We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below its best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Adelaide

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Adelaide to your Saves list
InterContinental Adelaide
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Below its best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel location is good, and we had a river-facing room, with access to the club lounge. The hotel staff were very helpful, particularly with restaurant suggestions and booking. So far, so good, but this hotel is beginning to look a bit "tired". For free wifi access, you have to be in the lounge (closes at 9pm) and at night, the hotel does not provide complimentary water in your room - this must be the only ICH we have stayed in which does not do this!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    339
    138
    36
    23
See reviews for
77
335
52
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Sometimes it's nice just to lash out a little and spoil yourself at a top hotel. My wife and I did just that and we weren't disappointed with the Intercontinental Adelaide. From the time our taxi doors were opened for us, luggage retrieved, lobby doors opened and a friendly greeting at the desk, we knew it was worth it. And because we were members of the Ambassador club we were immediately upgraded to a room on the 20th floor with a magnificent view over the Torrens River and Adelaide Oval and to the hills beyond. Our luggage arrived and we settled in. The room wasn't big but there was a king bed, a couch, a desk and a large TV with Foxtel access. The bathroom was oppulent with a bath and walk-in shower and marble benches with lots of bench space. The hotel is ideally located next to the convention centre, the casino and within walking distance of the main shopping centres, including the Rundle Mall. The Glenelg Beach tram stops right outside the front door. The staff were always smiling and friendly and helpful with street maps and directions. At $240 a night it was expensive but, again, because of our Ambassador membership we were given a third night free. Well worth it. The fruit basket and bottled water were also a welcome addition.

Room Tip: The higher up you are the better the view. Try to get one with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We read the Trip Advisor reviews on this hotel. Accordingly, we asked for a room with a view of the river.
From the moment we walked into the room, with its fabulous view, we felt our stay would be special, and it was.
Our accommodation was very comfortable, the staff couldn’t do enough for us.
The room was very quiet.
Loved the oversized bathroom with its separate shower and huge bath. Luxury.
The location was ideal. We do like to walk a city and the Intercontinental gave us the opportunity to do just that – the Art Gallery, the Adelaide University, the Botanic Gardens, Rundle Street Mall, the Casino; the Festival Centre and the river; all were within a short walk of the hotel. We’ll stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Augusta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed at the Intercontinental Adelaide between the 17th and 21st of October. It was a great stay, staff were helpful and the Intercontinental Lounge was again great. Would stay here again. Visited the Gym for the first time. Excellent gym area, Spa, Sauna and Steam room were also excellent and vey clean. Rooms were cleaned daily. Also has a turn down service which was nice.

Room Tip: Any of the club suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in a club intercontinental room, so we had access to the club lounge. We only had breakfast here which was delicious and a huge selection to pick from which is always a bonus, staff were very efficient.
The rooms were very clean and we had a beautiful view, beds were really comfy which is always nice, bathroom is huge with a bath and a walk-in shower, plenty of mirrors and bench space.
Short walk to Rundle mall and right next to the casino, couldn't be in a better location.
Couldn't ask for more professional, friendly staff. A special mention to Rhiannon at the front desk who made the time to have an actual conversation with us, and made us feel so welcome.
The only other meals we had was room service at 3am, which was also delicious, only disappointment was there wasn't a huge amount of options on the room service menu.
Will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: definitely pay the extra for a club room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide,
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here in a superior room for just one night for a conference midweek . It is located next to the Convention Centre, so has many business guests.

The hotel has the top spot in location in town, with great views. I am a local in Adelaide, and know the city well!

Check-in was prompt (but I had prepaid, and checked my booking before arrival). Room was clean, well-appointed.
At night, it was quiet. The beds were firm.
The bathroom was perfect.

Buffet breakfast looked good. We went 'a-la-carte'.The view out onto the river Torrens is lovely.

All in all, a great stay (although we didn't use the facilites much). We found the valet car parking a bit pricey but there are many car parks nearby for under half the cost.

We heartily recommend this hotel. Compared to other guests at the conference who stayed at different hotels nearby, we came out the best!

Room Tip: Grab a river view room: for a great view out over the city to the Hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Always try the business lounge room - the lounge is worth the extra cost of a room.

Great service and food quality all day.

Staff were excellent and met every request even to the point of being proactive - great news for a city where service hasnt always been so good. Staff were well trained and enthusiastic.

The proximity of the various features along North terrace and in Rundle Street make this an easy choice for an Adelaide stay.

Booking and reception was a highlight - just so easy and pleasant.

The room was quite spacious and well maintained cant think of any negative moments during my stay.

Room Tip: Try the business lounge as an extra - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Adelaide

Address: North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned exclusively along the banks of the River Torrens, adjacent to the Adelaide Festival Centre, Adelaide Convention Centre and the Casino, InterContinental Adelaide effortlessly blends luxury with comfort. Each of our 367 spacious, well appointed guestrooms offer clean designs and an elegant marble bathroom featuring walk-in shower, separate bath and large vanity area. Specifically designed for the needs of the global traveller, each guestroom offers uninterrupted views across the historic city of Adelaide, high speed internet access and a spacious and ergonomically designed work area. For more than two decades the hotel’s collection of 21 suites have been home to world leaders, heads of state and visiting celebrities from across the globe. To take exclusivity and luxury a level further, our Club InterContinental, located on level 21, offers private lounge access for the most discerning of guests. Enjoy an elegant meal in our signature restaurant, Riverside, or indulge in award-winning Japanese cuisine in Shiki. Both restaurants boast extensive wine lists featuring a selection of award-winning Adelaide wines and rare gems designed to complement your dining experience perfectly. The Atrium Lounge provides an elegant, relaxing atmosphere for afternoon tea, cocktails or late-night drinks. It is the ideal place to unwind on a Friday night, with happy hour from 5:00pm and fantastic live entertainment that continues throughout the weekend. Guests seeking to remain active while they travel may enjoy exclusive use of the InterContinental Health and Fitness Centre, offering full gymnasium, personal training on request and an heated outdoor pool. Our Concierge possess unrivaled knowledgeable about insider-experiences and unique events around Adelaide and are delighted to assist guests in planning an authentic Adelaide experience. Those travelling to Adelaide on business may make full use of the hotel’s high-speed internet and ergonomic in-room working areas, or may seek assistance from the Concierge for access to our premium Business Centre services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.