We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adelaide Botanic Garden

Adelaide Botanic Garden
Lot 1 Hackney Rd, Adelaide SA 5000, Australia, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
61 8 8222 9311
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 89 attractions in Adelaide
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Relax in this unique, historic garden and enjoy the many scientific and educational exhibits of exotic and native plants.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

So close to the city. The giant lily and the cactus are must sees. A good place to retreat too away from the city chaos.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    267
    35
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I would rate it 3.5 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Did the trip with a social club now I live in Adelaide (first day of Spring), and I am glad I did not in January as SA is a very dry state. There were some dry areas but overall I was impressed with the area and there are some developments going on.

Free guided walks at 10.30am every morning is why I would rate it 3.5, and it is also free entry too. I really can't understand how people would rate this excellent, and I usually rate most things on a good scale, at most it is 4 stars at the right time of the year (winter/spring)...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Probably the wrong time of the year”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We enjoyed our walk around the gardens but there was a lack of colour and excitement. The grounds and trees are lovely and the highlight was the Amazon Water Lily pavilion.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A must see for visitors.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Adelaide Botanic Gardens are absolutely beautiful and a visit to this facility is highly recommended .I was there on a miserable cold and wet day and still loved the beautifully kept and maintained gardens. A must see for the visitor to Adelaide.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“City Escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A short walk from the city centre or one of the many car parking areas along Plane Tree Drive the free Botanic Gardens which sit next to the Zoo and Parklands with its amazing trees are a must for anyone whether you are interested in plants or just want a walk or relax away from the bustle of the city. There is a cafe for those who need a feed and a garden centre for those with a need to shop as well as the Amazon building with its Lily pads and "Bug Disco", the glass house with the cacti, the ponds, the wildlife, statues and all the other various buildings, walkways and nooks and crannies to explore. Take some bread if you can and check out the size of the carp that surface to eat it from the main pond behind the cafe. Above all just enjoy the ambiance and fresh air the gardens provide.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adelaide Botanic Garden also viewed

 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Adelaide Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelaide Botanic Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Adelaide Botanic Garden to your Saves list