We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges South Park Adelaide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges South Park Adelaide to your Saves list
Rydges South Park Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Adelaide
Alice Springs, Australia
1 review
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights recently and was quite ok. Staff were friendly. As some other reviews have mentioned it is a bit tired but for a short stay at reasonable rates it served the purpose. Will stay again. I must admit the shared balconies I do not understand as it detracts From privacy but I was lucky to get a single balcony. Overall good for what you pay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, General Manager at Rydges South Park Adelaide, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for you review. It is pleasing to hear the service was friendly and your stay was good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    111
    115
    54
    53
See reviews for
41
139
34
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We spent two nights here last week in a superior park view room. Whilst the view over the park was lovely and we were on level five so were above the traffic, the bathroom sliding door was very hard to move, and the cold water tap on the basin really hard to turn off properly - and then to turn on! But the thing which grated most was that I chose the hotel because of the free parking and when my husband checked out he was charged for the parking. He did not realise the parking should have been included and so did not even think about querying it, and he did not mention it to me until we were part of the way back to Melbourne. Sure it was only $10 but it was the principal. When we were in the lifts I had noticed an undated letter framed on the lift wall saying that they had brought in $5 a day parking charge 'from that day' but I did not really take any notice of it because I assumed it would be for new bookings. My gripe is not with the charge itself but I feel that they should have begun to charge for bookings from the day they brought the charge in, not for bookings which were made under the understanding of free parking....

Room Tip: A room fronting the park is worth it! Beware that some of the balconies are shared so that your ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, General Manager at Rydges South Park Adelaide, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I do apologise for the misunderstanding with the carparking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel suited ours needs for one night near the city. Not a flash hotel and it has been around for a while. Partially refurbished with a nice bathroom but they left the very old air conditioners in. We ate out so cant comment on food but they did serve a reasonable coffee in the cafe in the morning. It was clean but average so nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, General Manager at Rydges South Park Adelaide, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. They do serve a great coffee in the Deck Cafe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

It was 40 degrees and the air conditioning would not work it was blowing black stuff out of its vents, we were left in this room for 40 minutes while they found us another one. When we moved into the new room we got as far as the door because of the noise being created by renovations in the rooms either side, the rooms are old the service is poor and I would not recommend this rydges hotel it is the worst one that we have stayed at, we left this hotel and found another one.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, General Manager at Rydges South Park Adelaide, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that was caused. We are currently under going bathroom renovations to our rooms and do the best to keep the disturbance to a minimum. Hours of work are between 10am-5pm Mon-Fri. There are no excuse for lack of service and I have addressed this with the Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Very average priced hotel with very average bedrooms. Car parking was included so that was a bonus. We had a family rooms with was small and the bathroom very tired. We arrived on a late flight and we were out early the next morning so the hotel served its purpose but I wouldn't recommend it for a long time stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, General Manager at Rydges South Park Adelaide, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are currently undergoing bathroom renovations in our rooms and hope to have an improved product in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paralowie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there last weekend for our wedding anniversary & had no problems whatsoever. Close to cheap but nice eating places (Friday dinner) & had Saturday dinner in restaurant on 6th floor. Great band (The Pulse) & excellent meal. Sunday morning went to breakfast & although late getting there, was able to eat comfortably without being rushed. They even checked that we had finished b4 cleaning up, even though it was over 1/2hr B4 they were due to close. Overall enjoyable stay

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, General Manager at Rydges South Park Adelaide, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for you review and congratulations on your wedding anniversary. I am pleased you enjoyed the food while staying with us. The Saturady night dinner dance is an iconic event in Adelaide and has been running for many years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Enjoyed my stay at the Rydges Southpark, great service at Reception and in the café. The room was superior with lovely views over the park and I loved the creative mini bar with chopsticks, chess & popcorn. It is a good 15 minute walk to the Tram stop and a good 25 minute walk to the CBD. Restaurants are a 15 minute walk.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the park give a nice view on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, General Manager at Rydges South Park Adelaide, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are the only hotel in Adelaide with these amazing views and it is great to hear you enjoyed them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges South Park Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Park Adelaide

Address: 1 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges South Park Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the parklands with views of the Adelaide Hills; near the beach & the wine growing regions of the Clare & Barossa Valleys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rydges South Park Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Park Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Rydges South Park Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Rydges South Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges South Park Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.