We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Addis Ababa Cafe

Addis Ababa Cafe
Shop 4 /462A Port Road | West Hindmarsh, Adelaide, South Australia 5007, Australia
+61 8 8241 5185
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 1,379 Restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: African, Vegetarian, Vegan, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Addis Ababa Cafe serves quality traditional Ethiopian food and offers great service with a unique, cultural dining experience. We would love to share our culture with you so please join us for dinner soon!
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Unique and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We love this restaurant and try to dine here whenever we are in Adelaide. It offers a great variety of flavoursome, traditional Ethiopian dishes without pretension. Choose from meat, vegetarian and vegan options. The restaurant is clean and simply decorated. There is a hand basin in the corner of the restaurant for washing hands before eating. Prices are very affordable (we usually share a mixed platter $20 and bring our own wine with corkage $5, which makes for a very tasty and inexpensive dining experience). As there is no cutlery, it may not be for everyone, so traditionalist, please be warned. Adelaide is very lucky to have a great variety of cultures offering so much diversity, and we feel that Addis Ababa is no exception.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good fun food flavour to boot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

A novel way to eat with flavour packed dishes great for conversation and the coffee is a must
A little hidden gem most unexpected delight

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unusual food for a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I went on a Thursday evening, was empty at around 6pm.
It is a small restaurant, the staff was friendly, prices are very convenient and food is pretty original. I would say it is not my favourite but it was a nice try.
They use a lot of species and due to we had to use our hands (no cutlery) my fingers get smelly for around 2 other days.
Give it a go, the restaurant is pretty informal, nothing fancy but for the price you cant ask for more.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food unlike anything else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Fantastic food that tastes unlike anything else I have tried. I loved everything we tried such as the raw beef mince dish and the red lentil dish. Such great value for money also. I would recommend this place to everyone!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A novelty but not for me!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

It wasn't for me but worth trying if you like experiencing different cuisines. I was disappointed as we visited on a Saturday night and it did not feel like a treat.
The food is served on injera, something similar to a pancake (but not in taste) to pick up the food. The foods are similar to pastes all with different and some strong flavours. The injera leaves you feeling bloated. After a bit to try, I was ready to eat elsewhere as it was more of a novelty. Bring your own drinks but corkage charges $2 for beer and $5 for wine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addis Ababa Cafe also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Addis Ababa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Addis Ababa Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.