We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, but don't eat here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rockford Adelaide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rockford Adelaide to your Saves list
Rockford Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   164 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Collaroy Plateau Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely, but don't eat here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel, before and after our Murray Princess cruise.
We arrived lateish on the first night, and decided to eat at the restaurant in the Hotel. The food was lovely, but outrageously expensive. Breakfast the next morning, stunned us. Continental Breakfast was about $21.00 and the full breakfast was even more. Way too much for toast and coffee. Both rooms we had were lovely, however oddly enough there was not a view out of the window, they looked out onto a solid wall, although we couldn't find any way to access the couryard looking area.
Lateish in the evening, I was tempted to go out in search of a coffee, however a quick glimpse of the street from the foyer, was enough to convince me to stay in and not wander around the street alone.

Room Tip: In the sleazier part of town
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    280
    117
    46
    20
See reviews for
71
234
90
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The hotel was quite nice - upgraded to a larger room that was very spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. A little bit of a bland conference feel to the hotel... But still, despite that sort of feeling it was a nice hotel. The mini bar was a glass one that glowed blue though, which although I didn't mind - it was rather odd.

I had booked the hotel not knowing much about Adelaide so wasn't a fan of the location on Hindley St, which was a bit of a shame. Had asked staff for directions to a bottle shop, which they gave me... to one closed on Sundays. But ah well.

Check-in and out was smooth and the staff were all lovely. Ordered in both nights I stayed and the service was quick and food was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights at this establishment, was a bit dubious at first given its position on Hindley st but was very pleasantly surprised, reception staff where helpful , courteous and polite, Room was spacious ,clean and the bed was superb. Our room was facing Hindley yet we got no traffic noise. Easy walking distance to everything or at least a short taxi ride to Gouger St (10 bucks) close to Airport and Train Station. We really enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Had to spend 5 nights in Adelaide for a conference. Chose this hotel as it had the largest hotel room for my wife and I. Its been done up, but lacks a clock radio. Its a sterile hotel, with narrow hallways. It does have a laundry facility onsite, which is a bonus. Staff were very good, night staff Vinnay on reception (I think) was very friendly. Its close to the bars and shops but in a downtown location, near the Uni. We never felt unsafe and walked around freely during the week, weekends may be different. As a platinum member had a free drink at the bar but no free bottled water in the room.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Suite - can recommend the space and cooking facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I stayed at the Rockford hotel on a Wednesday night, and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The check in was easy, and the staff were lovely.
The room was spacious and very clean, with a large television, and two double beds, which was perfect for what we needed. The room also came with free wireless internet for as many devices as I had, however, it ended up being quite difficult to use as every time I switched apps on my iPhone, or locked the screen, I had to login again which after doing it so often, wasted a lot of time.
I drove to Adelaide, and I had assumed that we would be offered free parking within the building. However upon arrival we were informed that the parking cost $18 pet night and was subject to availability. Luckily we got the last space, which meant that I did not have to park across the road in a standard parking complex.
We decided to walk to rundle mall, which is only a short walking distance away, and we're rather shocked by the number of adult facilities in the area, including adult cinemas, bookstores and strip clubs, which did not bother me too much, but would be inappropriate for a young family to walk past. If those facilities were not their, it would be the perfect location.
Overall we greatly enjoyed our stay and would be more than happy to return.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is a good hotel which I stayed two nights for work.
It's close to city centre without being right in the middle. It's located on western end (University end) of Hindley St.
For families this hotel is maybe a little close to the seedier section of Hindley St but for everyone else it is closer to airport and the railway station & bus stop are only a few blocks away.
Really liked the modern spacious room and the iPad that you can use for free was a real nice touch.
Good restaurant and good range for breakfast but too expensive at over $20 for a continental.
Nice & simple bar & lounge.
Small car park under the building.
Hotel is part of the Accor companies.
Overall for business a great hotel. For personal really good as well unless you have a young family then I would suggest to stay elsewhere given the seedy nightlife a block away.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rockford Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockford Adelaide

Address: 164 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockford Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique style hotel in Adelaide is a non smoking 4 1/2 star accommodation that provides the highest level of guest comfort and quality with spacious, modern contemporary style rooms. Guest rooms consist of Standard Queen rooms, Superior King rooms, Deluxe King rooms, Superior King suites with spa baths, plus Deluxe King suites with kitchenettes. Hotel facilities include state of the art conference and function services, an exquisite restaurant, relaxing lounge bar and health facilities including the roof top heated pool that captures panoramic views of the cityscape.Spice Market restaurant and lounge bar located on the ground floor offers an extensive a la carte dinner menu infused with stunning spices. A tapestry of taste complimented by the finest selection of wines sourced locally. Relax by the eco-friendly fire place during winter with quality food, great wines and vibrant cityscape views.Located in the vibrant Art's precinct of the city's bustling West End, the Rockford Adelaide is centrally located to all of Adelaide's major attractions including the Convention Centre, Casino, shopping mall, museums and galleries, Adelaide Oval and education establishments. Rockford Adelaide is conveniently situated only 5km from the Adelaide Airport and 1.5Km from the interstate train terminal and is in close proximity to local golf courses, parks and public transport services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Rockford Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Rockford Hotel Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockford Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.