We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day out for all the family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adelaide Zoo

Adelaide Zoo
Frome Rd, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
61 8 8267 3255
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$135*
and up
Adelaide Super Saver: Adelaide City Sightseeing...
Ranked #17 of 76 Attractions in Adelaide
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1883, the second-oldest zoo in Australia features a magnificent landscape and more than 1,400 native and exotic animals.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful day out for all the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We took our toddler granddaughter to the Zoo and she had a wonderful day out, so many annimals and so well laid out & cared for. Recommend hiring a toddlers car!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    369
    124
    22
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Zoo Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Another really good experience with the grandchildren. They ran from exhibit to exhibit looking at all the animals. Certainly wore us all out but spent the entire day there so we got our value for money even though it was quite expensive for a day visit of four.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good selection of animals in a small area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a compact zoo with a great variety of animals to see. I enjoyed the different monkey species and big cats which can all be seen with short walking distances between. The pandas are a highlight but the flamingos, hippo and very active bilbies are great attractions too. Thoroughly recommend it, particularly with children. I was there when the panda exhibit opened and both pandas came out to wander around their exhibits, later in the day they were sitting in their glass enclosures. Don't know if this is a regular pattern!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wild Up-Close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This zoo is so much fun for adults as well as kids. I went there with my family and it was fairly cloudy, and I reckon it proved to be the perfect weather as all the animals came towards the fence, and all the trees swayed in harmony. From the very cutest of pandas to the bravest of lions, each and every animal was a joy to look at and admire nature. Good thing we took lunch and snack items with us as the never ending variety of animals took us a good four hours of this nature’s hidden experience!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A great place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Can be reached by bus. The zoo is well set and the Pandas are a draw card. Bring your own lunch as the food for sale is not good and very expensive.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adelaide Zoo also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Adelaide Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelaide Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.