We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of First Restaurant at Hotel Richmond

First Restaurant at Hotel Richmond
128 Rundle Mall, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
+61 8 8215 4421
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #613 of 1,390 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was staying at the Hotel Richmond and decided to order the seafood paella via room service. The staff were lovely but unfortunately the food was disappointing. There were four large mussels in the dish which looked lovely, however I then discovered one wasn't open (never eat the unopened ones!), one had the tiniest morself of mussel in it and the final two had nothing inside! Thankfully there were a few decent sized prawns and some calamari in there. Overall quite disappointing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I discovered this hotel from the conseierge at the Crowne Plaza. I needed a TAB. The hotel offers a variety of services which were all pretty good.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“It should be called "Last Restaurant"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I have not had the misfortune of being subjected to such appalling service anywhere else in the world. The staff were either inept or sullen and rude. Talk about ruining a Christmas lunch. My advice - do not go!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Dreadful service and mediocre food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I joined a group of work colleagues for an end of year lunch at First. We have been going to this restaurant twice a year for a few years because it is close to our office and tends to be quiet and reasonably comfortable for conversation. We have never been satisfied with the service, but have found the food quite acceptable. Our last visit revealed First to have slipped into the realm of the totally unacceptable and we will never go there again. The service was impossible. We ordered our meals at the bar. The food arrived anywhere from 10 minutes after ordering to an hour afterwards (after repeated requests). Some of us had well and truly finished while others were staring at empty spaces. The waiting staff had disappeared and only made very sporadic entries into the restaurant. Most of the food was alright, but one of us ordered salt and pepper squid and found some dodgy looking, tough octopus legs at the bottom of the bowl. The party at the next table to ours found plastic in their food and also complained bitterly about the poor service. Overall, this restaurant is of such poor quality that it simply deserves to fail.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Restaurant at Hotel Richmond also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to First Restaurant at Hotel Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Restaurant at Hotel Richmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.