We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value comfortable room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges South Park Adelaide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges South Park Adelaide to your Saves list
Rydges South Park Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Adelaide
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good value comfortable room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Came to Adelaide to follow the tour down under , was looking for a good value room for the 3 of us. After joining the priority guest program (free) we ended up with a very reasonable rate for out 5 nights .
As our days were busy we just needed somewhere to lay our head at night for a comfortable night and the Rydges delivered on this.
It's a bit of a hike from the city centre and 2 decent blocks from the tram.
All in all it was a pleasant experience for our Adelaide holiday

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    112
    115
    54
    53
See reviews for
41
140
34
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our hotel room was clean and comfortable but very small and in need of updating. Despite booking a room for 3 people, the extra bedding was not ready when we arrived but was quickly sorted out. The room also had a 'smokey' smell, but again after a call to reception someone quickly appeared with some air freshner. This hotel is next to a busy road but despite this we managed to sleep quite soundly. We had a nice view overlooking the parkland which was lovely to wake up to. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

the premises especially the lifts are starting to show their age but despite this it is a comfortable room. It was reasonably priced but be aware there is limited parking available so whilst we were able to get a spot it meant we walked to a restaurant rather than drive in case there were no spots left on our return. This meant a walk up South Terrace which has some less than savoury areas especially around veale gardens at night. Suggest you use Gilbert St instead. Staff were attentive and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south are overlooking the parklands
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I arrived very early (about 7am) and was given access to my room immediately by the receptionist which was much appreciated following a 24 hour flight. Having stayed previously in two different Rydges I was unsure what to expect as one was very good and the other was possibly the worst place in which I stayed. This fell right on the middle.

The staff were excellent. Really helpful, cheery and the highlight of the trip.

The location is ok but not great. it is on the corner of south terrace so right at the edge of the CBD and possibly the most remote part of the CBD. However the CBD is only a ten minute walk so it is not a huge issue.

I am amazed that this star is a 4.5 star hotel. Facilities are not superb- there are two restaurants. One opens for breakfast and lunch (ground floor) and one for dinner (on the top floor). However on the Saturday night when i was there, a wedding reception was being held and the restaurant was not open for dinner. This was communicated by one sign at the reception that appeared that afternoon. I was surprised the ground floor restaurant was not opened. Similarly the decor of the hotel is VERY tired and rooms appear very basic, verging on no trills. While I was there, renovations were taking place. There was a note in the room to say that from 9-4 there may be some noise due to the construction. AS i had just arrived by plane, I thought I would sleep through it- not a chance. The vibrations and noise reverberated throughout the hotel. The hotel needs these reservations but would be better closing for a short period if this level of noise is to be sustained.

On the other hand, as i said, and I am unsure what it was about it, i did not hate the hotel and feel there is much potential once the refurb is finished

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny V, General Manager at Rydges South Park Adelaide, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
As a GM, it's always great to hear that the team were helpful, cheery and in your words, the highlight of your trip.
It also seems that our focus is headed in the right direction as we are currently looking at menus and opening hours for both of our restaurants, the furniture in our rooms and refurbishing our bathrooms. I apologise for the noise and as you mentioned we do try to manage the hours that these works are being done.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Adelaide in the near future so you can see for yourself the improvements we are constantly making.

Cheers
Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAMESTOWN SA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Ridges many times over the years and I would say that this is the best stay we have had
Check in excellent helpful and fast
Room clean and comfortable maybe hot water not real hot
Breakfast was great a big improvement
Staff were all great
We will keep coming back well done Rydges

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny V, General Manager at Rydges South Park Adelaide, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
It's always great to read that what we are trying so hard to achieve is actually flowing through to our guests. We have actually had so many positive guest comments lately complimenting us on our food, service and cleanliness of the hotel.
Our goal is to always exceed our guests expectations and it seems we are on the way.

Thanks
Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We booked a room and family joined us for Xmas day lunch in the restaurant, the staff were young but very friendly & efficent. We have stayed there plenty of times however I would not recommend the Xmas day lunch which is disappointing as we have dined in the restaurant many times with the food being surpurb, they had staggered bookings ours was for 1pm by 2.15 they were packing up, the seafood was lovely & cold and the only point worth a mention in the meal which overall was very average. The motel needs some TLC very tired but very clean with a great view and secure off street parking.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny V, General Manager at Rydges South Park Adelaide, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
It was great to read that you enjoyed the seafood and the team were friendly and efficient for Xmas lunch but I was a little disappointed to read some of your other comments.

We have taken onboard yours and other guests comments about the hotel requiring some TLC and we are currently refurbishing 30 bathrooms, replacing lights in coridoors and painting.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Rydges Adelaide so you can see for yourself the improvements we are continuously making.

Cheers
Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Recently stayed there for 3 nights as a result of Wotif Mystery Deal, Wasn't centralized in CBD but we had no trouble as had rental car. Staff very helpful. they had wedding reception the night we checked in, we were given an access to staff car park by wonderful reception lady, being the main car park completely full. Room was spacious with renovated bathroom and overlooking garden view. It could definitely have maintained better. 2 light globes were out, cracks in the furniture and fridge, cob webs in balcony but we didn't mind those tiny little things. Bar and pool is on 6th floor with good views.
The shared balcony is an issue if you want to spend a bit of time outside. They should think about some way to divide the space as I can see lot of people are commenting on it.
I would recommend if looking for a short stay !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny V, General Manager at Rydges South Park Adelaide, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I am always so happy to hear that the team are doing all they can to assist our guests such as the receptionist with your parking.

You'll be happy to hear that I personally have gone through every single room looking at the furniture and working on a plan to improve this moving forward, I have employed a person to check and clean all the balconies and ensure they are free of cobwebs etc, and have installed a divider on one of our balconies and the order has been placed to have the rest of them done.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Adelaide in the near future so you will see for yourself the improvements we are constantly making..

Cheers
Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges South Park Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Park Adelaide

Address: 1 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges South Park Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the parklands with views of the Adelaide Hills; near the beach & the wine growing regions of the Clare & Barossa Valleys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rydges South Park Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Park Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Rydges South Park Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Rydges South Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges South Park Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.