We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thanh Thanh

Thanh Thanh
12 Field St, Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #422 of 1,497 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

There's nothing like stumbling on a restaurant, trying it, and then finding that it's actually rather good! As it's located on a side street off Adelaide's popular Gouger Street, Thanh Thanh is easily missed. I only found it because of where I once parked my car!

I've now been to eat there a second time. Great food and really well priced. (Extra points for having bottles of sauces and bowls of chilli on each table!)

If you're around Gouger Street and looking for a decent, quick and cheap Vietnamese meal, try Thanh Thanh!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    16
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“authentic pho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Having tasted Vietnamese pho (soup) in its country of origin, we'd been looking for some Vietnamese tucker in Adelaide for a long time to assuage our hankerings for the authentic! With Thanh Thanh now in central Adelaide and close to the market, we have discovered a menu with a wide range of different soups and other treats that help ameloriate our cravings- and we are now regular customers. Tasty, fresh, not too salty, a great range of smoothies and drinks and all well-priced, all of our family use this restaurant now as a means of catching up with friends and enjoying good food for a good price. While the restaurant's interior has no attraction, the food and friendly service make up for it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“What a find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Great fresh food of generous proportions that don't break the bank. Ordinary surrounds but lovely staff. Will be back for more. Make your own Rice paper rolls enough for 2 easily.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese Food - Fun Location and Bright Interior”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Thanh Thanh is tucked away down a slightly dodgy looking side street. The first time I went here with a colleague I was a little dubious to say the least but that soon changed. The restaurant is painted in a combination of bright orange and green. While its not a professional job it adds some colour to what could be a dreary building.

The food here is just delicious! Its cheap as well. I have been several times and will usually get the Pho with the raw beef and/or the roll your own beef cold rolls. Friends have purchased a variety of noodle dishes and all have been tasty.

They also have an extensive range of smoothies and drinks including avocado and jackfruit smoothies.

Service is quick and even when we turned up at 9:45 on a Tuesday night they were happy to seat us.

I would reccomend Thanh Thanh and after writing this review will probably go there for lunch tomorrow for some Pho!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous pho!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Cheap and cheerful! Great soups and noodles.
Service was pretty fast and friendly too. This will be a regular after the markets on a Saturday for the pho alone.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thanh Thanh also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Thanh Thanh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thanh Thanh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.