We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adelaide Zoo

Adelaide Zoo
Frome Rd, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
61 8 8267 3255
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$136*
and up
Adelaide Super Saver: Adelaide City Sightseeing...
Ranked #17 of 76 Attractions in Adelaide
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1883, the second-oldest zoo in Australia features a magnificent landscape and more than 1,400 native and exotic animals.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

..in the zoo restaurant, had a tasty lunch at a table next to the giant tortoise enclosure. Have a couple of giant pandas, which is unusual, a lot of birds, the oldest flamingos in Australia and loads of other attractions. Not the largest zoo in the world, but I think that makes it very child friendly and there were a lot of families present over Easter when we were their.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    371
    124
    22
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nsw
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“poor hot pandas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

So I was rather excited to be in Adelaide for work and thought I'd like to see the Pandas. It was a rather hot day of about 32 degrees. So not too bad by Adelaide standards. It could have been over 40. I visited the zoo mid week and so it was not too busy. The Pandas are obviously the main attraction and I was not disappointed to see them. I was however disappointed to see them appearing to be struggling in the heat. They looked distressed with heavy laboured panting. I am not opposed to zoos and think they have a vital role to play in the conservation of animals however I was a little concerned with some of the enclosures. The big cats paced. The monkeys paced, especially the orangutangs. So overall I'm sure this zoo is up there with world standards but perhaps Pandas should not be in the heat of Adelaide.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pandas are the highlight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We loved stopping into the zoo on our way through Adelaide. It is a little older, but the staff are some of the friendliest I've encountered. Do your research if you can before you leave to find out what's on. The feeding time is brilliant, and we just loved seeing our first real pandas. Their enclosure is wonderful and they look happy. Would recommend to any one.

Thank you to all the staff at the Melbourne Zoo!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Shaded, Unique and real Panda's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My kids loved it. The farm yard was great and they got to touch the animals. Its a lovely green, shaded zoo and the only place in Aus to see living Panda's. Worth it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Make sure you see the Greater Flamingo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Adelaide zoo comes across as a much more old fashioned zoo compared to Taronga Zoo in Sydney but they do have a pair of pandas. The zoo is a pleasant place to wander. Feeding time for the lions was a treat and make sure you see the greater flamingo - can't believe how old he is!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adelaide Zoo also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Adelaide Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelaide Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.