We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Gallery of South Australia

Art Gallery of South Australia
North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
61 8 8207 7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 89 attractions in Adelaide
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A must-see in the city of Adelaide not only because it holds one of Australia's finest art collections, but also because it offers a variety of activities for all ages.
Wudinna, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Turner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Loved the fact that although I live in England, this art is chasing me half way around the world! Staff very helpful when I asked if I could take some stuff for my mother to have a go at as she has dementia.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    121
    25
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A delightful gallery with an excellent café”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

A delightful gallery with a small but varied collection. Heartland exhibition was interesting and worth a look. An excellent café, Art Gallery Food & Wine (which I think they would call a restaurant).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Turner Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a great exhibition and what a great location. We were so enthralled with all that this showed. The great advantage of such an exhibition is that you don't have to go all over the world to see the selection of paintings. What a joy.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great Museum central to all major attractions "South of the Bridge"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We recently visited a sister, brother in law and family who live in Adelaide. This museum was the first stop on our five day tour of this beautiful city and surrounding area. We had seen this exhibit at The Tate in London but enjoyed the presentation more here in Adelaide. We chose to use head set commentary which was very good and the exhibit covered all of Turner's periods. I was impressed with the programs the museum was offering in relation to the exhibit which was open from 8'Feb to 19'May 2013. Not just member events but music, film, lunchtime talks, international lectures, evening performances, artist's demonstrations and classes exploring Turner's watercolor techniques and oil painting glazes, and teacher and student learning programs. Something for everyone. My sister told us similar programs accompany every special exhibit so when planning a visit to Adelaide, look on line and see what is on at The Art Gallery of South Australia. The permanent collection houses one of the largest collections of Australian art. Next door is the South Australian Museum with a full size whale skeleton in its front window. This museum might be a better choice when traveling with kids. This entire area is wonderful to explore on foot. Our relatives guided us around by car pointing out every major attraction such as Parliament House, the restored Old Parliament House, festival center, casino, shopping and much more. This museum has a lovely cafe where we enjoyed lunch out in the garden. We had a reservation which seemed to be a good idea. The museum is open 10 to 5 daily. Free admission except for special exhibits like Turner From the Tate. It was a delightful morning art tour, then lunch and time to explore other areas of Adelaide.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“SmART Gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Knowledgeable volunteer guides are available to make a visit educational and entertaining. Plenty of variety.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art Gallery of South Australia also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Art Gallery of South Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Gallery of South Australia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Art Gallery of South Australia to your Saves list