We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Vegetarian Selection, Good Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Ass Licensed Curry and Noodle Cafe

The Red Ass Licensed Curry and Noodle Cafe
2/120 Semaphore Rd, Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #738 of 1,382 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
adelaide
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Vegetarian Selection, Good Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I had long looked forward to going to this restaurant and I was pleasantly surprised when I did. It has a good selection for vegetarians from a wide South Eat Asian range, and I had trouble choosing, which sadly isn't always the case in places like this. Two of us had for entree the cold roll, which is one big cold roll, with grated carrot, rice noodles and possibly something else but it is rather drowned in soy sauce, and I would have preferred a separate dipping sauce for that- the other person with us had the chicken spring rolls and the chicken Tom Kar soup and liked them a lot. For main I had a very good Thai Green Curry, rich and hot and creamy with the right blend of finely sliced zucchini, bits of broccoli and red chilies; the other dishes ordered were a Thai chicken one and a Beef Madras, both voted excellent. We brought our own Rose and went home for dessert but I would like to return and check out more of their offerings. SErvice is fast and efficient and it's a really good place overall.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Laksa - close your eyes and you are in Singapore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I spoke with the owner and asked how come the Laksa was so good. She told me that it's the same recipe she used when in Singapore and it honestly tastes amazing! The starters were so so but the laksa as a main is the way to go - superb!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Average food and a ripoff proprietor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I went here with a visiting friend. We ordered a couple of takeaway dishes from the proprietor. He was very friendly, chatting to us about his time spent in the town my friend was from. We were chatting all the while as the proprietor rang up the bill. My friend shouted the meal and we took the takeaway menu with us. Afterwards glancing over the menu I realised we had been ripped off. He had charged us more than $10 each for two small bottles of Mountain Fresh juice that we got with our order. I didn't say anything to my friend because I didn't want to cast a pall over an otherwise great weekend, and the food wasn't good enough for me to think it was worth raising the issue with the proprietor later, because I don't intend to go back. The only reason to go here would be if you don't think it's possible for anyone to stuff up pad thai - come and find out. The "fresh fish of the day" curry was also rather questionable. A disappointing and bland experience when I was trying to show off the great lifestyle and food that is usually the standard in Adelaide.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The staff are fantastic, the food is beautiful and the atmosphere is great. I love the green thai chicken curry, but there is plenty to choose from here, no matter if you like a mild curry or a really hot one. A lovely night out eating! Check it out when you are next in the area.
http://www.redasscurry.com/

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Ass Licensed Curry and Noodle Cafe also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Red Ass Licensed Curry and Noodle Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Ass Licensed Curry and Noodle Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.