We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Leaf

Banana Leaf
42 Currie Street, Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #287 of 1,390 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

You can't complain about getting change from $100 for an excellent Indian meal for four, including a bottle of wine.
Food probably wouldn't win any Michelin stars, though the presentation and taste of the masala dosa and the Mysore masala dosa won points with our group. Plenty of variety in dishes we had three vegetarians and all had plenty to pick from.
Service was a friendly if a little slow. There was a naive charm - with no attempt to up-sell the standard condiments like raita etc and a hesitancy over opening/pouring the wine. We even had to ask for rice. But it was all very easy going ... in fact it was all good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Australia
1 review
“Indian Banana Leaf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Walk into a subdued light and find tables carefully set and immaculately clean. Background music and multi-coloured art on the walls help create the Indian ambiance in busy Adelaide. A bar on the left offers a range of alcohol and there are also soft drinks available. A bottle of filtered water is a standard offering. In my first visit I simply ordered my 'addiction' - mango lassi, initially discovered on my first trip to India. And it totally satisfied my craving. On my second I enjoyed the $10 lunch special, papadum, rice and two vegetarian toppings, or dippings, with mild curry. The gentle service of the waitresses and their easy response to my questions about their origins made the visit even more memorable. Namaste.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely food, reasonable prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We passed this at lunch, saw people inside so went back at 7pm for tea. We were the only 2 in there unfortunately, however we enjoyed some yummy food. Delicious paneer paratha, lamb biryani and chicken madrass. Reasonable prices indeed. The beer was cloudy and 2 months out of date though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I had a very nice meal tonight at the Banana leaf with Son, daughter and baby grandson.We enjoyed the South Indian cuisine. Curries not too hot and little side dishes. The waitress was very efficient and helpful. All in all it was a positive experience.. and with a baby we were glad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very tasty food, not to pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Visited here during the lunch time specials, the food was delicious, plenty of flavor and the staff reasonably friendly. Will be visiting again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Leaf also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Banana Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.