was very well utilised by many cyclists staying in-house after a hard day's riding...a most welcome way to restore those tired muscles.

The valet parking was awesome. They left our car at the front of the hotel for quite a while as we kept coming back and getting more stuff from the car that we didn't think we'd need. Even once they'd taken the car away for parking, they quickly retrieved further items for me later on. They even pre-empted our check-out and had our car waiting for us to simply load up and move out at the pre-appointed time.

We've stayed at a lot of 5-star hotels in Adelaide as they are always very cheap over Easter, so for many years we would come to town whilst all the locals were getting out. This is by far the best accomodation we've stayed at in Adelaide and would be hard pressed to consider looking elsewhere when we're back here next.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    295
    123
    33
    22
See reviews for
64
289
48
295
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Stayed on a Mystery deal through Wotif for one night and had a great stay. The staff were friendly and efficient and the hotel was everything you would expect for this type of accomodation. The location was great and the room was very nice. Room Service was prompt and the meal was very nice. Overall a great introduction to Adelaide and well worth staying at.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Thank you for rating your overall stay with us and I am glad you had some great things about the hotel and enjoyed the hotel facilities and friendly staff.

We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andre Diaz, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

This could be any typical 4* hotel in the world. The room was adequate without being amazing which speaks for the hotel as a whole.

The only disappointment was the service overall - 25 mins to check in?? There was 1 person at check in who was serving another customer, I was not acknowledged once. Also the continental breakfast was almost AU$40?? I would struggle to pay that in a top Sydney hotel.......

Would I stay again, yes because the hotel served its purpose as a good central location for a business trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011 via mobile

We thought this hotel would be disappointing after reading some reviews but we were pleasantly surprised. In addition Amanda the Concierge was extremely helpful organising trips and contributed greatly to our Adelaide experience.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

The intercon group recently bought the building from Hyatt (I think) but did not fully renovate the rooms. The rooms were clean with modern furniture but there are areas of the room that looks like its from the early 90s. All acceptable but I did expect more from the intercon group in comparison to their other aus properties.

I thought the hotel rates were reasonable. If you have your own car, it must be valeted $30. Room service meals were also on the expensive side.

The valet and reception service was excellent. However, housekeeping walked into our room without knocking or any prompting. Lucky I was dressed. She was apologetic but insisted on walking further into the room to check if I had a cushion and a bed cover on my bed (which I had).

Overall, I rate this an average hotel. Since there is not much choice in Adelaide, it is probably the best hotel in the city.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Whilst occasionally you may get trapped in a lift (at midnight for over 1 hour) and occasionally the breakfast lineup is over 20 metres long and there is limited food selection, this is unaccetable in a 5 star hotel. The lack of empthy from the staff was what was really unacceptable. The reception suggested that we book for breakfast but when we tried to do that the breakfast area refused to take bookings??????

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Picture this, a team of non commital gen Y attitudinal staff in ill fitting uniforms who couldn't care less hiding from serving you. Charging $US583 per night for a room from the 80's and a bed that should have been tossed out 3 years ago and pillows from the last millenium. A room befitting the worse Holiday Inn Express in Idaho with stingey products, that is the Adelaide Inter Con, The Bogan army that inhabit, run and service this hotel should leave and work in a RSL club. I stayed before when it was a Hyatt, please come back Hyatt they have disgraced this place.They have replaced the 80's decor with a veneer of white paint and furniture from a discount store.There was no service, and the front office staff hadn't a clue what was going on constantly seeking help from hapless and gormless supervisors. Only the concierge who needed grooming lessons was pleasant.. If you have to go to Adelaide stay at anywhere but this overpriced CON.It should be demoted to whatever is below Holiday Inn

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Thank you for raising your concerns on the service culture of our staff. These comments have been shared with every department in our efforts to improve on the entire guest experience.

Kind regards,
Andre Diaz, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Adelaide

Address: North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned exclusively along the banks of the River Torrens, adjacent to the Adelaide Festival Centre, Adelaide Convention Centre and the Casino, InterContinental Adelaide effortlessly blends luxury with comfort. Each of our 367 spacious, well appointed guestrooms offer clean designs and an elegant marble bathroom featuring walk-in shower, separate bath and large vanity area. Specifically designed for the needs of the global traveller, each guestroom offers uninterrupted views across the historic city of Adelaide, high speed internet access and a spacious and ergonomically designed work area. For more than two decades the hotel’s collection of 21 suites have been home to world leaders, heads of state and visiting celebrities from across the globe. To take exclusivity and luxury a level further, our Club InterContinental, located on level 21, offers private lounge access for the most discerning of guests. Enjoy an elegant meal in our signature restaurant, Riverside, or indulge in award-winning Japanese cuisine in Shiki. Both restaurants boast extensive wine lists featuring a selection of award-winning Adelaide wines and rare gems designed to complement your dining experience perfectly. The Atrium Lounge provides an elegant, relaxing atmosphere for afternoon tea, cocktails or late-night drinks. It is the ideal place to unwind on a Friday night, with happy hour from 5:00pm and fantastic live entertainment that continues throughout the weekend. Guests seeking to remain active while they travel may enjoy exclusive use of the InterContinental Health and Fitness Centre, offering full gymnasium, personal training on request and an heated outdoor pool. Our Concierge possess unrivaled knowledgeable about insider-experiences and unique events around Adelaide and are delighted to assist guests in planning an authentic Adelaide experience. Those travelling to Adelaide on business may make full use of the hotel’s high-speed internet and ergonomic in-room working areas, or may seek assistance from the Concierge for access to our premium Business Centre services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.