We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb place for Tapas !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panacea

Panacea
72- 74 Halifax Street | Adelaide, Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
8232 3523
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 1,382 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“Superb place for Tapas !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We recently enjoyed an evening meal at this inner city restaurant.The place has a very casual vibe about it ! The back area has a tree in the middle which gave it good feel.
Great place to go and just sit,enjoy a glass of wine, chat with fiends and keep ordering the large array of tapas dishes.
We started with 3 Tapas ,White Bait fritters,Garfish fillets rolled with Jamon and Chirizo.
The perfect start !!
We followed up with Duck confit which was perfectly cooked with a carrot panna cotta and parsnip chips.Again we were not disappointed.
We opted for a cheese plate at the end which was generous ...something some restaurants are not noted for.
Overall a good choice.
We noted some complaints from previous reviews on service but this certainly not the case.
We were well served all night by a friendly waiter who had only been working for one week.
Worth the visit !!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    27
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Dined here recently with another 3 couples and had a great experience. The food was terrific as was the service. We had a sumptuous feast on tasting platters, goat, fresh tommy ruffs, duck and lamb. No one complained about anything! Only good comments on teh quality and tastiness of the food. Great service from very attentive staff who knew just the right moment to attend to our needs. Well done indeed!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Cheaper than before but also cheerier”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Had been here prior to latest owners. It was pricey but with amazing food.present owners have appealed to the more mid priced crowd with deals such as half price pizza and margaritas.great place for a quick bite after work and nice to sit outside.competant pizzas with being wild-good value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Serving the luxury market with a difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

As local foodie we often walk pass this boutique restaurant often and usually wave to the owner – ANDY
Finally we decided stop there and try the food & service. We are so sorry we did not sooner as everything we had provided was sensational
The service was perfect and no effort was spared to ensure we were provided assistance with the menu and suggested specials
Despite a busy night we were provided timely serves without any real waiting time – Just enjoyed the ambience and excellent wine
Despite the waiter being her first night she was friendly and helpful
Great night and will be back for more!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I had come here before and loved it, but came again recently and was disappointed.
Maybe it was because it was a busy Saturday night, but I found the service a little lacking and the food wasn't fantastic.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panacea also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Panacea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panacea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.