We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andre's Cucina and Polenta Bar

Andre's Cucina and Polenta Bar
94 Frome Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
8224 0004
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 1,382 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We dined at Andre's whilst on holiday in Adelaide . Like most reviewers we went for the $55 Banquet style option and all the courses we had were fantastic , i couldn't find fault with any of the food. The restaurant is lovely inside and the atmosphere was good too though it can get a bit noisy . The Service was also pretty good . My only issue with the evening was that we had a 6.30pm booking . At 7.50 after we'd had our entrees / main courses we asked for a break before we had Dessert / Coffee and maybe an after dinner drink . We were told that this would be difficult because there was another booking for table at 8.15pm . To their credit after we complained the Waiter did jiggle bookings around so they could accommodate our request and we could stay at our table till we had finished in our own time. We were not told about this beforehand but it did explain why we seemed to be being rushed a little and why new courses were being brought out the second we put our knives and forks down from the previous course. This is a top quality restaurant and allowing 1hr 45m to enjoy such a meal is not really sufficient .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    60
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have eaten here a number of times and never fail to be impressed with the quality of the food. It is a different slant on most Italian restaurants in Australia with a greater emphasis on shared dishes, and always a couple of different polenta dishes on the menu. We normally go for the $55 a head "Let us feed you" option , and we have never come away hungry, despite having four teenagers. The menu changes subtly every time, the quality of their produce is terrific, especially the steak. The decor is nothing to write home about, but the atmosphere always seems to hum. The waiting staff have been around for a while and are improving all the time. There are usually a couple of small glitches with service, but nothing that has worried us unduly. The wine list is short but always interesting. All in all, a really good place to eat. Would be 4.5 stars if allowed, 5 stars for the food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Never fails to impress!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Been here several times and the food is always amazing! The quality is great and defiantely worth the money and the quantity - well you need to choose the appropiate number of dishes for your appetite. We always come away very well satisfied! Service is friendly and attentive without being pushy. Save room for dessert because it is fantastic! During our last visit we each chose a different dessert and they were all great! My only complaint/advice is to get a table inside. Last visit we sat outside under umbrellas which failed to completely cover the table resulting in getting wet when it rained - staff did not attend to this problem but luckily we had finished our meal. Additionally smokers would sit at the end table and due to the wind direction we were constantly smelling cigarette smoke. Consequently we did not tip. Don't go unless you can get an inside table otherwise it could make a wonderful meal very sour!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

$55 banquet is value for money, lots of food. Floor staffs are awesome. I have eaten there for few times and the chefs still able to surprise me with this banquet. Love their food esp. beef fillet. Remember to save some room for chocolate banana doughnut at the end. Please keep up and definitely will go again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“No value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

5 of us went, there was 3 Europeans who eat a lot to start with and then 2 big guys and at 55 per head not enough food at all we all went home hungry especially the boys and $10 for a water.... Please!!!! The food was fantastic not bad comments... Quality excellent fail badly in quantity and service was not great waited 40 minute before a waiter came to us and waiting another 40 for the bill at the end after requested it wouldn't got back

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andre's Cucina and Polenta Bar also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Andre's Cucina and Polenta Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andre's Cucina and Polenta Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.