We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera to your Saves list
Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   31-34 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“As Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Fine for one night. Certainty nothing flash but quiet, clean and comfortable.
Obviously just redecorated as there was a strong smell of paint.
$18 for parking was probably a bit steep although there was parking on the street

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    49
    47
    17
    11
See reviews for
17
43
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beaulieu, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

4th floor had been recently decorated, so recent we could smell the paint, but no smell inside the room itself. Large room at front with double and single bed tea and coffee making facilities. Bathroom with shower AND spa bath. My collegue in room at back had only a shower. Trams could be heard through closed patio door, but it was not intrusive.
Lacked eating place for evening meal, but cold or hot breakfast offered.
I will return as it is conveniently located and near enough to plenty of restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front if you want a bath, but one at the back if peace and quiet are important to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Will never stay here again. Stayed with a work colleague, two separate rooms on 1st floor, side by side. They absolutely stunk like mould or some foul cleaning chemicals. The smell did not go away. Staff not helpful - I am sure they no about this; did not deny the smell, but probably make up similar excuses and act like they don't know about the issues, every time someone complains about this.

There is a "smelly" history at this hotel. Carpets ragged and stained. On a side note, pointless, tiny atrium with no door access. Whoever designed this "hotel" I dare say, is no longer working as a draftsman or architect.

Avoid at all costs.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelaideRiviera2014, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

I was disappointed to hear of your experience at Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera. We acknowledge that some of our carpets are tired, and as such, all 84 rooms and all public areas will soon be re-carpeted. The re-carpeting coincidentally commences next week.

Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera is under new management, and we are working towards upgrading all of the hotels product and service offerings. All areas, including accommodation rooms, will also soon be freshly painted, as well as re-carpeted.

We remain unaware of the smell that you experienced during your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly and I can investigate this further.

Kind regards

Lee Burns
General Manager
Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera
gm@adelaideriviera.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Hill, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

So recently my partner and I stayed at the adelaide comfort in riviera on north terrace. I payed online using Agoda, I booked a deluxe room with the hotel it looked very nice and big in the picture so I booked and made an easy payment online. We arrived at the hotel it's a $100 bond held which is policy and they charge you $18 per day for car parking. Checking in was easy and we went up to our hotel room where I was disappointed of how small it was and didn't look very romantic and definitely did not match the pictures I looked at online.. The air cooler leaked all over the bed, it was so noisy through out the night we could hear every creak in the floor and every door opening and closing, was not very peaceful or relaxing. My partner and I work 5 days a week and was looking forward to a little sleep in but that was ruined by a leaf blower early hours of the morning at say 630am.. The breakfast was good though and the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed there for 8 nights. It is close to the tram that runs free through the city and then on to Glenelg - which is a must to go and see. There are bus stops very close too but we didn't need to use them. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to Rundle Mall but we just hopped on the tram and got off at the second to last stop on the way home. We did several bus tours and they collected us from the hotel. The rooms were average in décor (tired really) but were very clean and comfortable with great beds. The cleaners were friendly and did a great job.
The hotel offers continental breakfasts or cooked ones but definitely only get continental. The cooked ones took an age to come out. They need more staff in the restaurant as those who were there did their best.
They only had basic TV channels available - lots of national news, their sport and infomercials.
The Adelaide Info Office was just 5 minutes down the road and they organised everything for us.

Room Tip: Ask if the construction to the new hospital is still going on and if so ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed for three nights as a base from which to reconnect with friends on a visit to our previous home city. Easy for friends to find as it is situated across from the very distinctive new medical research facility and as it was towards the top, less busy end of North Terrace it was easily accessible when we were picked up and dropped off. While only a 15 minute walk to Rundle Mall, the hotel was within a hundred metres of two tram stops and a leisurely ride into the city centre and down to Glenelg.
Staff were welcoming and helpful on check in and checkout and willing to assist with any requests.
Room was all we needed with a very comfortable queen bed.
Basically all we needed at a great price.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor, across facing the Uni SA buildings to the south. With window closed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed one night here by myself on 26th February 2014, as I was picking my son up from the airport. It was quite nice, without being super wonderful. If you are just looking for a place to stay for 1 night, its perfect as it was quite affordable, and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. Was no traffic noise whatsover just door banging noise that started quite early in the morning. Parking seemed to be quite limited out in the street because of its location, so I ended up paying the $18 extra for a park. The car park is right behind the building itself with a boom gate with a scanner tag to get in. There is an automatic opening door to get back into the building from the car park, which was great. Kettle and tea coffee satchets in the room and a small fridge. Flat screen tv worked well. There is a en-suite bathroom and the shower was over a small bath which was very nice.if you are a bath person. I also liked the fluro light above the mirror so you could actually see properly to put make up on, instead of the downlights that seem to be everywhere. Shampoo, conditioner and shower gel in dispensers on the wall. Staff were friendly and check in and out was very quick. No free wi fi in my room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera

Address: 31-34 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera is perfectly positioned for your next business trip, short break or holiday in Adelaide. Our location in the vibrant West End quarter of Adelaide city gives you easy access to all of Adelaide's local attractions. Whether it's a short walk to Rundle mall a drive to the seaside at Glenelg or a day tour in the Barossa Valley, our friendly reception staff can provide detailed maps and advice to get you there. Our well-appointed accommodation facility consists of 84 recently refurbished rooms, offering exceptional value for money. Our conference and meeting rooms make the Riviera an ideal base for your next meeting, workshop or seminar. The team at Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Adelaide
Best Western Adelaide
Adelaide Best Western
Comfort Inn Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.